Bike Block Training

I have spent the last 4 weeks in a bike block, which means that I cycled 7 times almost every week. This was challenging, but so rewarding! I had a good variety with this bike block, including outdoor riding, trainer riding, climbing focused rides, cadence focused rides, power focused rides, and recovery rides. All of it translated to serious #bikelove!!

Enjoying some outdoor #bikelove in November in Iowa...short sleeves and shorts!
Enjoying some outdoor #bikelove in November in Iowa…short sleeves and shorts!
Century ride in November in Iowa...this amazing weather is unheard of!!
Century ride in November in Iowa…this amazing weather is unheard of!!
Basil wanted me to cuddle with her instead of ride my bicycle
Basil wanted me to cuddle with her instead of ride my bicycle
Killing some intervals
Killing some intervals
Spinning out the legs over and over and over again.
Spinning out the legs over and over and over again.
#bikelove with wall sits is a great workout!
#bikelove with wall sits is a great workout!
IMG_5872
Cadence work is always difficult for me!
Outdoor #bikelove lasted through November 14 this year!!
Outdoor #bikelove lasted through November 14 this year!!
Last outdoor ride before the snow flies
Last outdoor ride before the snow flies
Climbing out of the saddle for some hill work
Climbing out of the saddle for some hill work
Cooling off on the concrete floor after a tough ride
Cooling off on the concrete floor after a tough ride

Stats:

Total time in the saddle: 40 hours and 2 minutes

Total miles for this bike block: 581 miles

Total outdoor miles for this bike block: 155 miles

I am excited to see how this bike block translates to my FTP test coming up later this week. I am hoping to see some serious improvements. I’ll keep you posted on what I find out 🙂

Have you ever done a bike block training cycle? Would you ever consider doing a bike block?

14 thoughts on “Bike Block Training

  1. I’ve been anxious to read this. 40 hours and 581 miles in the saddle is amazing…perhaps a little crazy? 😉 You will have to see improvements on your FTP test!

    My knee is continuing to give me grief, so maybe scaled-down version of this might be a good idea. Hmmm. I have trouble with consistency-perhaps a certain time or distance 7 days a week would build some good habits.

    1. It was great! I did take one rest day a week, so I rode in the am and pm on Wednesdays. I’m excited for Thursday’s FTP test for sure!! Let me know if you decide to give this a try 😉

  2. Those are some killer stats! Way to go!!!! I have never done a bike block workout, but would consider it. Looking forward to reading about the results of your upcoming FTP test. I know your hard work will pay off!

  3. Love the photo with your doggie – that is too cute!
    I ended up doing some major miles on the bike this summer when I was injured from running but still training for IM Boulder. I know that I had 2 consecutive weeks that were over 160 miles, which was pretty big mileage for me.
    It will be interesting to see your FTP results!

    1. Basil is such a good dog, but definitely wants to be with her people. I have been fighting an injury lately that has allowed me to cycle (thankfully a lot), but I can’t run right now. Triathlon training is great…when we can’t do one discipline, we can usually do the others to keep us moving and sane. I’ll keep you posted on my FTP results 😉

    1. The snow is on the ground here as well, but this week has been a bit warmer, so a lot of melting has occurred. I think more snow is in the forecast for later this week. The bike block was super fun and I’m excited to see how it translates to my FTP test on Thursday 😉

  4. All I have to say is that is some IMPRESSIVE time in the saddle. I have never done a bike block or any extensive training on the bike where it was the only focus. That being said, I have A LOT of work to do on the bike to get back to where I was. I am planning on investing a lot of time into cycling (on the trainer) this winter!

Leave a Reply

