What’s Up?! – March 2016

Oops!! Where did the month of March go?!?! This was supposed to have been posted yesterday, BUT life took hold. “What’s Up?!” is going to be my new spin on “Currently” to update you on what I’ve been up to for the month. “What’s Up?!” is a phrase I often hear in the middle school setting, so I feel it is the perfect way to keep you updated each month.

Celebrating:

My birthday! It was a very fun day full of friends…both new and old. Crazy to think this is my last trip around the sun in my 30s!!

Starting my day with my main squeeze and a new friend in the burbs of Chicago!
Starting my day with my main squeeze and a new friend in the burbs of Chicago!

Training:

I started March with an FTP test that I saw HUGE improvements on!! My normalized power was up 12 watts from peak Ironman Boulder training in 2015…I was grinning from ear to ear after this test!! Not only did I see improvements in the numbers, but also on my performance during the test…I believed in myself and didn’t make excuses. It was da bomb!!

FTP test results...My normalized power was 189 watts...this was 12 watts higher than peak Ironman Boulder training in 2015!!
FTP test results…My normalized power was 189 watts…this was 12 watts higher than peak Ironman Boulder training in 2015!!

After my FTP test, my training been a roller coaster ride. I started out the month on a high note, but week 2 found my training plummeting. Week 3 I was on Spring Break and had a very successful week of training, but last week followed it up with a week of more sleep. So far this week has been back on the upswing. I hope to ride this upswing for a while!

Recovery swim, but I had more fun playing with my new GoPro after my swim!!
Recovery swim, but I had more fun playing with my new GoPro after my swim!!
2 hours & 45 minutes in the saddle = LOTS of sweat!!
2 hours & 45 minutes in the saddle = LOTS of sweat!!
Family run off the bike!
Run off the bike with my two faves!

Learning:

I have been learning a lot about myself in the Living Brave Semester…my feelings, why I have them, how I react to them, giving myself permission to be human, and forgiving myself when I make mistakes. Teaching an old dog new tricks isn’t easy, but it will be worth it when these changes are no longer “new.”

change takes courage

Loving:

I finally received my SparkNotebook and L.O.V.E. LOVE IT!! I love how it provides me a place to keep track of my week (like a planner), set weekly goals, reflect on my previous week, set monthly goals, reflect on my monthly goals, answer guiding questions each week to help me be a better person/educator/athlete/etc. As someone who thrives on organization, the SparkNotebook has been the perfect tool to add to my life!!

IMG_8641

I got a GoPro for my birthday and I’m LOVING taking pictures from new angles and in the pool!! Now…I just need to get more creative with my shots 😉

Cadence work on Easter Sunday with my fave!
Cadence work on Easter Sunday with my fave!

Looking Forward To:

SPRING. SUNSHINE. WARMER TEMPERATURES. I am ready for Mother Nature to bless us with these; after all, the calendar does say spring now. 😉

How was the month of March for you? What are you looking forward to?

6 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – March 2016

  1. Yes!! I can’t believe its April already!! Looks like the biking is continuing to improve!! Awesome!!! Are you using the spark journal and believe journal now or just using the spark journal now? or maybe the spark journal is more a “life” journal?
    Excited for spring for sure!!!!

    1. I use the Spark Notebook more as my life planner and the Believe Training Journal as my my workout log. I can’t wait to get outside and ride…come on spring!! 😊

  2. Sounds like a good month. Congrats on your FTP test – that is exciting!
    We had a gorgeous weekend here and it felt like spring (or early summer). I rode outside without a vest or armwarmers which was glorious!

  3. Yay, you got a GoPro! I love mine. I really want to upgrade to the Hero4, but I’m sure they will come up with a new version next year. How are you liking it?

    March was a bit meh for me. Training was up and down, and the weather was crappy for the most part. I’m looking forward to April… it’s already warm and sunny!

    1. I love the GoPro. I feel like I need a class to learn good shots and all of the ins and outs of it. It is definitely fun to capture moments that make me happy!! I’m ready for May. I just want the end of the school year and summer weather to get here. Mother Nature seems to be bipolar in central Iowa anyway. One day it is so cold you’d think it is January all over again and the next day it is almost 80F. I’m ready for more consistent weather to go with our training.

Leave a Reply

