21 weeks ’til #IMWI: Thank you Mother Nature

After lots of resistance last week,ย I was determined get my train back on its tracks this week…life, stress, work, training…everything fell together wonderfully!! By the middle of the week, we finally had BEAUTIFUL weather for outdoor activities. I was so excited to be outside in shorts and tanks!! Thank you Mother Nature!!

Monday:

We woke up at 4 am, planted our feet on the floor, and then crawled back in bed. The Iron Hippie needed more sleep. We did agree we would complete both of our workouts after work to get 2 more hours of shut eye. After a full day of work, I met a personal training client, buzzed home for an easy 1 hour ride, and ended the day with 1 hour of strength work at the gym. We were in bed a little later than normal, but we made it work.

DCIM100GOPROG0010917.

IMG_9212
My Coeur Sports gear arrived and Basil DEFINITELY approves!!

Tuesday:

We woke up at 4:30 am and headed to the pool to get in 3000 yards before work. After a full day of work, I met with another personal training client before going to campus for an hour run. We were supposed to do a track workout, but all of the local tracks were occupied with track practice so we opted to run fartleks instead.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0936.
Who’s that sea turtle in the background?!
DCIM100GOPROG0030986.
Nearly stride for stride through campus.

Wednesday:

We woke up at 4 am and had a great 90 minute bike session before work. I love waking up to intervals on the bike! It usually means lots of sweat ๐Ÿ™‚ After a full day of work, I headed to the pool for a VERY challenging 2800 yard swim. I completed the 8x150s and 8x50s, but I seriously struggled with every stroke. It was at this point that I was SO hungry I didn’t know if I could finish the swim. Thankfully my dark chocolate covered Barnanas saved me. As I sat on the edge of the pool eating these delicious bites, I began to cry in my goggles. Why have myย swims been so hard lately? Why am I not getting faster? I think I’m doing what Coach Hansen told me to. I got back in the water and completed my swim. It wasn’t pretty, but it was done. When I got home, I texted Coach Hansen and told him about my meltdown on the edge of the pool. He responded with, “We WILL get this down. Don’t get frustrated. It will all be good!”

DCIM100GOPROG0031095.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1239.

Thursday:

Thursday mornings we typically get to sleep in, which is AWESOME! After a full day of work, I met a personal training client, before heading home for a quick easy hour on the bike before teaching TRX. It was a beautiful day…one where I wish we could have ridden on the open roads, but we took advantage of the weather as best we could by riding on the trainer in the backyard.

DCIM100GOPROG0021232.

Friday:

Typically we do our Friday recovery swim after work, but I had a massage scheduled for after work, so it was another early morning swim today. I decided not to fight the water this morning, not focus on my times, and just swim. It was the best swim I had all week, but that isn’t saying much ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was really looking forward to my massage after work, but unfortunately my massage therapist came down with the flu and had to cancel ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I used this time to run errands that we typically do on Saturday, Friday after work instead. The Iron Hippie and I enjoyed a yummy meal out at one of our favorite Mexican restaurants and hit the hay early. We even commented that most of the college students probably weren’t going to get to the bars for another hour or two, and here we were going to bed. Ha!! Ha!!

DCIM100GOPROG0021283.

Saturday:

Itย felt amazing to sleep in on a Saturday morning! When we finally did get up, we did some food prep for the week, cleaned up the house, did some laundry, and changed our bike tires for outdoor riding before heading to the pool at 11 am. We were supposed to have another swim analysis with Coach Hansen, but we had a miscommunication on the time, so it has been rescheduled for this coming week. It was just enough time for the Iron Hippie and me to get a short swim in and play in the water. We headed home, refueled, changed and headed out on the open roads for an awesome 50 mile ride! We fought the 26 mph headwinds for the first 23 miles, but when we turned around, it was totally worth the hard effort at the beginning of the ride! When we wheeled into the driveway, I quickly transitioned to a 30 minute run. I had a lot of motivating thoughts running through my head on this run, and knocked out one of my fastest runs so far this year…I was super stoked about this!! This also made my first “triathlon” of the season, even if there were some REALLY long transition times between swimming and cycling ๐Ÿ˜‰

DCIM100GOPROG0051473.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1550.

IMG_9847

IMG_9862

IMG_9864

Sunday:

We woke up early to complete 30 minutes of core strengthening before our brick workout. We hadย a tough 90 minutes of climbing in and out of the saddle before transitioning to a 13 mile run. My legs were trashed by the end of this workout. Thankfully we had all afternoon to recover…refueling, epsom salt bath, compression sleeves, legs up a wall, a little shut eye, and then some froyo ๐Ÿ˜‰

DCIM100GOPROG0011560.

DCIM100GOPROG0051685.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1707.

IMG_0027

Weekly Totals: 17 hours and 15 minutes…YES!! My train is back on its tracks!!

Swim: 8400 yards
Bike: 117 miles
Run: 23.2 miles
Strength Training: 2 hours and 15 minutes

Quote of the week:

“Follow your heart and don’t get influenced by external factors.” ~unknown

How was your week? Has Mother Nature blessed you with good weather for outdoor activities?

18 thoughts on “21 weeks ’til #IMWI: Thank you Mother Nature

  1. What a great week! Good job on not letting the little things throw you off your game.

    Last week was a rotten week for me. The senior dog I helped care for daily since Sept passed away and that put me into a bit of a tailspin. No exercise, poor eating, poor (too much) drinking choices…now my stomach is just a mess and I haven’t been feeling well for nearly a week. I must get my act together to start feeling better.

    1. Thanks lady! Sorry for your loss. I know how those negative experiences can put us in a downward spiral. I hope you find your way off that merry-go-round soon!! *hugs*

      1. Thanks Kecia-I just did an hour of relaxation yoga to get the week off to a good, and peaceful, start.

  2. That is a VERY solid week! I’m super impressed with the time that you are already putting into training – those are big training numbers. What’s good (in a sense) about those rough weeks is that we then appreciate the solid training weeks so much more. And way to rock your Coeur apparel!

    1. Somedays I only have a short amount of time to squeeze in a ride, so the trainer gives me the most time in the saddle without dealing with the hassle of the open roads. I much prefer the open roads most days, but I do love a really hard session on the trainer also ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Whoop whoop! Putting in the work, and getting the train on track!
    I am right there with you on swim frustration. I had been seeing some good progress and then stagnated. Just keep keeping on….the work will pay off!

Leave a Reply

