16 weeks ’til #IMWI: work, work, work

The theme of last week was definitely work. Not the kind of hard work you put into your training, but the long hours put into your job that can be mentally draining. I came to the realization that working 55 hours and only exercising 3 hours in a week is MUCH more exhausting than working 40 hours and exercising 18 hours! Thankfully last week was a planned recovery week, there are only 5 days left of school with the students, grades were due this morning, and there is little grading left to do for this coming week. I am beyond grateful for the help and support of the Iron Hippie, especially during weeks when I have a few extra balls that I am trying to juggle!

Monday:

Today was a rest day! After the really big training week last week, we knew we would be taking today off of exercise and our bodies were thankful for the rest. Today was a really long day at work, so when I came home, I hibernated in the bedroom listening to TedTalks, reading, and trying to relax for most of the evening.

IMG_1417

Tuesday:

We did not have a morning workout planned, so we slept in. After a full day of work, I decided it would be best to skip my evening workout and spend my evening grading. Not ideal, but I had a LOT of grading that needed to be done. Thankfully the Iron Hippie ran some errands for me so I could keep working through dinner.

Wednesday:

We woke up early for a 75 minute sweatfest on the bike. Intervals, #bikelove, and #solesistasweat was the perfect combination to start my day! After another long day of work, I came home to another evening of grading. When the end of the school year is near, there can be a lot of grading to do.

DCIM100GOPROG0022891.

Thursday:

I had more grading to do, so I arrived at school at 6 am to start another long day at school. The students were testing their solar ovens outside today. It is fun to spend the day outside, but lack of structure is sometimes hard for the students, which means a lot of additional “classroom” management required of me. I was exhausted by the end of the day. I came home and continued to work for my part time jobs (writing fitness articles for our local paper and teaching TRX for our Parks and Rec department). After teaching TRX, we had an unplanned visit from some close friends. It was fun to have them just stop by unannounced!

Friday:

With the students doing their egg drop today and more grading to do, I got to work at 6 am again to set up for the egg drop and get as much grading done before students arrived as possible. Another day out of the classroom, meant another long and draining day of having to be mentally “on” all day. After school, I came home and continued to grade and post grades until 7 pm. I was FINALLY caught up on all the grading and it felt AMAZING!! Having worked 55 hours and only exercising 2 hours this week, I decided it was time to relax and let my mind go somewhere else for a while.

IMG_1483

Saturday:

I was able to sleep in this morning with nothing on the schedule, so I took complete advantage of it! At about 7:30 am, I finally planted my feet to the floor and decided to start my day. I paid bills, balanced the checkbook (am I the only one who still does this?!), ran a bunch of errands, did some house chores, picked up my race packet (did I mention I am doing my first duathlon EVER tomorrow?!), and read some more of my book while the Iron Hippie worked some overtime hours. We went to a high school graduation celebration in the evening, then spent the rest of the evening getting ready for my duathlon in the morning.

Sunday:

I’ll have a more detailed race recap for you on my duathlon, but let’s just say I had a BLAST doing what I love, had a podium finish, and got to race with my #solesister…WIN!! After the race, it was all about refueling. I followed this up with some girl time with a friend, some down time at home, and regrouping for the coming week.

#solesistersweat and a podium finish at my first ever duathlon
#solesistersweat and a podium finish at my first ever duathlon

Weekly Totals: 3 hours & 25 minutes (Never mind the 55 hours at work…that was so much more draining!!)

Swim: Nothing, Zilch, Nada 😦
Bike: 33.5 miles
Run: 4.0 miles
Strength Training: 45 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“All work and no play is not good for the soul.” ~Felix Sabates

13 thoughts on “16 weeks ’til #IMWI: work, work, work

  1. WOW! That’s a lot of work. Our kids haven’t even taken the end of year tests yet – yup, almost three weeks left here in NC. I’m looking forward to hearing about the duathlon! Congrats on a podium 🙂 Now get back to those grades!

    1. It was a LOT of work, but grades are done!! Whoop whoop!! I’m really glad we don’t have 3 weeks left. I’ll have the du post up later this week 😉

  2. Awesome week! And 55 hours at work on top of it all. Yikes.

    Looking forward to hearing what you think of the book. I read it earlier this year and really enjoyed it, but I had friends who were not pleased with it.

    1. Thanks! It was a stressful work week, but thankfully that means the end of the school year is here and I just have to get through these 5 days.

      I finished the book on Saturday. I thought it was really good, but not at all what I was expecting. It is fun to read books like that 🙂

  3. I have many friends that are educators and I don’t know HOW you people do it! My hat is off to you-it is a tough job. Congrats on getting through a long work week and managing to keep your sanity intact.

    1. There are many days I question my sanity and wonder why I stay in education, but then the students answer that by learning something new, doing something great, or just being amazing kids! There are only 5 more days with kids, so the real countdown is on 😉

  4. I agree with Felix. What is this “rest week” thing you write of from time to time? I understand the words when they’re alone but lump them together and it’s like white noise to my melon.

  5. Sometimes our work/life balance gets out of wack, but as long as it happens occasionally, we can suck it up! As least you were very well rested for race day!

    1. It is something I am willing to do on occasion. Thankfully I only have 3 more days with students and 2 without them after today, so I can see the light at the end of the tunnel for this school year 😉 I was REALLY well rested for my race!

  6. Whenever I have a busy week of grading and the work piles up, I always designate it a recovery week. Those long hour at work can be mentally exhausting and it’s depleting to try and train AND get all the work done. When I train hard, I like to do so on a “normal week.” It sounds like we are similar in that the first thing to go on the training list is swimming. I always make time for the bike and run…primarily because they can be done any time of day and from my house. Swimming requires so much additional time and effort.

    1. I completely agree Kristen!! Training while being mentally exhausted from work and grading is so hard and swimming is even more challenging to get done. Thankfully today is our last day of school, so I can train when I want all summer long 😉

Leave a Reply

