Race Week!

Hello race week! You’ve come by so quickly! It seems that we signed up for Ironman Wisconsin just yesterday and now we are heading to Madison for race weekend!

Monday:

Since it was Labor Day, we got to sleep in, although sleeping in for us is only 6:30 am…After breakfast, we took the dogs for a walk, followed it up with 30 minutes of core, and then really started packing for Ironman Wisconsin weekend! At 10:30 am, we took a break and went for our last outdoor pool swim this year…it is so sad that the pool is now closed 😦 After lunch, it was time for more packing of ALL. THE. GEAR!!! I love racing long, but man alive it requires a lot of gear! We were mostly done packing by about 2:30 pm, so I spent the rest of the afternoon writing sub plans for my upcoming absences from work, while watching NCIS reruns…feet up, dog snuggles, and relaxing while getting some work done. After dinner, I vacuumed, cleaned up and prepared for a 2 day work week! While vacuuming, the vacuum canister did fall over on my bare foot and I now have a rather large bruise on the top of it. I think it will be ok come race day, but lots of pampering of my foot until then!

IMG_5986

IMG_5987

Tuesday:

We slept in, got ready for work, and had a full day of work. After work, it was time for a pre race massage! Nick takes such good care of us…THANK YOU NICK!! I picked up our CSA, and then the Iron Hippie and I went out for our pre race meal of all. The. Sushi. YUM!! After taking the dogs for a walk, it was bed time!

img_5993

img_5995

Wednesday:

We slept in again this morning, got ready for work, and enjoyed the last day of work for the week. I could get used to 2 day work weeks and 5 day weekends…what is wrong with that?! After work, I met two clients for personal training and then continued packing for our big dance! Oh…and our Sound Probiotics arrived! Thanks for keeping our guts and immune systems happy and healthy!! #winningtakesguts 🙂

Thursday:

Time to travel to Madison!

img_6001

2016 Totals to get me to Ironman Wisconsin: 17 days, 19 hours, 3 minutes & 49 seconds

Swim: 80.75 miles
Bike: 3232 miles
Run: 476 miles
Strength Training: 63 hours

Quote of the week:

“Good things come to those who work their asses off and never give up.”

 

10 thoughts on “Race Week!

  1. Now you’ll have to add “no housework” to your taper for future races 😉 Safe travels and I’ll be cheering for you!

  2. That is a lot of time and dedication!! See you soon!! 🙂
    You pack a lot!!! I only have a suit case. I thought I would need to pack some stuff in Dan’s bag but I got it all in mine!!! Hopefully it fits in the overhead compartment! 😉

    1. Yes, it is a lot of time, dedication and sacrifice, but it will be worth it on Sunday!! You rock on getting it all in one suitcase!! Disadvantage of driving…we can pack the kitchen sink if we want!! 😂

Leave a Reply

