Challenges Make Us Stronger

“When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.” ~Henry Ford

Just when I was ready to start getting back into a regular training routine at the end of October, I was struck down with bronchitis…I was frustrated, but quickly came to realize that this was my body’s way of telling me that it needed more recovery time. So…recovery is what it got.

Then I was healthy and was ready to exercise again when it was time for a very full week of teaching all day and parent teacher conferences all evening for 3 full days. We also had additional challenges at home…our dear friends trusted us to watch their baby girls (a 12 year old mixed breed dog and a 16 month old golden retriever) while they were in DC for a week. On the last night we had the girls (which also happened to be the last evening of parent teacher conferences), we had to take Stella (the golden) to the vet ER for an emergency tracheotomy. She had an infected salivary gland that swelled her entire tongue and throat so she couldn’t breathe. The next week the Iron Hippie got sick and we had to travel home for our twin nieces baptisms and first swim meet. Then my family came to visit for Thanksgiving (Wednesday-Sunday). On top of all of this, the Iron Hippie may be changing jobs (not necessarily by choice). We’ll know more on this in a couple of weeks.

Needless to say, we have had a few challenges thrown our way during the month of November and I’m ready to put these challenges (and month) behind us and move forward into a stronger season. While challenges make us stronger, I’m thankful that the month of November is almost over, I’ve been healthy, and I see workouts in Training Peaks from Coach Kelly. I’m SO excited to get back on the training train again!!

It is so exciting to see my first workouts from my new coach appear in Training Peaks!
It is so exciting to see my first workouts from my new coach appear in Training Peaks!

How do you handle challenges? Who’s looking forward to December?!

6 thoughts on “Challenges Make Us Stronger

  1. A lot has happened since Wisconsin…at least it was the off season!!! I’m sure you were chomping at the bit to get started on the new year and the different challenges! I’m in the same boat. It is just hard to try and figure out what to be doing in the “off season”!! 🙂 I am definitely looking forward to December and the new year!!

  2. I’m sorry you were both sick and the poor dog! That must have been frightening for all involved-hopefully she’s doing better? I don’t respond well to change at all, my husband and I are both creatures of habit. I liked the look of your training week-it seems like a very personal routine, rather than a cookie-cutter program drop. I hope you have a wonderful, and healthy, December.

    1. Thankfully we are all doing well, Stella included! Change I can handle, chaos is not my friend. It seems November was full of chaos, but we survived! I’m very happy with my coaching decision! I think it will be the fresh perspective I’ve been trying to find in my own. I am so excited for December and the New Year!

Leave a Reply

