What’s Up?! – October 2016

October wasn’t quite the month I was hoping for, but my body got the rest and recovery that it needed. Here are some of my highlights from October.

Family/Friend Time:

Mom came down and spent a weekend with us. It was fun to relax, eat good food, and visit Reiman Gardens while she was here.

Mom came to visit for a weekend! It was fun to spend quality time with her!
Mom came to visit for a weekend! It was fun to spend quality time with her!

I got to run with my sole sister at the Run for the Roses 5K, although that only lasted for the first mile since she was so much faster than me. She is so strong and speedy!

Run for the Roses is always better with friends!
Run for the Roses is always better with friends!

Chasing My Fave:

The Iron Hippie ran the Des Moines Marathon, so I took my bike down and chased him around the course! It was fun to cheer him on to another finish line!

The Iron Hippie getting close to the finish of the IMT Des Moines Marathon...I'm so proud of him only 5 weeks post Ironman Wisconsin
The Iron Hippie getting close to the finish of the IMT Des Moines Marathon…I’m so proud of him only 5 weeks post Ironman Wisconsin!

Reading, Reading, Reading:

Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown is a MUST READ! Wow! The obstacles these 9 men had to overcome to make it to the 1936 Berlin Olympics is not only inspiring, but also unthinkable! All of this happening as Hitler was starting his attempt to take over the world without the world knowing it. So many things that are hard to wrap my brain around, but the boys never gave up, fought for their spot on the US Olympic team, worked hard and overcame obstacles to chase their dreams!

Tri Marni’s recent blog post really hit home with me! As I’ve been dreaming of qualifying for Kona and working hard to achieve these dreams, her words reminded me to never give up! “Every athlete has a great performance inside him/herself but it takes time and patience to get the best out of yourself. And even if you think you achieved your “best race ever”, there’s probably another better race in you that you will experience down the road – so long as you don’t give up. Stay dedicated. Keep developing yourself as an athlete. If you believe you have what it takes, chase your dreams, fall in love with the process and have a lot of fun along the way.” I definitely plan to continue to “chase my dreams, fall in love with the process and have a lot of fun along the way” this coming year! #dreambelieveachieve

Carrie Cheadle’s recent blog post also really hit home with me! Because I have that lingering dream of qualifying for Kona, her words encourage me to take risks. “Give yourself permission to make wrong decisions. If you never risk making mistakes you’ll never perform to your potential. Trust. Believe. Jump!”

Being Inspired:

My Coeur Sports Teammies have been inspiring me for the last 2 years! Watching them chase their dreams as they conquered Kona, Louisville, Maryland, and North Carolina lit my fire even more to chase my dreams and turn them into reality! 2017…I’m comin’ for ya!

These ladies not only inspire me, but encourage me and light my fire! <3
These ladies not only inspire and encourage me, but also light my fire! Time to chase my dreams so I can one day be in this photo too! Photo credit: Jay Prasuhn

How was your month of October? What were your highlights for October?

12 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – October 2016

  1. Highlight was most likely running the Marine Corps Marathon today. I’ve bee training for this for a few months now! I think there’s definitely something to be said for “making mistakes” in a race so as to learn more!

    1. I know exactly what you mean! I’ve made more mistakes than one should openly admit to, but have grown in the process! Congratulations lady! You are a badass rockstar! 💞

  2. I love how autumn offers us an opportunity to switch gears, to spend more time with friends, family, and relax a bit. I’m looking forward to checking out some of your reading recommendations!

  3. October had some up and downs, but has ended on a positive note! I have a realistic, smart goal for 2017 AND a good plan for getting there. I’m mentally prepared for my knee to keep my from running by choosing a race that will let race the aqua bike instead. TriMarni’s post was great! Thanks for sharing it.

    1. It took me longer to read than most books because I’d get sad and sob because of the struggles he endured. How he overcame those struggles is inspirational!!

Leave a Reply

