9 weeks ’til #IMWI: do the work

Monday:

Monday was a day of rest. We enjoyed some Independence Day festivities, took a nap, had dinner with our neighbors at their house, and LOVED the cooler weather we were blessed with!

Tuesday:

We started the day with a 3100 meter swim on the long course at the pool. I was tired from the weekend’s long workouts, but still had a really decent swim despite my tired legs. It was a beautiful morning for a swim!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4943.

After teaching a fitness class at 9 am and working with a client at 10 am, I came home to run 1 hour of hills…not hill repeats, just a hilly run. When I set out for this run, the heat index was 97F, so I sweat…A LOT!

DCIM100GOPROG0014963.

I refueled and then went to the gym for an hour of strength training. It was quiet at the gym, which was nice to have my own space.

The evening was filled with picking up our CSA, making dinner, and having our neighbors over for stuffed peppers.

IMG_4049

Wednesday:

There were storms in the morning, so we opted to sleep in and not go swim. It felt good to get an extra 2 hours of sleep! I met with a personal training client late morning. I was scheduled to swim, but just didn’t have it in me today, so I ate lunch, took a short nap, and got our gear ready to ride after the Iron Hippie got off work. It was another HOT day…heat index of 98F when we started riding, but thankfully we generated our own breeze since there wasn’t much wind. There weren’t many people out on the trails, which made for a great 3 hour ride!

IMG_4057

Thursday:

I taught a fitness class at 9 am, met with a personal training client at 10 am, came home to eat, and then went to swim on the short course. I’m so glad I moved this swim from yesterday…it was a good swim!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4978.

While running a couple of errands on my way home, my car battery died. Thankfully I was only a 1/2 mile from home, so I walked home. I completed my brick (75 min bike intervals + 15 min run) in the heat of the day…the heat index was 93F, which wasn’t as hot as the last couple of days, but it was still hot!

IMG_4070

After showering, a friend helped me get my car to the shop so they could change the battery, rotate my tires, and change the oil while they had it. I rounded out my evening by teaching TRX, eating dinner, and relaxing a bit before bed.

Friday:

I started my day with an EASY hour on the bike. It felt GREAT to have an easy spin to start my day.

DCIM100GOPROG0035057.

I met a personal training client late morning, and taught TRX before going to the shop to pick up my car. After lunch I took the dogs for a walk, and went to the pool to for an easy swim, which took a LOT of #grit to show up and do the work today.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR5106.

I rounded out the evening with grill food for dinner, doing laundry, preparing for tomorrow’s brick, and relaxing a bit before bed.

Saturday:

We woke up at 6 am, ate breakfast, cleaned the house up, and procrastinated the start of our 5 hour brick. Boy was that a mistake! By the time the rubber hit the road, it was just after 10 am. It was a beautiful, sunny day with virtually no wind. This was great for our bike ride, but not so great for the run.

IMG_4080

IMG_4082

Because we started later in the day, we didn’t get done until around 3:30 pm. After unloading our gear, cleaning up, refueling, and eating dinner with our neighbor, we hopped on the bikes to ride downtown to cheer on the athletes running the local 5K & 10K races. There was quite the turnout despite the heat. I was overjoyed to see so many young kids running the 5K!! #activeyouth

IMG_4083

We got home at about 9 pm, regrouped for tomorrow’s workout and hit the pillow for a good night’s sleep.

Sunday:

We woke up at 6 am, ate breakfast, and let the rubber hit the road for our planned 5 hour brick shortly after 7 am. We checked the radar before we left and knew we would be cutting it close to get the whole brick complete before Mother Nature blessed us with some much needed rain (of course in the form of severe weather), so we had a neighbor on standby to come and pick us up if needed. We easily got the first 20 miles in and then checked the radar and my Dark Sky app again…”rain starting in 40 minutes”…we will keep going and see where we end up. We were able to out cycle the storm for about 3 hours (which was much longer than the predicted 40 minutes…since we kept moving farther south away from the storms). We did not get rained on, but decided to call it quits when thunder and lightning started to close in on us. I’m not opposed to riding in the rain, but I’m not going to ride in lightning. Not quite the 4 hours that was planned, but better than nothing.

Look at those storms coming!!
Look at those storms coming!!
Keep riding away from the storms!!
Keep riding away from the storms!!

It wasn’t even 5 minutes after we pulled into the Casey’s where George was going to pick us up, that the sky’s opened up and the rain fell…hard! Thank you George for coming to get us and letting us get almost 3 hours in the saddle!

When we got home and unloaded our gear, I changed into dry clothes, ate some food, and then set out for my “brick” run. Since it wasn’t directly off the bike, I’m not sure it counts as a brick run, but it was the best we could do with the conditions we had for today. It was VERY humid and warm as the sun started to make its appearance. When this hour run was done, I was SPENT and thankful my body held up for another solid week of training.

Bring on the recovery week…but first fires, grilling food over the fire pit, and s’mores!

Our neighbor cooking food over the fire :)
Our neighbor cooking food over the fire 🙂

Weekly Totals: 19 hours & 52 minutes

Swim: 7760 yards
Bike: 192 miles
Run: 20 miles
Strength Training: 1 hour & 45 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“Just do the damn work.” ~Bruce Gemmell

11 thoughts on “9 weeks ’til #IMWI: do the work

  1. What a great and motivating post to wake up to this morning! You really did put in the work last week 😀 I’ve decided to take your previous week’s theme and focus on consistency this week. My fitness/eating has been all over the place for the last 6 weeks and I’m not feeling awesome. Have a great week!

    1. Thanks Amy! I’m mentally and physically ready for a recovery week this week. I’m glad you’re going to focus on consistency this week. It definitely helps keep me going in the right direction 😉 Have a fantabulous week!!

  2. Busy week and you are having some toasty weather like we are. Yikes!!! Good thing you have the summer off! Sounds like the grill has been to go to lately! Yum!!

    1. We have a slight break in the toasty weather until Monday, but this next week is supposed to be even worse than it has been. I hope you are finding a way to stay cool! The grill is always our go to in the summers…keep the heat outside and make yummy goodness!! 😉

Leave a Reply

