Trication Part 2 – Estes Park…The Beginning

I’m so excited to start training again, but this time at altitude…7596 feet is where I have laid my head every night since we arrived in Estes Park!!

Thursday: Happy 5th Anniversary to the Iron Hippie ๐Ÿ˜‰

I started my day watching the sunrise over the mountain on the patio at our cabin, while drinking my Karma Kombucha…can you say #perfectstarttotheday?!?!?!?! WOW!!

What a spectacular sunrise over the mountain!!
What a spectacular sunrise over the mountain!!

We followed this upย with a drive through Rocky Mountain National Park to Grand Lake, where we had breakfast at an amazing little cafe, followed by a walk along the lake.

On the drive to Grand Lake through Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the drive to Grand Lake through Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the drive to Grand Lake through Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the drive to Grand Lake through Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the drive to Grand Lakes through Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the drive to Grand Lakes through Rocky Mountain National Park.
Blue Water Bakery Cafe...YUMMY!!
Blue Water Bakery Cafe…YUMMY!!
Veggie Croissant Sandwich and Blueberry Muffin for breakfast...YUMMY!!
Veggie Croissant Sandwich and Blueberry Muffin for breakfast…YUMMY!!
Grand Lake...elevation 8367 feet :)
Grand Lake…elevation 8367 feet ๐Ÿ™‚
Kayak and wind surfing on Grand Lake
Kayak and wind surfing on Grand Lake
Happy Anniversary to the Iron Hippie...what a great way to celebrate 5 years ;)
Happy Anniversary to the Iron Hippie…what a great way to celebrate 5 years ๐Ÿ˜‰

After breakfast and a short walk along the lake, we loaded back into the car and drove to the edge of Rocky Mountain National Park so we could hike up to Adam’s Falls…

We took a short hike up to Adams Falls in Rocky Mountain National Park.
We took a short hike up to Adams Falls in Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the trail to Adam's Falls in Rocky Mountain National Park.
On the trail to Adam’s Falls in Rocky Mountain National Park.
Adam's Falls...so majestic!
Adam’s Falls…so majestic!
We made it to Adam's Falls...with Allen and the Iron Hippie.
We made it to Adam’s Falls…with Allen and the Iron Hippie.
Staring out over the running water...so peaceful!
Staring out over the running water…so peaceful!
A hideout area by the stream.
A hideout area by the stream.
Allen deciding to walk in the FREEZING cold water...he lost feeling in his calves and feet (~39F water temperature)
Allen deciding to walk in the FREEZING cold water…he lost feeling in his calves and feet (~39F water temperature)
The Iron Hippie checking out the water.
The Iron Hippie checking out the water.
I LOVE nature and was cherishing every moment in Rocky Mountain National Park!!
I LOVE nature and was cherishing every moment in Rocky Mountain National Park!!
Enjoying the peace and quiet of nature...
Enjoying the peace and quiet of nature…
Just past Adam's Falls, it opens up to this majestic prairie with a stream through it.
Just past Adam’s Falls, it opens up to this majestic prairie with a stream through it.
The prairie, stream and mountains in the background.
The prairie, stream and mountains in the background.

On the return back to Estes Park, we made one stop at the Continental Divide.

The Continental Divide...this is where water flows to either the Pacific or Atlantic.
The Continental Divide…this is where water flows to either the Pacific or Atlantic.
A lake at the Continental Divide.
A lake at the Continental Divide.

When we returned to Estes Park, I relaxed for a little bit before doing an hour of strength training at the cabin. At about 5:00 pm, the Iron Hippie, Allen and I went for a run around Estes Park. I was VERY pleasantly surprised at how good I felt at 7500+ feet elevation. This was just the attitude adjustment that I needed!! This was some serious #runlove ๐Ÿ™‚

Strength training with the mountains in the background...I may never leave here!!
Strength training with the mountains in the background…I may never leave here!!
Not super fast, but I felt really great at 7500+ feet elevation :)
Not super fast, but I felt really great at 7500+ feet elevation ๐Ÿ™‚
This run was just the attitude adjustment I needed today!!
This run was just the attitude adjustment I needed today!!
We all survived our first run at altitude :)
We all survived our first run at altitude ๐Ÿ™‚

After our run, we cooked taco meat for taco salads…the perfect post workout meal!! Then it was time toย clean up dinner and dishes, get ready for our bike ride on the Ironman Boulder bike course Friday morning and let my head hit the pillow for a good night’s sleep.

