Currently

A lot of my blog posts lately have been centered around my training, which is a huge part of my life, but there are other things going on in my life as well. I love Erin’s “Currently” posts that Abby and Kristin have jumped on board with, so I decided to step away from the training posts for a minute and catch you up on the rest of my life with my rendition of “Currently.”

Finding:

Balance…trying to balance a 40 hour work week with ~20 hours of training and still find time for friends, house chores, dog snuggles and the little things in life is a challenge, but it is all worth it!! I’ve noticed that I am so much more efficient and productive during these busy weeks. I also eat healthier and sleep better. During recovery weeks, I tend to skip more workouts; the pressure isn’t high enough during recovery weeks, so I am not as efficient and productive elsewhere in my life.

Catching Up:

With my Sole Sister…we do work together and see each other everyday, but we haven’t had a workout together in a LONG time and we haven’t had a conversation that wasn’t work related in even longer. I miss her and am in need of some #solesistalove and #solesistasweat REALLY soon!!

IMG_3960

Loving:

Warmer weather, fresh air and sunshine…I am definitely loving outdoor workouts and am getting excited to do some landscaping in the backyard. With 20+ hours of training in each of the next couple of weeks, I’m hoping for less rain and more sun to get out and soak up even more vitamin D!!

IMG_2988

Counting Down:

The days to the end of the school year…only 9 more days with students. I don’t think there is anything more to say. #bringonsummervaca 🙂

IMG_3017

Looking forward to:

The start of our triathlon season is less than 4 weeks away…Legend 100 will be the first triathlon of the 2015 season and I. Can’t. Wait!! I’m definitely ready to play 🙂

Excited to:

Meet my new niece…I was blessed to have niece #5 born on April 23. That makes 3 nieces in Walnut Creek, CA and the twins are in Okoboji, IA. I definitely don’t get to see them often enough!! My sister and I have worked out some dates that will work for my trip out west…now I just have to find a cheap flight 🙂

IMG_2979

Reading:

On Top of Your Game: Mental Skills to Maximize Your Athletic Performance by Carrie Cheadle…I just can’t get enough on mental training! LOVE IT! This book will help you learn how to:

  • Remain positive under pressure
  • Be mentally tough in the face of any challenges
  • Achieve more consistent results
  • Feel calm, confident, and ready to compete
  • Rekindle the excitement and love for your sport

IMG_3187

What is currently happening in your life?

8 thoughts on “Currently

  1. It is fun to hear about the different things going on in your life, other than training. Congrats on becoming an aunt again…being an aunt is the best!!!

    I agree…the warmer weather is definitely a treat! I need to do a bit in my yard as well…not too much because I won’t maintain it well, but a few plantings to freshen up the front yard.

    When do you find the time to read???

    1. Thanks Lee!! I read every night before bed and try to find 5-10 minutes everyday while at school just to take my mind someplace outside of the classroom for a bit 😉

  2. Almost done of work for the summer-how exciting! It’s awesome that you are going to get the summer to focus on racing and fitness with some fun travel mixed in. Enjoy every second 🙂

  3. Great post!!! Loved reading On Top Of The Game!! Such a great mental boost!!
    So fun that you have 5 nieces!!! Super cute picture of them too!
    Currently I am having a hard time getting out of bed in the morning!! ;(

Leave a Reply

