Currently // November

Training

November was the month of #bikeblocktraining and cycling 7 times throughout the week really paid off. My FTP test was on Thanksgiving morning and found that #hardworkpaysoff 🙂 My previous FTP test was on October 5 where my normalized power was 160 watts for my 20 minute TT. In just under 8 weeks, my new FTP test results on November 26 produced a normalized power of 176 watts for my 20 minute TT. I’ll take the 16 watt improvement! The best part?!?!?!?! This is only 1 watt less than my FTP test during peak training before Ironman Boulder. I am pumped for what this might mean for the 2016 season!!

FTP test is the perfect start to Thanksgiving day!
FTP test is the perfect start to Thanksgiving day!

I have also been able to start running again just this last week. While I am not running long or far, I am running without pain. 🙂

Running with these 2 make my heart happy!!
Running with these 2 make my heart happy!!

Reading

Carrie Cheadle is an amazing mental skills coach. Her book On Top of Your Game helped me mentally prepare for Ironman Boulder. Her most recent blog post really hit home with me!! Setting a goal and figuring out why the goal is important…not the surface why, but the “why deep underneath the surface at your very core” can help keep you motivated and focused on what is really important to you.

Planning for

2016!!! I have spent time reflecting on my 2015 racing calendar and results. This has helped me develop S.M.A.R.T. goals for 2016 (more on these in a later post). I am so excited to work hard to achieve my dreams!!

IMG_6120
My new #believetrainingjournal arrived just in time for 2016 🙂

Pumped about

I believe 2016 is going to be an epic year!! I have been chosen to be part of the Coeur Sports 2016 Ambassador Team. I ABSOLUTELY love these women!! They are inspirational, motivational, enCOEURaging, supportive and full of #heartandcourage 🙂

I found out that I made the Coeur Sports 2016 Ambassador Team...Such a badass group of women that I'm overjoyed to be a part of!!
I found out that I made the Coeur Sports 2016 Ambassador Team…Such a badass group of women that I’m overjoyed to be a part of!!

Thankful for

Family and friends! My heart and soul were full this Thanksgiving as I was surrounded by so much love! #friendsgiving

IMG_6175
Love my #solesista
IMG_6179
Jenga war is on… concentration is needed here boys!
IMG_6180
Jenga…don’t mess up!!

Friday morning after our #friendsgiving I woke up with a sore throat and am headed to the doctor today. While I am not a fan of being sick, I am #grateful that it is the offseason and I am not sick during peak training and race season!!

Quote of the week

“Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen.”       ~Michael Jordan

How was your month of November? How was your Thanksgiving?

10 thoughts on “Currently // November

  1. I’m so happy to hear your FTP test went well and that your running again! November was too busy for me and I’m feeling pretty run down-I’m hoping December is kinder 🙂

    I did make some smart long-term fitness goals that I’m happy about. I want to race RIGHT NOW, but know it’s a more realistic idea to forget about longer distances until my youngest is in kindergarten-then I’ll have time every day to commit to fitness.

    1. Thanks Amy! I hope you have a peaceful December! Long term goal planning always makes my heart happy and I know all about wanting to race RIGHT NOW 😉 patience will make those race finish lines so rewarding!!

  2. I now how it feels not to run when you want to run–so glad you’re back! I cannot wait to get back on my bike. . . a little slow with the shift back to cycling after the half marathon!

    1. Thanks Sandra! It is amazing how quickly our muscles remember. I hope your muscles remember cycling just as quickly as mine picked back up on running 😉

  3. Nice job on the FTP test!! I need to do a bike block!!! I’m glad you are getting to run again!!!I just got the purple believe journal!!! i’m excited to start to use it!! my November was good…Fast but good!!! Looking forward to 2016 also!!

    1. Thanks Leslie!! The bike block was fun and something I definitely want to do again!! I am glad you’re November was good. I am also looking forward to starting my purple believe training journal. I love writing down everything in my red journal this year…so fun to look at my progress!! 2016 will be epic!!

  4. A great November for you, other than the late month sickness! Awesome work on the bike and glad you have gradually gotten back to running and are PAIN FREE!

Leave a Reply

