2 weeks ’til #IMWI: back to reality

This week’s theme…back to reality! Since it was my first full week back at school (3 days of which was with kids), it was definitely back to reality.

Monday:

We slept in since we had been up later than planned on Sunday. After a full day of work (including meetings and work in my classroom), we had our last women’s only ride for 2016. Sadly our numbers were very low for this ride, but with the higher numbers we had earlier this year, I’m confident next year we will have even more women join us! After our ride, we went to my sole sister’s house for dinner before heading home, getting ready for Tuesday, and crawling in bed.

IMG_5645
The shadows are getting longer in the evenings 😦

Tuesday:

We got up at 5 am to start pounding the pavement. After 75 minutes of running hills, we got ready for the day. Thankfully I had a full day to work in my classroom so I could prepare for a full day of students tomorrow. I drove our bikes to Kyle’s Bikes over my lunch to drop them off so Kyle could give them his pre race blessing. After work I picked up our CSA and spent the evening cleaning produce, vacuum the house, and prepare for Wednesday before bed.

DCIM100GOPROG0026281.
Morning miles with the Iron Hippie and Basil! She is such a goofball!
IMG_5708
I love our CSA!

Wednesday:

Today was my first day of school with kids for the 2016-2017 school year. It was a fantastic first day! I am very excited to have a great group of students this year!! After school, I was exhausted! Instead of going swimming, I came home and spent over an hour on the phone with my twin 8 year old nieces learning ALL about their first day of school. They are two amazing little girls 🙂 I relaxed for just a bit before getting ready for Thursday and calling it a day.

IMG_5713
First day of school photo

Thursday:

We woke up at 5 am for a short run before my second day of school with kids. After another great day with students, I had a dentist appointment, came home to eat dinner and change clothes before teaching TRX. After class, I got ready for my last working day of the week and crawled into bed completely exhausted. Getting back into a routine of being mentally on all day is so much more exhausting than physically working out for hour after hour after hour…I will adjust with time 😉

Morning miles with Basil!
Morning miles with Basil!
So grateful to Karma Kombucha and Sound Probiotics for keeping me healthy while I train hard and start a new school year!
So grateful to Karma Kombucha and Sound Probiotics for keeping me healthy while I train hard and start a new school year!

Friday:

We slept in until 5:30 am, put together beef stew in the crock pot for after work, and then got ready for the day. After another long, but good day of teaching, I had a much needed massage! OUCH!! After my massage, I we ate some of that amazing homemade beef stew before going to a local brewer to play cribbage while enjoying a beer.

You may not notice that a wall hanging is missing from this picture, but I did right away. Nick is moving...he is starting his own massage clinic instead of working for someone else. I am super excited for him and can't wait to see his new digs in a couple of weeks!!
You may not notice that a wall hanging is missing from this picture, but I did right away. Nick is moving…he is starting his own massage clinic instead of working for someone else. I am super excited for him and can’t wait to see his new digs in a couple of weeks!!
Date night!
Date night!

Saturday:

We got up to go swimming, but I was INCREDIBLY sore after my massage last night, so I opted for a complete rest day. We took the dogs for a walk, did a few house chores, ran a few errands, and then went to Kyle’s Bikes to pick up our rides. We were supposed to pick them up on Thursday, but the Iron Hippie’s derailleur was cracked, so a new one had to be ordered and installed. So grateful for Kyle! He does amazing work!! With Kyle’s blessing, they are race ready (minus us cleaning them and changing the tires)! After lunch, I took a nap and did some blogging before vacuuming the house and having our neighbors over for dinner. It was a great day!

Sunday:

We woke up, had some breakfast, took the dogs for a walk, and started to pack for Ironman before going to the pool at 11 am for a swim. We followed this up with lunch, and then a nap. After our nap, we did yard work and house chores to prepare for the coming week. I spent some time coloring before going to get froyo. After eating dinner and cleaning up the kitchen, I watched some NCIS reruns before heading to bed.

IMG_5727
Let the packing begin!
IMG_5759
Finding peace in the water!
IMG_5760
Mmmm…Froyo…I think I had more chocolate that froyo in this bowl though…

Weekly Totals: 4 hours & 18 minutes…Not what I was hoping for, but next week will definitely be better

Swim: 2090 yards
Bike: 17.7 miles
Run: 10.5 miles
Strength Training: 45 minutes

Quote of the Week: 

“Failure happens all the time. It happens every day in practice. What makes you better is how you react to it.” ~Mia Hamm

8 thoughts on “2 weeks ’til #IMWI: back to reality

  1. I wish I could’ve joined you for the women’s ride, but I’m a bit too far away! I’m glad to hear you have some great students-I’m crossing my fingers that my boys get some fabulous teachers this year. Have fun packing for Ironman!!

    1. It would have been super fun to have you join us, but sadly there are many miles between us! It will be a great school year and I am looking forward to it! Packing for Ironman is always a chore, but I think I’ve got a system down now with this being Ironman #4 😉

  2. I can’t believe your race is so close! Getting back into the swing of things can be good on one hand, but tiring on the other. You will be settling in at school just in time for your trip for IM!

Leave a Reply