Friday:

After breakfast, we loaded up our bikes into the car and headed to Boulder to ride the first ~40 miles of the Ironman Boulder bike course. Can I just say…I’m in love with the first loop (the red loop) of the bike course (which is also happens to be the 2nd loop of the bike course)?!?!?! Serious #bikelove here ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m planning to ride the 3rd loop of the bike course next Saturday, and I can’t wait!! I hope I love it just as much!!

The Ironman Boulder bike course starts at the Boulder Reservoir, so this where we started our ride.
The Ironman Boulder bike course starts at the Boulder Reservoir, so this where we started our ride.
Three athletes ready to ride!
Three athletes ready to ride!
Ironman Boulder Bike Course
Ironman Boulder Bike Course

We stopped in Hygiene at Mary’s Market to refill our water bottles. This is the most bicycle friendly place I think I’ve ever been (well…except for the Kyle’s Bikes of course). It is truly AMAZING!! They cater to cyclists in so many unique ways…I really hope it is packed on IMBoulder race day!!

Mary's Market...we need one of these in Iowa!!
Mary’s Market in Hygiene…we need one of these in Iowa!!
Mary's Market even lets the cyclists know where to park :)
Mary’s Market even lets the cyclists know where to park ๐Ÿ™‚
Special parking for all of the cyclists who stop at Mary's Market in Hygiene.
Special parking for all of the cyclists who stop at Mary’s Market in Hygiene.
Mary's Market has the perfect place for people to relax during a long ride.
Mary’s Market has the perfect place for people to relax during a long ride.
Mary's Market has Skratch (sports drink) "on tap" for cyclists :)
Mary’s Market has Skratch (sports drink) “on tap” for cyclists ๐Ÿ™‚
Mary's Market has lots of sports nutrition for cyclists to chose from.
Mary’s Market has lots of sports nutrition for cyclists to chose from.
We rode the first ~47 miles of the Ironman Boulder bike course in a pretty impressive time for us! I'm super excited to see what this equates to on race day!!
We rode the first ~47 miles of the Ironman Boulder bike course in a pretty impressive time for us! I’m super excited to see what this equates to on race day!!

In the last 4 miles ofย the bike ride, the winds picked up and the temperature soared to 92F. I hope race day conditions are cooler and less windy, but if they aren’t, we are ready!! After loading the bikes, we drove downtown to have some lunch and then rode our bikesย to a local bike shop to get an extra pedal washer for my right pedal. I was having a bit of some knee pain after this ride, and Kyle (my amazing bike fitter) said I needed to put another washer between my crank and pedal. Unfortunately, Allen was having issues with his seat post and couldn’t sit on his saddle and the bike shop couldn’t help us, so we rode off to another shop…who also couldn’t help us. UGH!!! At this point, we called Kyle again and he told Allen what to do, so we made a few more stops in Boulder before heading back up the mountain to Estes Park. Upon our arrival to the cabin, we made dinner, showered, cleaned up and walked around Estes Park before hitting the hay. It was a beautiful night!!

Saturday:

I woke up shortly before 6 am, ate breakfast and then at 7 am we all set out for a 2 hour run around Estes Park. I was a little nervous going into this run, because it was double the distance of my Thursday run and I am at 7500+ feet of elevation, but I just took it one step at a time and had a fabulous run at a faster pace than Thursday, which I was pleasantly surprised by!! I basically ran by myself, leaving the boys in the dust which was really good mental training for IMBoulder race preparation. And. I. Felt. Great!! I couldn’t have asked for a better run…and at altitude!!

