Post Ironman Boulder – What’s Next???

I have spent the last 2 weeks recovering from Ironman Boulder, working out when I want, visiting family and enjoying life. Now it is time to get back to work…literally. Tomorrow marks the last day of summer vacation before I start the 2015-2016 school year on Wednesday. Here are some pictures of the last 2 weeks of my summer break/recovery time:

IMG_4701

I love to ride my bicycle…even 4 days post Ironman 🙂

IMG_4705

Post race massage…recovery is important.

IMG_4780

Spending time with my family. I don’t get to see this one nearly enough!

Sister time!

Sister time!

IMG_4813

Running up Mt. Diablo in California while visiting my sister and her family..

IMG_4871

#bikelove and #solesistasweat What a perfect combination!!

IMG_4868

Cycling is always better with friends!! #bikelove

IMG_4878

Running back in Iowa with LOTS of humid, thick air…I miss the mountains!!

I decided today is a great day to get back into a consistent workout routine. After all, I have dreams and I am going to continue to work hard to fulfill my dreams 🙂

IMG_4882

For now, I have the following races scheduled for the remainder of 2015:

This provides me with a good variety for the remainder of the year…a little bit of triathlon, a little bit of running and a little bit of cycling. Lots of fun to be had yet this year!

Do you fall out of a consistent routine during the summer months/post racing? How do you get back into a routine? How do you incorporate good variety in your training/racing while going into the off season?

16 thoughts on “Post Ironman Boulder – What’s Next???

  1. Sounds like you have a GREAT schedule for the rest of 2015! I know when I’m done with this IM, I’m heading straight back to running! 🙂 I like the lack of structure after big races, too. Have a wonderful last day! My kids start back next Monday. I’m sort of looking forward to it yet dreading it at the same time.

    • It will be a good end to 2015. I’m looking forward to having a routine again (I do really well with structure), but not looking forward to starting a new year. Getting the structure set with the students and home always seems to take longer than I’d like 😉

  2. Amy says:

    Wow…you still have some great stuff on your plate! A part of me misses training plans, but with little kids it did get stressful when they got sick or their activities came first. This fall I’m trying to make a fitness plan that I can stick to even though there will no races. I need to find the consistency again.

    Did I tell you I’ve decided to give this triathlon thing one more try? 😉 I realized that I’ve only really been picking at it and that is why my results have been so lacklustre. This winter I’m focusing on consistency and even though my running is limited, I know I can make vast improvements in strength training (my weakest area), swimming, and biking.

    I just can’t seem to give up!

    • Consistency is the key to doing anything successfully, so I’m glad you are giving it another tri 😉 #nevergiveup seems to be my mantra, so I completely understand that mindset!!

    • It will be a fun variety. If I don’t have something on the calendar, I find myself face planting off the wagon 😜 It will be a good variety as I head into the off season.

  3. You are doing cyclocross!!? It is very popular here in Bend and while I love watching the races (there is a race here on Halloween where people wear costumes while racing – so epic) I am extremely intimidated and afraid of the sport. Have you done cyclocross before? What made you interested?

    I’d say you have a pretty good race line up on the remainder of your 2015 calendar. Are you going to do another Ironman next year? Want to join me in Whistler? 🙂

    • I have done cyclocross racing before and LOVE it!! I’m not very good at it, but I have fun!! We are not going to do an IM in 2016. We need to save up vacation time (for the Iron Hippie) and we will do that by staying local and not needing to have time off during the week for longer workouts. 😉

  4. Lee @ Tri*Inspired*Life says:

    It is awesome to see that you still have lots on the calendar! After IM, that is impressive!

    Good luck with the new school year…you have had an amazing summer, that’s for sure!!!!

  5. sorry for the delay but wanted to say a huge congrats on IM Boulder! Loved the race report and that you enjoyed your day so much 🙂 And your race-cation was just great. Hope you are having a good start to the school year.

    • Thanks Brittany! It was such an amazing summer, that I’m a little out of sorts trying to re-establish a routine. The school year is off to a good start 😉

Leave a Reply

