25 Weeks ’til IMWI 2016: Spring Break!

Where has time gone?!?! It is hard to believe we are only 25 weeks out from Ironman Wisconsin 2016!! This will be Ironman #4 for me, and I am so excited to revisit one of my all time favorite races and enjoy the journey to IMWI finish line #3. For my past Ironman races, I have documented my journey in weekly posts. This has helped keep me accountable for completing my workouts, given me a place to reflect on every week…both the ups and downs, helped motivate and inspire others, and hopefully encouraged even one person (more would be awesome) to work hard to achieve their dreams. For these reasons (and maybe others I’m forgetting), I am going to include weekly posts starting today!

Last week I was on spring break, so I had plenty of time to complete workouts, clean house, grocery shop, do some work, relax and enjoy time with my faves, do some course work for my “Living Brave” class, and get a taste of what my summer break is like. Only 10 weeks until summer break BTW 😉

Monday:

Despite being on spring break, I woke up at 4 am for 1 hour of strength training, which I followed up with balancing the check book, paying bills, and heading to Kyle’s Bikes in Ankeny with Mojo for a bike fit and getting a new helmet with my birthday money. After getting my new Cobb V-Flow saddle in December, it was time to double check that my fit was keeping everything happy. Lucky for me, everything is happy and no adjustments were needed! After returning home, I took the dogs for a walk and decided to indulge and celebrate “National Napping Day” with some time for my head and pillow to reacquaint themselves with each other 😉 I finished out the day with an easy 1 hour recovery ride with the crew in the courage cave.

IMG_8100

Basil approves of my new helmet!!
Basil approves of my new helmet!!
Basil and Mya are dreaming of chasing the geese and swimming!
Basil and Mya are dreaming of chasing the geese and swimming!

Tuesday:

I was going to get up early and swim this morning, but decided to sleep in instead. This was just what the body needed!! I got my lists together for all of the purchases I was about to make and set off…3 hours later, the house was restocked and it was time for my workouts! I had a great 2800 yard swim and followed this up with the “Lucky 7s” run. Forty-two minutes of hill climbing at varying inclines is no joke…especially by the end!

This isn't even all of it!!
This isn’t even all of it!!
Swim time!
Swim time!
"Lucky 7s" includes 42 minutes of hill climbing at various inclines.
“Lucky 7s” includes 42 minutes of hill climbing at various inclines.

Wednesday:

I started the day with a 4 am wake-up call and a 90 minute sweatfest ride…hill repeats was on the docket! Yes, I know I ran hills yesterday, but there were more hills for today…this time on the bike. Later that morning, I had one of the best swims I’ve had in a LONG time!! It was only 2000 yards, but it was full of 100s on the 2:00 and 50s on the 1:00. By changing up my swim stroke over the last month + focusing on #courageovercomfort during this swim, I saw paces I’ve never seen before!! Hello progress!! I was on such a high from this workout, that when I got home I took the dogs for a walk before starting to deep cleaning the house 🙂

Hill repeats!!
Hill repeats!!
Our neighbors dinosaur yard ornament has laid eggs just in time for Easter!
While walking the dogs, we spotted our neighbor’s dinosaur yard ornament laid eggs just in time for Easter!

Thursday:

I spent most of my day finishing my #deepcleanthehouse project today. We’ll see how long this lasts…unfortunately never long enough 😉 After the Iron Hippie returned home from work, we celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with a nice and easy recovery ride for one hour and then spent about 45 minutes doing some functional strength training. Typically I teach TRX on Thursday’s but because of spring break, there was no class this week, so I mixed it up by using the Bosu, stability ball, and hand weights today. It was fun to do something different for a change!

Recovery ride in my lucky Coeur Sports shorts!!
Recovery ride in my lucky Coeur Sports shorts!!

Friday:

After spending the last two days cleaning, cleaning, cleaning, today’s focus was relaxation…doing some work with my feet up!! I started the day with some “Living Brave” coursework, went to the pool for my recovery swim, followed all of this up with some more grocery/supply stock piling, and finished out the day with some work in preparation for going back to school on Monday.

Recovery swim, but I had more fun playing with my new GoPro after my swim!!
Recovery swim, but I had more fun playing with my new GoPro after my swim!!

Saturday:

After 30 minutes of core work, we hopped on the trainer for our nearly 3 hour ride, which we followed up with a 40 minute run off the bike. I sweat SO much on the bike, that changing into my run gear was incredibly difficult…SO MUCH STICKING!! Old Man Winter held on and “blessed” us with more snow on this last day of winter. After refueling, napping and prepping food for the week, we went to visit friends and watch the ISU Cyclones win and make it to the Sweet Sixteen in the NCAA tournament.

2 hours & 45 minutes in the saddle = LOTS of sweat!!
2 hours & 45 minutes in the saddle = LOTS of sweat!!
Family run off the bike!
Family run off the bike as the snow starts to fly!

Sunday:

We started the morning with 75 minutes of intervals on the bike and transitioned to an 80 minute run. There were more times than not that I wanted to walk on this run, but I did not surrender. I held strong and pushed forward. One foot in front of the other. My legs were trashed by the end; legs up a wall and an epsom salt bath were just what was needed to promote recovery. After an early afternoon nap, we relaxed for a bit, watching some of the NCAA tournament and gearing up for the coming week.

75 minutes of tough intervals before the long run.
75 minutes of tough intervals before the long run.
Legs up the wall post long run is the best recovery!!
Legs up the wall post long run is the best recovery!!

Weekly Totals:

Swim: 6,900 yards
Bike: 103 miles
Run: 19.2 miles
Strength Training: 2:15:00

Total: 15:20:00

Weekly Quote: 

“Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength.”  ~Arnold Schwarzenegger

How was your week of training? Do you get time off for “spring break?” If so, what did you do?

16 thoughts on “25 Weeks ’til IMWI 2016: Spring Break!

  1. Solid week!!!! Impressed at some of your STILL EARLY wake up calls even though you were off work! It sounds like you had a good mix of great training, productivity around the house and some down time. So happy you are able to report your swim success since re-focusing on your stroke. Is is awesome that you are seeing improvements!

    1. Thanks Lee!! It was a great week!! 4 am is my wake up, so it doesn’t seem so bad to do it even in break. Heck, I do it all summer long also 😉
      I’m so happy to be seeing swim improvements. Now to get my coach back to the pool to re-evaluate my stroke.

    1. Thanks Leslie!! Glad you had a great week also!! Our long ride was a serious sweatfest as well!! Changing into winter running gear for the run is so tough when you’re sweaty!! September seems so far away, but race day will be here before we know it!!

  2. How do you like your Specialized bike, Kecia? I am in the market for a new road bike (I’m already set with a tri bike) and was considering Specialized. Has your experience with it been good?

Leave a Reply

