What’s Up?! – June 2016

June has been a CrAzY month!!

Travel:

I love to travel, but June was a bit much in such a short amount of time…Shortly after the school year ended, I helped chaperone 26 eighth grade students to Washington D.C. It was a great adventure and we covered SO MUCH territory in only 4 days! One day after returning home, the Iron Hippie and I went to visit my parents for a few days. It was great to spend time with family! One day after returning home (yet again), we loaded the car and went to Madison for race weekend. You can read about my travels here and here. So much travel made for a very unconventional taper!

IMG_2878

Swimming with the nieces between storms.
Swimming with the nieces between storms.

IMG_3688

Racing:

On Father’s Day, I raced the inaugural Wisconsin Milkman 70.3 Triathlon. It was a hot race, and I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped, but I did the best that I could on that day. You can read more about my race here.

Thanks for the free race photos!!
Thanks for the free race photos!!

Ladies Night:

We finally had our first ladies only bike night! It was AWESOME!! Thanks so much to Coeur Sports and Kyle’s Bikes for their support to help make this event successful!! Yay for encouraging more women in cycling, helping them gain confidence on their bike and on the roads, and helping them learn basic bike maintenance!! I’m looking forward to ladies night #2 on Monday, July 11 at 5:30 pm (location to be determined), so local ladies…mark your calendars!!

We made it to Slater!

Reading:

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance by Angela Duckworth…Angela Duckworth is a psychologist who shows anyone striving to succeed that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.” Among Grit’s most valuable insights:

  • Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal
  • How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances
  • How lifelong interest is triggered
  • How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy
  • Which is better for your child—a warm embrace or high standards
  • The magic of the Hard Thing Rule

This is a must read for anyone wanting to become better at something…anything…work, family, hobbies, life!!

The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean my Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin…Gretchen Rubin documents her adventures during the twelve months she spent trying to become happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference. Gretchen has some great ideas, which makes this is a must read for anyone looking for more happiness in their life…doesn’t that mean everyone?!

Carrie Cheadle’s blog post Your Best Race Ever: Top 8 Tools for Mental Toughness has great tips for training and racing with mental toughness in mind. Obstacles are challenging, but these tools can help us reinforce/develop the “never give up” mentality and overcome challenges presented to us while staying committed to our goals.

Training:

Training has been hit or miss this month…mostly due to travel and racing. The first week of June I saw a lot of green in training peaks…then it was time to travel for 2 weeks. I did what I could knowing that I would have a race at the end of this 2 week time period. After my race, I was drained…probably a combination of all the travel + hot race day conditions which I was NOT acclimated to. I recovered well last week, and am ready to hit the ground running for this next build period of our training! I’m looking forward to more time at home in July and more consistency in my training!! I thrive off of consistency!!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4690.
First OWS of the season with my fave!
DCIM100GOPROGOPR4678.
Getting some saddle time with my sole sister!!
Running with the Iron Hippie around lake Okoboji...being on the water makes my heart happy!!
Running with the Iron Hippie around lake Okoboji…being on the water makes my heart happy!!

Meeting:

I LOVE TRIATHLON! No surprise, right?! I love to swim, I love to bike, I love to run! I love to push myself to my limits! I love meeting people who inspire and encourage me everyday! I was blessed to meet two of my Coeur Sports teammates in Madison at the Wisconsin Milkman 70.3 Triathlon!

Jenn, myself, and Mandy representing Coeur Sports and ready to race!
Jenn, myself, and Mandy representing Coeur Sports and ready to race!

How has June treated you? What were your least favorite parts of the month? What were your faves? Consistency or Spontaneity…which do you prefer?

10 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – June 2016

  1. That sounds like an exhausting month! My June was too busy as well and I’m just starting to catch up on my rest. I have a massage scheduled tonight that I booked weeks ago-I’m so excited. My July will be about family and finally getting around to planning a couple of long bike rides.

    1. It was an exhausting month! I’m glad it is behind me! Yay for massages, family, and long bike rides!! I’m so glad you’ve found bike love I this transition period!! 💜

      1. Thanks! Sweet C and I had an AWESOME bike at the sprint over the weekend-I never once felt nervous or hesitant to push as hard as I could. We picked off around 15 other athletes in only 20km! Of course, half of them hunted me down on the run, but that’s ok 🙂

    1. I think we will be up there that weekend, but don’t know if we will do what they have planned. I can’t wait to see you you like the book!!

      1. I’ll let you know, but it looks like we will be there the last weekend of July and most likely riding long on Friday. If love to meet up!! 😊

Leave a Reply

