Finding Strong

This morning I tried on 5 pairs of pants before I found a pair that finally fit. Was I upset by this? ABSOLUTELY NOT! I have not gained any weight in the last month, but I have gained a lot of strength in my thighs and glutes thanks to all of the cycling I’ve been doing. I am so happy to be gaining a much stronger version of myself…even at the expense of having to purchase some new dress pants 😉

This also made me reflect on a recent article that Kristin Armstrong published in Runner’s World. I was so saddened when I googled thinspiration and found young ladies not finding beauty in a strong body. It is critical that we change the mindset of the public, ourselves and these young people. We need to seek out #strongspiration instead of thinspiration. As athletes, it is important to be strong both physically and mentally. We need to encourage and inspire all of the women in our lives to find strong and be happy with their strong, athletic bodies.

Most women have some part of their bodies that they wish were different…straight hair, naturally curly hair, more defined triceps, a bigger/more muscular butt, smaller thighs, 6-pack abs, skinnier…the list can go on and on and on. We’ve all heard someone comment on a body part that they wish were different. We need to change this negative mindset and turn it into a positive. Sure…I could be upset that my pants don’t fit and I have tree trunks for thighs, but I choose to be happy! Happy that I have strong legs and glutes that can power me through many everyday activities, workouts and races.

What does your body do for you? How can you turn a negative view of your body into a positive?

12 thoughts on “Finding Strong

  1. Shelley says:

    Great attitude! I`m so happy you teach 8th grade and can be a role model to many young ladies. Miss you neighbor and keep up the good work.

  2. Amy says:

    Wow…that was a scary article. I know I’ll never be *thin*. I’ve had too many pregnancies and pieces of pizza. However, I can certainly be *fit*! There is a world of difference and everyday that I dedicate to building my strength from the bottom up, I become more powerful. Now that is attractive!

  3. Kori says:

    You are so beautiful. And centered. Because this is important. So, since I’ve had knee surgery I have been less strong. The benefit I can find. . . .you can sell me some pants. 🙂 lol!

  4. After going through pregnancy and facing some pretty substantial changes to my body, I definitely battled negative thoughts and self-criticism. I constantly had to remind myself of the life I was carrying and to let go of the anxieties that came along with weight gain and muscle loss. Now that I am 7 weeks postpartum, I am being patient and more compassionate toward my body. It has gone through a lot! Every body is unique and has it’s own history.

    • I agree, every body is unique and has its own history! I was so saddened when I googled “thinspiration” and saw some of the comments these young ladies are making about purging and trying to get down to 80 lbs. you are looking amazing at 7 weeks postpartum! Patience is key with all areas of our lives to provide us with balance 😊

Leave a Reply

