5 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

Today marks the start of our LAST build week before the taper for Ironman Boulder…time flies when we’re having fun!!

Swim: 7196 yards

Swimming brought me highs and lows this week. The highlight was my 2.6 mile open water swim in Okoboji on Tuesday with Dad kayaking next to me. It was so peaceful and enjoyable.

Lake Okoboji...my playground!!
Lake Okoboji…my playground!!
Feeling so great after 2.6 miles of open water swimming at an average pace of 1:52/100 yards.
Feeling so great after 2.6 miles of open water swimming at an average pace of 1:52/100 yards.

Bike: 186 miles

This week was FULL of rain, which means we ended up having to do a LOT of trainer rides this week. Thankfully Saturday was a picture perfect day for our long ride. To get our long miles in, we took part in the Eastern Iowa Tour de Cure to raise money for diabetes. You can expect a full report in a day or two. If you would like to donate to a great cause, please do so here.

Riding through Iowa's beauty!!
Riding through Iowa’s beauty!!
Finished!!
Finished!!

Run: 31.5 miles

We had a couple of long runs this week and many shorter ones off the bike. I was blessed to get to run one of my long runs around West Lake Okoboji. It is always so peaceful to run along the lake…

Finishing up a 10+ mile run along Lake Okoboji...so peaceful!!
Finishing up a 10+ mile run along Lake Okoboji…so peaceful!!

I made sure to run both of my long runs in the afternoon heat to remind my body what it feels like to run during the heat of the day…

IMG_3589

Strength Training: 1 hour & 45 minutes

Weekly Totals: 21 hours & 46 minutes

Last Week’s Highlights:

I went home to visit Mom and Dad early this week. It is always nice to go home…see family, swim in the lake and relax.

Playing memory with my twin 7 year old nieces.
Playing memory with my twin 7 year old nieces.

I also had a massage on Friday to work through some tight muscles before starting our final build week…

IMG_3592
Recovery is important!!

This Week’s Focus:

Complete all of my scheduled workouts, focus on mental training and enjoy time with friends.

How was your week? What were the highlights of your week?

19 thoughts on “5 weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. Sorry about all the trainer riding, but again, that open water swim must have been fantastic! Did you watch Erin cross the finish line yesterday? I keep saying that I’d be ok with never running more than 5km again since I have no idea what the MRI will reveal, but watching yesterday made me realize I still really want this. Sigh.

    Good luck with your last build-be safe!

    1. The OWS was fantastic!! I did watch Erin and many other Coeur teammates conquer IMCdA yesterday. Pure determination, grit, heart and courage in those conditions!! First things first…get the MRI results and then move forward with whatever your body will allow. We all have limitations that frustrate us and make us sad. Sometimes thanking our bodies for what we can do can be uplifting. With patience, desire and fortitude it will get better. 😘

      1. Thanks Kecia! My MRI is on Friday, but I have no idea how long it will take to get my results-likely months. I can’t wait to track your race day-hopefully your weather conditions will be a bit tamer *fingers crossed*.

  2. That is seriously awesome that you were able to complete a 2.6 mile swim with your dad kayaking next to you. How fun!! Sorry to hear your training was interrupted by a lot of rain – at least you still got the work done nonetheless. One more build week and then it is taper time. SO EXCITING!!! How are you feeling compared to last year at this point in your training?

  3. Wow time does fly! I love open water swims, I’m thinking of meet up with a local tri group here on Wednesday for their weekly ows!

    And happy tapering! 🙂 Rest and recover that body!

    1. Thanks Jessie!! I can’t wait to hear about your OWS session!! I will definitely be resting and recovering lots in the next few weeks 😊

  4. Another awesome week!! Keep up the momentum a couple more weeks!! You are getting so close! My week was good. I had a great track work out and a training triathlon on Saturday. It is so nice to be training for an Oly and not having to keep up my volume!! 🙂

  5. I grew up in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. It’s about 1.5 hours from Lake Okoboji. We would go there every weekend in the summer. My parents used to keep their boat at Mau Marine. 🙂

  6. What a great week of workouts – especially the 2.6 mile swim! Too bad about the weather, but it sounds as though you still managed to get in some serious bike love. Good luck with the final push – I can’t believe that Boulder is only 5 weeks away!

  7. Quality week! I can’t race day is getting so close! Your 2.6 mile swim at a solid pace should give you great confidence (it would only be perfect if race day it was just you out there with your dad by your side…;)). You are so smart to get in your runs during the afternoon so you are even more prepared. Way to go Kecia. I am really getting excited for you!

    1. Thanks Lee!! I would love to have race day with just me and my dad while I swim 😉 We have been having relatively cool weather here lately, so even running in the afternoon heat really isn’t that hot. It would be ideal if our race day weather was this nice.

Leave a Reply

