2016 S.M.A.R.T. Goals for my “A” Race

Many people start the new year with “New Year’s Resolutions” and most of those people quit trying to keep these resolutions within the first month of the new year. According to the Huffington Post, only about 13% (1 in 8) of people who set New Year Resolutions successfully keep their resolutions for one year. This is why I don’t set New Year’s Resolutions…instead, I set intentions and S.M.A.R.T. (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-based) goals.

I evaluated my 2015 journey, which allowed me to reflect on successes and failures throughout the year. Being truthful with myself and my 2015 journey, has helped me set S.M.A.R.T. goals for my 2016 “A” race.

Smart Goal

When setting S.M.A.R.T. goals, it is important that they are:

  1. Specific…having precise goals stated in terms of performance.
  2. Measurable…being able to determine if the goal has been accomplished.
  3. Attainable…setting high, but realistic and achievable goals.
  4. Relevant…setting a goal that is important to YOU and NOT because a friend or family member has a similar goal.
  5. Timely…having a specific time frame for completing the goal.

My “A” race for 2016 is Ironman Wisconsin on September 11. My time goal for this race is sub 13 hours…

IMG_6026

  • What does this mean for a time goal for each discipline of the race? Swim = 1:15-1:20 (I swam 1:21:52 in 2014 at Ironman Wisconsin); Bike = 7:00:00…or less (I biked 8:15:12 in 2014 and 7:56:58 in 2011 at Ironman Wisconsin and I biked 6:46:12 in 2015 at Ironman Boulder on a much easier course); Run = 4:30:00-4:45:00 (I ran 5:15:32 in 2014 at Ironman Wisconsin and 5:28:05 in 2015 at Ironman Boulder); With transitions, this could be close…can I do it? ABSOLUTELY!
  • Why do I have a sub 13 hour goal? While it would be awesome to set a new PR (and sub 13 hours would be a PR by over an hour), I really want to push my limits and see what I can actually do. I have BIG DREAMS and a sub 13 hour Ironman would get me one step closer to fulfilling these #BigDreams.      IMG_0973
  • What steps am I going to take to get there?
    • I am going to focus most of my efforts on the bike to improve my bike strength. Incorporating more power focused workouts on the bike into my training plan will definitely help me build the bike strength I am seeking to conquer this hilly course.
    • I am also going to incorporate more brick runs off the bike to teach my legs to run strong when they are tired.
    • I am going to run my long runs at a faster pace. In the past I’ve been trying to maintain a 10 min/mile average pace, but I feel that if I can focus on a faster pace, that I will set myself up for a faster marathon at the end of Ironman.
    • I am going to follow a well laid out training plan making sure it includes proper strength training and recovery to help prevent injuries.
    • I am going to continue to incorporate mental training into my training plan so that I continue to teach myself to #believe in me, my abilities and my training.
    • I am going to focus on my nutrition and figure out how to overcome the hyponatremia issues I’ve experienced in the past. I am still seeking a place to have a a sweat test done where they measure the electrolytes that I sweat out; this information will help me prevent hyponatremia in future events.

I am expecting some challenges along the way…after all, it wouldn’t be an Ironman if there weren’t challenges. The most challenging part of Ironman Wisconsin for me, in the past, has been nutrition and the 6156 feet of climbing throughout the bike course. I am looking forward to overcoming these challenges and pushing myself to new limits at Ironman Wisconsin on September 11, 2016!!

What is your “A” goal for 2016? Have you made this goal a S.M.A.R.T. goal?

23 thoughts on “2016 S.M.A.R.T. Goals for my “A” Race

  1. Amy says:

    You have put a lot of work into planning-well done! Having put so much though into what you can do and what you want to do will lead to your success!

    I haven’t put together a race plan yet because right now I’m working to build a better daily routine. It’s going great so far! My “A” race will be a sprint, though I haven’t picked which one yet. My goal is to get the start line PREPARED-if I do that I know I be happy with whatever finish time I EARN. I’ve been half-assing this far too long.

  2. I hope you can find a place that does a sweat test because I’ll be interested in hearing your experiences with it. I had a hyponatremia-ish experience during a half this September, and it has me super paranoid about keeping my electrolytes and sodium in balance. (My husband teases me with that line from Idiocracy every time I talk about electrolytes: “Brawndo – it’s got what plants crave.”)

  3. Lee @ Tri*Inspired*Life says:

    Looking forward to watching your continued hard work in order to meet your goals. I love how you laid out everything and what you are going to do to work toward them. I know 2016 will be another good year for you! Cheers to staying healthy and injury free for the both of us!!

  4. You’ve inspired me to get on with my SMART goal setting process! This sounds like a great plan of action, and I’m sure you’ll have a very successful experience at IMWI! The mental training aspect is definitely something that I will incorporate more in my 2016 training plan.

  5. Kristina says:

    Kecia – Love how you’ve put your goal “out there” and then broken down what you need to do to achieve it. I can’t wait to follow your journey this year. It looks as though you have a great schedule that will combine fun and, of course, lots of hard work! Also, you’ll look great all year in the Coeur gear. That’s a win/win!

Leave a Reply

