2016 Intentions Check In #1

I was hoping to check in with my 2016 intentions on a monthly basis, but alas, that hasn’t happened. Quarterly check-ins will have to suffice for now.

  1. #Believe…I have made progress with this intention, but still have room for growth. I think this is one area I will ALWAYS have room for growth. I have focused a lot on courage over comfort in all aspects of my life since the start of 2016. I have made some progress, which you can read more about here if you haven’t already, but there is still room for growth.

    FTP test results...My normalized power was 189 watts...this was 12 watts higher than peak Ironman Boulder training in 2015!!
    FTP test results…My normalized power was 189 watts…this was 12 watts higher than peak Ironman Boulder training in 2015!!
  2. Break down barriers…We do have women who ride with us in our basement, but I haven’t made progress with the women’s only ride YET. That is mostly in part to Mother Nature. We are still experiencing cool temperatures and occasional snow showers, which make outdoor riding non-existent this time of year. Since most of the women prefer riding in warmer temperatures, I am waiting a bit for Mother Nature to start cooperating with us. I am SERIOUSLY hoping we get outside to ride in the next month! If you are a women interested in cycling in the Ames area, please let me know so I can get you the information for our outdoor rides!!
  3. Be present…I really struggle with this one! I have a VERY hard time focusing on the here and now. I often find myself thinking about the past or the future. I am looking to incorporate some meditation into my weekly routine (and hopefully daily if time permits as I figure it out) to help me stay focused on the here and now.
  4. Find Balance…I set out to find balance more with the emotions that I direct at myself than other parts of my life. Thanks in part to my Living Brave Semester with Brene Brown, I have been doing a much better job of focusing in on how I am feeling, why I am feeling a certain way, giving myself permission to be human, and how to forgive myself for being human and making mistakes.

Did you set goals or intentions for yourself for 2016? If so, have you checked in with these goals or intentions lately? What progress are you making toward achieving your goals or intentions?

15 thoughts on “2016 Intentions Check In #1

  1. Set goals for time to break for the Half Ironman distance and Olympic distance triathlons. I have my first bike TT in 14 days to found out if I am on track or need to alter some training.

  2. Great read, and I wonder why we have to be so hard on ourselves. We can be so mean to us, when we would never be like that to a complete stranger. Compassion for ourselves is a good thing! That’s something I’ve been working on the last few years…some days successfully, some days not.
    I guess I set goals for myself – the athletic ones, but I’m not sure of the others since I was concentrating so much on IMFL then the Boston qualification. I think a good one for me is to reconnect and just be with my husband and kids, present, instead of exhausted all the time as I have been. I’m really looking forward to that! Otherwise, it’s to kick butt in my 70.3 in October and work on being healthier overall!
    Good job, you, and I so wish I could ride my bike with y’all!!!

    1. Thanks lady!! I try to think, “what would I say to someone else in my position,” but it is so hard to be self compassionate. I wish it were as easy as being compassionate for others.
      Reconnecting and being present are great goals and I hope you have lots of fun with your family as a result!! Oh, and I know you’ll kick serious butt on your 70.3 in October!!
      I wish you could ride with us too!! When you come home next, you’ll have to bring your bike 😉

  3. I have already made my goal for the year… Kinda. I’m already as fast as I was last year and I’m in much better shape already. I’ve got a lot of riding to do but things are definitely good. Good luck on yours!

  4. I’ve been working hard on staying present and this month has been very successful! When I find my mind drifting I think “be here, now” and think of something positive right away. It sounds corny, but I’ve felt a lot happier.

    1. I’m so glad you’re finding success, Amy!! I definitely could take a dose of this “medicine” to keep me present and in the moment. 😉

  5. That’s awesome you have already surpassed the FTP you had during Ironman Boulder. You’ll only get stronger from here. Is the bike your big focus this year? For me, I feel like I can make the most gains on the bike, then run. Swimming is what it is…

    1. The bike course at Wisconsin is very technical and where I can make the most ground. I’m also looking to cut some time from my run. The bike and run are definitely where I can make up the most ground as well.

  6. Sounds great!! You are really working those intentions!!
    I’m not sure that I ever really decided on goals for this year. Is that bad? I really am gunning for a PR in Wisconsin that is my biggest goal. Training is going well. I just have to keep it up and stay uninjured!! 🙂

    1. There is nothing wrong with not setting goals for yourself!! The Iron Hippie rarely has goals for himself, but focuses more on being happy. As long as you’re happy, that is all that matters!! I’m so glad training is going well!! Stay injury-free and enjoy the ride 🙂

  7. I was totally nodding along with Believe and Be Present. I think I will always need to work on believing in myself, and my brain is hardly ever in the present. We’ll get there!
    I made some pretty specific goals at the beginning of this year, and I’m ridiculously proud to say that I’ve checked in on them every month so far! #goalgeek

    1. Way to go with your goal check ins this year!! You rock!! I don’t know why we are always so much harder on ourselves than we would be on someone else, but that is part of my “believe” pit fall.

Leave a Reply

