Week 3 With Coach Kelly: Giving 100%!

Hello week 3 with Coach Kelly!! I’m LOVIN’ the workouts, the challenges, and the personal touches that Coach Kelly has blessed me with!! So much gratitude!!

Swim: 6200 yards

I had some really good swims this week! I’m feeling like my biceps are staying closer to the surface of the water so that I actually have a pull in the water, and I ended the week with 4x(3×100 z5, z4, z5) workout. During the 3rd set, I saw a 1:39 for my 1st 100…this may not be impressive to most of you, but I have NEVER seen a 100 time faster than 1:45, so a 1:39 WAS AWESOME!! Even better…most of my 100s were at or around 1:42!! I’m working to #findfasterย in the water! Wahoo ๐Ÿ™‚

img_6730
Playing in the water post swimming!
img_6746
Trying to find my pull in the water!
img_6766
Celebrating swim success with dolphin dives!

Bike: 70.5 miles

I’m working on bike strength! Coach Kelly says, “You’re going to become an absolute cycling machine this winter. That’s my plan for you. Turn you into more of a power house.” I’m so excited about this! I love to ride my bike and I want to get faster and stronger on the bike. This has meant lots of intervals and intensity time on the bike this week…looks like I GET to do more of it again next week! Wahoo ๐Ÿ™‚

DCIM100GOPROG0048450.
Recovery Ride!
DCIM100GOPROG0058650.
Lots of intervals! OUCH!
img_6787
Intensity Time!

Run: 18.6 miles

There was lots of treadmill time this week thanks to ridiculously cold windchill temperatures! I sadly was only outside for a run once this week, but thoroughly enjoyed it before the temps plummeted!

DCIM100GOPROG0048252.
Trail running before the temps plummeted!
DCIM100GOPROG0018482.
Speedy feet!
DCIM100GOPROG0018704.
Dreaming of warmer weather and tapping into this warmth in my Coeur Sports tropical punch kit!
img_6788
More treadmill time!
Where do I live again?!?!
Where do I live again?!?!
Because it is -30F windchill...time to warm up on the treadmill!
Because it is -30F windchill…time to warm up on the treadmill!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 50 minutes

I had some solid strength sessions this week with good variety!

Strength training!
Strength training…get those arms in the air!!

Weekly Totals: 12 hours & 27 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“If there is a dream or a goal that you want you have to go for it 100%. Give all you have for the goals that you have.” ~Alia Atkinson

12 thoughts on “Week 3 With Coach Kelly: Giving 100%!

      1. 14 was the high for today. It’s currently 6 or something. Too much snow on the roads to ride and it’s too cold for salt to work on the snow. Basically, it sucks.

  1. I’m so happy for you that you are enjoying Coach Kelly! Great work on getting into the pool a lot-I confess I haven’t been for seven days…kid/Christmas stuff kinda took over, but I hope to get back into the pool soon. I actually miss it!

    1. Thanks Amy! Some mornings it’s a struggle to go to the pool when it is SO COLD outside, but I’m always glad I do when I’m done! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you find some #swimlove soon!

  2. Congrats on the 1:39 100 time! That is awesome! I would love to see that as well. This has been one of my best swim weeks in a while, so I hope I will see that number sooner than later. So happy for you though!

    I absolutely can not get my brain around -30 wind chills! Yikes!!!!!!

    1. Thank you! I was SO excited to see the 1:39 on my 100! Keep working hard and you’ll see it too! As for the windchill temps, we usually experience them super cold only once or twice, but not usually this early. I hope that isn’t a sign for what our winter is going to be like!

Leave a Reply

