10 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

It is more like 9.5 weeks away, but theΒ last 1.5 weeks have been extremely busy!! I typically try to post on Mondays for the previous week, but due to my busy schedule lately this blog post got delayed a bit.

What was it that kept me so busy? LOTS of training and my last full week of school this year…yes, I am done with students and only have one more day of professional development (i.e. meetings) until my summer break officially starts πŸ™‚

Swim: 3100 yards

My 3100 yard swim went really well…I felt good and strong πŸ™‚ This week I only missed a 4700 yard swim. It was scheduled for Sunday. By the time Sunday rolled around, I. Was. Tired. Exhausted.Β I felt that if I went to swim, it would be just to complete it. There wouldn’t be any quality with it…I wasn’t even sure my legs would be able to kick and keep me afloat.

Bike: 212 miles

I made HUGE strides this week with my cycling. I had some rides that were short and high intensity…

The dogs wanted to be outside coaching us through our 2x(1-2-3-2-1 ladder) on Monday afternoon

The dogs wanted to be outside coaching us through our 2x(1-2-3-2-1 ladder) on Monday afternoon

and some longer endurance rides…one of these was our century ride on Saturday. Hello, PR…can you say #bikelove?!?!?!?!?!?!

We hit 100 mile in 5:43:00 for an average speed of 17.5 mph. This was almost a 45 minute PR for 100 miles :)

We hit 100 mile in 5:43:00 for an average speed of 17.5 mph. This was almost a 45 minute PR for 100 miles πŸ™‚

Basil wanted to coach me through my 3 hour endurance ride on Sunday...thanks to the rainy weather, it was done in our living room while watching NCIS season 11

Basil wanted to coach me through my 3 hour endurance ride on Sunday…thanks to the rainy weather, it was done in our living room while watching NCIS season 11

Almost every ride this week had a short brick run after it, but I like to keep these numbers separate to get a more accurate representationΒ of my cycling mileage and running mileage.

Run: 31.1 miles

Tuesday morning’s hill repeats were a challenge, but not as challenging as our weekend LONG run…hello humidity and summer weather in Iowa. I looked like I had been swimming instead of running by the time I was done…it is amazing the temperature swings we encountered this week while training!!

Mother Nature decided to remind us that it wasn't summer yet...Brr!!

Mother Nature decided to remind us that it wasn’t summer yet…Brr!!

I was so full of sweat, that I could have wrung my clothes out...GROSS!!

I was so full of sweat after our long run, that I could have wrung my clothes out…GROSS!!

30 minute brick run after the century ride...I felt GREAT!!

30 minute brick run after the century ride…I felt GREAT!!

Strength Training: 2 hours & 5 minutes

Weekly Totals: 245 miles in 22 hours & 21 minutes

Thanks to Coeur Sports for #stylishspeed and #noangrykitty…even for 100+ miles in the saddle!! Thanks to Osmo Nutrition,Β BarnanaΒ and Pure Clean Powder for making training nutrition and recovery easyΒ during all of these hours of exercise!! Thanks to Sound Probiotics for keeping me healthy…even while training hard and working with 8th graders on a daily basis!!

Weekly Highlights:

  1. Completing my school year (with the exception of these meetings I need to attend tomorrow)…Β IMG_3225
  2. Definitely our century ride PR…I was SUPER stoked to see the improvements I’ve made on the bike this year!! I think the shorter, high intensity rides done twice a week on the trainer really help with that πŸ™‚
  3. I FINALLY received my Undress that I purchased through Kickstarter back in November πŸ™‚ I can now change in public without having to expose myself. There will be a full blog post on The Undress soon!!IMG_3156
  4. Happy to be tapering for the Legend 100 Triathlon…only 10 days away…eek!! This will be a good test for IMBoulder to see where I’m at πŸ™‚

How was your week? What were the highlights of your week? What are you looking forward to?

28 thoughts on “10 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Holy cow, girl, that’s a TON of miles! Great job, but extra special on that century ride!! That ROCKS!!!! I saw the undress thing before and certainly looks tempting!! Our schools start later here so my kids haven’t even tested yet – I’m guessing the teachers here are jealous! Enjoy your last day!!!! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kelli! It was a great week…except for the lack of swimming. I really like The Undress!! It is a great gig for not changing in public πŸ˜‰ I’m SO glad to have the end of this school year so close!! I definitely don’t envy those still in school πŸ˜‰

  2. Amy says:

    Your first race is coming up fast-good luck! I’m so envious of your century ride-a 45min PR is HUGE! All this hard work is paying off πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome job!!! Those short/high intensity rides totally show on those long rides! Very exciting!! I am glad that your first 100 went well!! Sounds like training is going to start heating up now that you are done with school!! Very exciting!!
    My training has been good!! I am looking forward to our OWS race on Sunday. It is one of my favorite swims all year! Also looking forward to a big weekend of training before starting to taper for Victoria! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Leslie! It is crazy to think that we really only have 1 more build before the taper for the big one. We are getting ready to go do our first OWS this afternoon…I haven’t been in open water since IMWI…I hope I remember how it feels to be in a sausage casing and don’t panic πŸ˜‰ Have a great OWS race Sunday!! I can’t believe Victoria is so close!!

  4. Beth says:

    Yay summer break! So exciting that Boulder is coming up so quickly =)

    Have you gotten all of your accommodations figured out in Boulder?

  5. Those are some crazy solid training miles and hours! DANG Girl!! There is no telling what’s in the pipeline with your training now that school is out!

    This has been a fairly quiet week training wise for me. I have Raleigh 70.3 on Sunday and I am excited!

    • Thanks Lee!! It was a great week!!
      Yay for race week!! I’m excited to hear your thoughts on this race. I’ve had my eyes on it for a few years now.

  6. Awesome mileage, Kecia. And that’s seriously an incredible bike PR! I bet you’re excited to test your fitness at the Legend 100 triathlon!
    I spent nine days in the mountains, so my highlight was definitely a peaceful trail run!

    • Thanks Abby! I am definitely excited about testing my fitness for the Legend 100 πŸ™‚ I love peaceful trails! You are so lucky to have had the opportunity to enjoy them!!

Leave a Reply

