What’s Up?! – April 2016

It is hard to believe that we only have 4 more weeks of school before summer break! Where has the time gone?! April has been a whirlwind, but here is what I’ve been up to:

Training:

Hello Spring!! I’ve missed you!! I’m so glad you’ve shown up so I can FINALLY get outside for more of my workouts!! Although today, the weather has turned back to cold, rainy, and gloomy for the weekend. As a matter of fact, the predicted weather for tomorrow morning’s Drake 1/2 Marathon race is 44F with 25 mph winds and 95% chance of rain. Oh…what to wear?! I have had some good training weeks (here and here) and lots of fun in the process!! We recently did a century ride. Why?! Because we could…no other reason. It wasn’t planned, it wasn’t on the calendar, it just kind of happened. It definitely wasn’t our fastest century ride, but the first century ride of 2016 is in the books!

IMG_0348

Running has been going well. Little by little, I have been seeing improvements in my run times off of the bike. I am hoping this continues.

DCIM100GOPROG0030986.

Training hasn’t been all peaches and cream. I have been getting some swim coaching, and it has been challenging. Tough. Uncomfortable. I am hoping that one day soon the uncomfortable becomes comfortable, but until then, I will keep working hard and hope that one day (hopefully soon) I will have a swim stroke as beautiful and efficient as Michael Phelps.

Swim Analysis
Where is my catch?!
DCIM100GOPROG0051473.
Playing in the pool…trying to keep things fun!

Reading:

Elite Minds: Creating the Competitive Advantage by Stan Beecham is a really easy read that gives insight into the process of developing a world-class mind in business and sport. I’m learning how fear is holding me back, what I can do to overcome this fear, and that I can’t do it on my own. I consider myself to be a very independent person and often try to achieve success on my own. I’m learning that I can’t achieve success without the help and support of others. It is good to ask for and receive help! It is not a sign of weakness. It is time for me to change my mindset! Success is also important on overcoming my fears. It is time to figure out why those fears exist and overcome those fears aside to achieve dreams and success!

Inspired By:

Brene Brown is a researcher + storyteller who studies vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame. I’ve been taking her Living Brave Semester coursework since January. I can’t even begin to share how much I’ve learned, how much I’ve grown, and how sad I am going to be when this class is over. If you haven’t been exposed to Brene’s work, I highly recommend you watch this Ted Talk or read this article.

Courage

Loving:

All of the fun new Coeur Sports designs in the triathlon and cycling gear! Hello #stylishspeed and #noangrykitty in amazing and fun designs!!

IMG_9862
Crew Design
DCIM100GOPROG0021232.
Mixed Tape Design
DCIM100GOPROG0051685.
Hapuna Design

Looking Forward To:

With only 4 more weeks of school, I am definitely looking forward to summer break. Being a school teacher doesn’t have many perks, but the summer off is a definite perk that I look forward to every year!

What new reads do you recommend? What are you loving right now? What are you looking forward to?

6 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – April 2016

  1. I’m so happy you’re seeing running improvements and hope that you had a little bit of fun at the half even though the weather was rotten. These last few weeks have been a bumpy for me, but I’m starting to snap out of it. I put myself together a simple 10 week metric century plan to give me something to work on-now I just have to get my butt ON the bike to make it happen 🙂

  2. Hope that you had a good race today, despite the weather. I feel your pain – I almost bailed on a half-marathon because of the weather (I’m definitely still a “Californian” weather-wise!). Good luck surviving the end of the school year – yay for summer!

    1. Thanks Kristina! It was a good race, but Mother Nature wasn’t very kind to us. We thought about bailing, but decided to tough it out. It was quite the adventure and I’m glad we raced 😊

  3. Great month!! Very excited that spring is in the air!! Glad your running has been good!! I have yet to do a brick or transition run…hopefully soon!! 🙂 I”m so jealous you have the summer off!!! I need to be a teacher!! 😉

    1. Thanks Leslie! After some cold spring weather lately, I’m ready for it to warm up again, and hopefully stick around. Summers off is an advantage, but I wouldn’t recommend a career change just for that. 😉

Leave a Reply

