Currently // December 2015

Training

I am sad to report that training has been hit or miss throughout December. While I have had some good workouts, I have had more workouts show up as red in Training Peaks than green 😦

The best part…I have rekindled my relationship with my mat!! It has been amazing and I am so happy to be back on my mat!! Now to rekindle my relationship with my swim goggles, bike, and running shoes on a more regular basis 😉

Rekindling my relationship with my mat! #yogalove
Rekindling my relationship with my mat! #yogalove

Reading

I’ve said this before, but I’m going to say it again…Carrie Cheadle is an amazing mental skills coach! Her most recent blog post really helped me focus on dreaming big. It is time to break away from comfortable and familiar. It is time to spread my wings and soar like an eagle!

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty is about a wife who found a letter written to her from her husband. The letter was intended to be found and read if he had died, but she found it while her husband was still alive. The secret he shares with her in this letter is deep, dark and has the potential to destroy the life they have built together and the lives of others. It is a quick, easy read that I highly recommend!

Rising Strong by Brene Brown is a must read! We all have struggles that test our courage. As we wrestle with the stories that surround these struggles, we rise strong in the same way: “we reckon with our emotions and get curious about what we’re feeling; we rumble with our stories until we get to a place of truth; and we live this process, every day, until it becomes a practice and creates nothing short of a revolution in our lives. Rising strong after a fall is how we cultivate wholeheartedness.” This is the process that Brown guides us through to teach us about who we really are.

Family

It was fun to spend time with family during the holidays!! Chatting with my sisters, playing with my nieces, eating lots of unnecessary comfort foods, and traveling all over northern and central Iowa as well as southern Minnesota was a whirlwind. There is nothing quite like family!

Grandma Annie continues to show up at Christmas and surprise us all with her awesomeness...Our hideous pajama pants were a family favorite this year!
Grandma Annie continues to show up at Christmas and surprise us all with her awesomeness…Our hideous pajama pants were a family favorite this year!

Challenge

The first 10 days of December, I took part in the Rising Tide 10 Day Routines for Inevitable Success Challenge. It was AWESOME!! I am so grateful to Sonja for guiding me through this experience and helping me find a way to #believe in myself deep underneath the surface at the very core of my being! You can read about my experience here. I am currently going through the #RTTC10dayroutine again to build #fun into my training routine. I’ll share my post on the #fun factor when I complete that process.

#rttc10dayroutine challenge to #believe in myself!
#rttc10dayroutine challenge to #believe in myself!

Dreaming

I have been dreaming about the journeys I will go on, the struggles and joys I will encounter, the finish lines I will cross, and all that will make me a stronger person in 2016!! 2016 is going to be an amazing year and I am ready to soar like an eagle!!

Quote of the Week

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery and today is a gift, that is way it is called the present.”     ~Eleanor Roosevelt

How was your December? Any good reads lately? How do you get back on track when your train gets derailed?

8 thoughts on “Currently // December 2015

  1. December has been hit or miss, but on the bright side it’s usually all miss, riding on a trainer… I’ll take hit and miss any day of the week and twice on Sunday!

  2. That’s awesome that you’re getting back to doing yoga again-I have too! I use online classes that I do in front of the fireplace after the little ones are in bed. It’s been so nice 🙂 Yes, bring on January!!

  3. Thanks for the book reco!! I put My Husband’s Secret on the library hold list!! those are definitely quite the pajama pants!! 🙂 Sometimes its nice to unwind in December to get ready to go strong in January!!
    My December has been good. I’m reading The Blue Bistro right now. One of my favorites (I have read it a 2 other times) and I read The Girl on The Train too which was good!!
    Sometimes being derailed is good. A break is nice so you can re0focus!! Picking a day and starting is always the best way I have tackled it!!
    Happy 2016!!

    1. Thanks for the book suggestions!! I haven’t read either of them…time to go to the book store 😉
      It has been nice to unwind, but I am definitely ready to re-focus and find my groove again!!
      Cheers to an awesome 2016!!

  4. I think it’s ok to have a hit or miss month. You have been going at it hard this year and your body is probably subconsciously letting you know – a break is ok. 🙂 Whenever I see a lot of red on the schedule, I know that my mind/body wasn’t up for it… and it gives me a revitalized feeling when I head into the next week.

    Sadly, I don’t have any book recommendations because I never have time to read anymore.

    Those pajama pants look like real jeans. I seriously did a triple take!

    1. I’m sure you are right! I just have a hard time accepting red…I know I need to get over this though.
      I hope you find time to read soon 😉
      Those pajama pants are super comfy, but hideously ugly!!

Leave a Reply

