12 weeks ’til #IMWI: race week + travel

The focus for this week…Milkman 70.3 Triathlon + more travel!!

Monday:

After finally getting caught up on sleep from my DC trip, I woke up, cleaned the house, ran a couple of errands, packed, and loaded the car to head to Mom and Dad’s for a couple of days. Thankfully the Iron Hippie had some comp time to burn before the end of June and was able to go with me on this short trip. We encountered some pretty severe storms on the trip northwest. After getting to Mom and Dad’s we grabbed some dinner, chatted with Mom (Dad was on a work trip) and hit the hay.

Tuesday:

We woke up with intentions of running, but it was POURING rain with thunder and lightening, so we waited it out and ran later than we originally planned. Thankfully there was a break in the rain so we could run and swim with our twin nieces before the next round of storms came through. This time Mother Nature wasn’t so forgiving. We had tornadoes go through the area shortly after we arrived at the public library with the twins. Thankfully one of their 1st grade teachers and her dog were at the library promoting Puppy Tales (a reading program in the schools where the children read to dogs), so the twins cuddled in for some reading and puppy snuggles during the storms. When we returned back to Mom and Dad’s we found the only damage was a lot of debris everywhere and a tree that was uprooted and fell away from the house. Mother Nature helped them save money, because they were going to have this Ash tree taken down later this year anyway because of the ash borer.

Running with the Iron Hippie around lake Okoboji...being on the water makes my heart happy!!
Running with the Iron Hippie around lake Okoboji…being on the water makes my heart happy!!
Swimming with the nieces between storms.
Swimming with the nieces between storms.
Sitting in the shelter at the public library with the nieces, Isabella's teacher, and her classroom dog, A
Sitting in the shelter at the public library with the nieces, Isabella’s teacher, and her classroom dog, Anders
Uprooted ash tree in my parent's backyard.
Uprooted ash tree in my parent’s backyard.

Wednesday:

We woke up, packed the car and traveled home. We arrived home just in time for our pre-race massages and dinner with our neighbors.

Prerace massage
Prerace massage

Thursday:

This was the only full day this week that I’d be home, so I did some house chores, went for a ride with my sole sister, packed for race weekend, went for our first open water swim of the season, and taught TRX.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4678.

IMG_3657

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4690.

Friday:

After taking the dogs to the farm for a long weekend, I went to Kyle’s Bikes to get a blessing of the bikes before our race! Kyle takes such good care of us! I am forever grateful to have the best bike mechanic ever in my corner!! ๐Ÿ™‚ When I got home, I loaded the car just in time for the Iron Hippie to come home from work so we could hit the road for Madison. It is about a 4 hour drive to Madison and the car knows the way ๐Ÿ˜‰ When we arrived, we went straight to packet pick up and the athlete meeting for the Milkman 70.3 Triathlon before heading to our host home (thanks to my dear friend Chris for hosting us this weekend) and getting dinner at the Great Dane in Fitchburg.

IMG_3662

IMG_3663

IMG_3668

Saturday:

We went to Olin Park for a morning swim in Lake Monona, where I met one of my Coeur Sports teammates, Jenn!! She is so inspiring and her weight loss journey is AMAZING!! After our swim, the Iron Hippie and I grabbed breakfast at Marigold Kitchen (one of the best places on the square in Madison) before driving the bike course for the race. We then returned to our host home to shower and get our bike and gear ready for the race. After we dropped off our bikes in transition, we hit the grocery store so we could make some home cooking for our evening meal. We spent the afternoon/evening eating food and watching movies with our feet up. It was the perfect pre-race afternoon/evening!!

IMG_3678

IMG_3679

IMG_3680

IMG_3688

IMG_3689

Sunday:

Today was race day!! I was a bit nervous going into this race since I had a very unconventional taper and it was supposed to be a hot summer day. I typically don’t do well with heat, but I knew if I altered my race plans and raced more conservatively, I would finish. I was so blessed to get to meet up with Jenn and Mandy (both Coeur Sports teammates) before the start of our day. They are both such amazing, fun, and inspiring women!! To give you a taste of our day, it was HOT…92F hot by the end ofย my “run.” I’ll have a complete post on myย race experience later this week ๐Ÿ˜‰ After the race, we relaxed with friends in the shade for a bit before heading back to our host home for a shower, air conditioning, pizza for dinner, and more movie watching with the feet up.

IMG_3692

_DFR4611
Thanks for the free race photos Milkman Triathlon!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Weekly Totals: 9:23 (these totals include my race distances and times)

Swim: 3168 yards
Bike: 75.1 miles
Run: 17.1 miles
Strength Training: none

Quote of the Week:

“Courage over comfort”…my mantra

How do youย alter your race plans due to an unconventional taper or weather?

6 thoughts on “12 weeks ’til #IMWI: race week + travel

  1. It sure looks like you’re running in that last picture ๐Ÿ™‚ What a scorcher of a day, but I’m happy you survived! It was freezing cold and pouring down rain at the start of the Banff Marathon-the weather did improve as the day went on. I’m really looking forward reading about your race. ps. this may come up with a new name since I signed back into word press and am *considering* starting a new blog as I start cycling adventures and count down to 40.

    1. I had a run/walk method, so I was running in this picture, but definitely not the whole race. I would have liked some of those cooler temps, although probably not cold. I’m hoping to have the race recap up on Thursday. I can’t wait for you to share your new adventures!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