There were elk along the path that I was running on around Lake Estes.
There were elk along the path that I was running on around Lake Estes.
More elk along the path around Lake Estes.
More elk along the path around Lake Estes.
Deer on the side of the road along my running route.
Deer on the side of the road along my running route.
The view from the path around Lake Estes.
The view from the path around Lake Estes.
The path around Lake Estes.
The path around Lake Estes.
12 glorious miles at 7500+ feet elevation :)
12 glorious miles at 7500+ feet elevation ๐Ÿ™‚
12 happy miles at 7500+ feet elevation brought a huge smile to my face!!
12 happy miles at 7500+ feet elevation brought a huge smile to my face!!
Allen playing a "tune" after our long run.
Allen playing a “tune” after our long run.
The Iron Hippie playing a "tune" after our long run.
The Iron Hippie playing a “tune” after our long run.
I was playing a "tune" after our long run.
I was playing a “tune” after our long run.

After doing some core work, refueling and showering, I did lots of laundry. Thankfully our cabin has laundry facilities (actually below our cabin) and we can do as much laundry as we need. The Iron Hippie’s sister and brother-in-law came up to visit us from Denver, so we had a fun afternoon of just chatting and relaxing in Estes Park. It was great not to have to drive anywhere, since the last few days we had been in the car quite a bit ๐Ÿ˜‰

I ate leftovers for dinner and then walked around Estes Park, ate a cookie as big as my face and drank tea while relaxing by the stream for a while before turning in early to bed.

I love peanut butter cookies!!
I love peanut butter cookies!! SaWEET!!
Ginger Twist Hot Tea from Kind Coffee...mmmmmmm
Ginger Twist Hot Tea from Kind Coffee…mmmmmmm
Relaxing by the stream, drinking my hot tea and listening to live music...doesn't get much better than this!!
Relaxing by the stream, drinking my hot tea and listening to live music…doesn’t get much better than this!!

Sunday:

After 10 hours of sleep, I woke up ready to ride! We ateย some breakfast, loaded up the bikes and drove to Raymond, CO for a shorter ride on the Peak to Peak Highway. This was absolutely, without a doubt, my favorite bike ride EVER!! If you are ever near Raymond or Ward, Colorado, I HIGHLY recommend this ride!!

Climbing, climbing and more climbing.
Climbing, climbing and more climbing.
On top of the world...or maybe just Colorado at elevation 9200+ feet.
On top of the world…or maybe just Colorado at elevation 9200+ feet.

We did a short run off the bike in Raymond before heading back to Estes Park…with a short detour to Glen Haven for some amazing cinnamon rolls!!

Homemade cinnamon rolls was our post workout snack from Glen Haven, Colorado.
Homemade cinnamon rolls was our post workout snack from Glen Haven, Colorado.

We cleaned up and grabbed an early dinner and some ice cream (it was National Ice Cream Day after all) before hitting the hay early for another exciting day in Estes Park ๐Ÿ™‚

Smokin' Dave's for dinner. I had a burger with sweet potato fries.
Smokin’ Dave’s for dinner. I had a burger with sweet potato fries.
Strawberry Guava Sorbet...it is lactose free, so I can eat it :)
Strawberry Guava Sorbet…it is lactose free, so I can eat it ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll have the middle part of our Estes Park trip up on the blog later this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

20 thoughts on “Trication Part 2 – Estes Park…The Beginning

  1. This is really turning out to be a fabulous trication! You are getting in your training, exploring the local sites and really getting a taste of the surrounding culture. All the photos are beautiful and I don’t think you could have asked for anything better! So excited that this experience has been so awesome for you!

  2. Everything looks and sounds like perfection!! So nice you’ve been able to ride the course, too! And that’s awesome you’re feeling so good and strong. I have a great feeling about your race ๐Ÿ™‚
    I say get someone to bring your dogs down and stay!

    1. Thanks Abby!! I’m looking forward to pushing my limits on race day and seeing what I’ve got.

      I’d love to have someone bring our dogs over and just stay here forever!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Awesome!!! Loving ever minute of your adventure!!! I love that shop had Scratch on tap!!! Amazing!!!! Love that you are feeling really good about the altitude and race!!! Keep the positive vibes flowing!!!!!! So excited for you!!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! I would love to have a local market with Skratch on tap, but unfortunately we just don’t have places that are as bike friendly in Iowa…Colorado is AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

