6 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

Last week was the start of our last build for Ironman Boulder…it seems like just yesterday that we signed up for IMBoulder and now we are only 6 weeks away from race day. Crazy how time flies by!!

Swim: 7371 yards (some of this was done in the 50 meter pool)

After getting through the warm-up on Tuesday’s swim (600 yards into the 2400 yard swim), I felt my swim cap sliding off the top of my head, so I did what I always do…tug on the edges of the swim cap to readjust it. That is when the front of it tore. I had choices: a) get out of the pool and quit swimming, b) put a new swim cap on and keep swimming, c) make adjustments to the torn swim cap and keep swimming. If this happened on race day while swimming, what would I do? This was the perfect opportunity to see how long I could keep swimming with a torn swim cap, so I chose option c. Thankfully the adjustments I made to my torn swim cap held up and I was able to complete the remainder of my swim without further problems. #justkeepswimming

IMG_3448

Bike: 81.46 miles

Thursday’s bike intervals were KILLER! The previous time I did this one hour trainer workout (3xLadder), was March 23. This Thursday, I went 1.4 miles farther (in a 1 hour time period) than I did on March 23 and my normalized power was almost 10 watts higher. I also showed an increase in power with every working set on Thursday. In March, the 3rd working set (of 4 sets) showed I dropped my power and typically the last interval of each set was a drop in power as well. I am very happy with my performance on Thursday and I don’t think I could have pushed harder if I had tried. I was completely cooked by the end of this workout!! #hardworkpaysoff

IMG_3478

Run: 22.08 miles

Tuesday morning we had hill repeats on the calendar. We were scheduled to run 6 hill repeats on the hill that we normally run on. After finishing the 6 hill repeats, we were still feeling good, so we decided to run 2 additional hill repeats while #rememberingTRJ

IMG_3443

Brick: (I break the distances out into bike mileage and run mileage)

I was hoping that the best brick workout this week would have been on Saturday. It was planned that we would swim for 1 hour, transition to the bike for 6 hours and then run for 1 hour. We got our swim in before Mother Nature decided to change our plans. We had options, but we decided to #beflexible and recover just a bit more.

IMG_3506

So…the best brick workout was on Sunday. We had 1 hour of speed work on the bike and then quickly transitioned to a 90 minute run. I was so happy that I finally got to run with my sole sister again!! #solesistasweat

IMG_3518

Strength Training: 1 hour & 45 minutes

I taught TRX twice this week! Monday I was asked to substitute for the noon class. I really pushed this group of women and I was sore until Thursday morning…hello, DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness)…I haven’t felt you in a while 🙂

Weekly Totals: 13 hours & 40 minutes 

Disappointment, yet progress:

I am sad that we missed 7 hours of #bricklove on Saturday, but VERY happy that I am learning to #beflexible in my training. I am VERY type A…typically I would have forced this workout to happen, even if it meant getting on the trainer for 6 hours. I am happy to say that I am making progress and becoming more balanced in life and training is a huge part of my life.

Weekly Highlight:

I received an Osmo Nutrtion delivery on Thursday. Restocking the sports nutrition in the pantry makes my heart happy.

How was your week? Did you have any challenges that you had to overcome this week?

16 thoughts on “6 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. WOW! Only six more weeks! That is crazy! I can totally relate to your comment about being “Type A” and trying to be more flexible with your training and the balance with life. Good for you and for recognizing your progress with this!

    I guess the “challenges” last week were weather related. We have been having extremely hot temperatures 98-100 since the beginning of last week and there is no break in sight. I passed on my typical Tuesday evening outdoor group ride, because I was just so hot and got on the trainer. Well, temperatures are still forecasted to be around the upper 90s to 100 this week, so I am planning to just bite the bullet and ride Tuesday. It is looking to be a HOT summer!!!

    • Thanks Lee!! Sometimes being type A is a good thing, but other times it can be a burden.
      You are in a hot spell and we keep getting rain. The temps are starting to climb here also. I hope Mother Nature gets these hot temps out of her system before IMBoulder 😉 Stay hydrated and cool!!

  2. I decided to change my bike on Saturday from 64 to 32 (it was a group ride for the Blueberry Festival). Thank goodness as it was scorching and the ride started late, so after my hard 34-35 miles and then 2 mile run, I was just depleted. I don’t know what’s going on with the weather here, but it’s in the upper 90’s every day and that’s not normal!!! Just have to adjust paces and expectations, that’s for sure.
    Sounds like you’re knocking it out and getting it done!!! Great job!!!

  3. Nice “work” week!!! Sounds like lots of awesome training!! OHH that swim cap!! I have ripped 3 caps in 2 weeks…luckily it was when I was getting out of the water!! Nice job with your biking power!! sounds like you are getting stronger by the day!!!! yayayayyy!!!!

  4. You know what Dori would do – just keep swimming! ☺

    IM Boulder is only 6 weeks away?? Where did time go? You must be feeling the pre pre pre-race excitement and jitters. When do you actually head to Colorado? I think it is so smart that you are giving yourself time to acclimate and train in that environment.

    • Dory is EXACTLY who I thought of when my swim cap tore…Just Keep Swimming 🙂

      I am getting very excited and looking forward to our travels out to Colorado!! We leave July 11…just under 3 weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

