What’s Up?! – December 2016

December has been a great month, full of lots of fun and changes as I prepare for 2017! Here is what I’ve been up to:

Training:

The first month of training with Coach Kelly at Track Cat Fitness is in the books. It has been AWESOME! I have already seen improvements in my fitness in just one month! Granted…after taking about 9 weeks off after Ironman Wisconsin, I was hoping to see my fitness start to bounce back quickly and it has. I’m grateful that my body is responding so well to the time off and my month back to training!

img_6617
Working on my swim stroke = #swimlove
DCIM100GOPROG0050321.
Sprinting in my new Coeur Sports Island Vibe tri kit = #bikelove
Running on trails along the river = #runlove
Running on trails along the river = #runlove

Reading:

Surfacing: From the Depths of Self-Doubt to Winning Big and Living Fearlessly” by Siri Lindley…WOW, just WOW!! Inspiration overload here!! Siri overcame SO many challenges in her life to become the amazing athlete and coach that she is today!!

How Bad Do You Want It?: Mastering the Psychology of Mind over Muscle” by Matt Fitzgerald…This is a great read to give insight into the mental toughness of elite athletes from a variety of sports. “Strong mental fitness lets us approach our true physical limits, giving us an edge over physically stronger competitors.”

Enjoying:

Winter break! I have had the opportunity to read, exercise, help friends, spend time with family and friends, and relax…it has been GREAT! While I’m enjoying the time away from school over the winter break, I am looking forward to getting back to school and starting semester #2!

Challenged by:

Not only has Coach Kelly challenged me to be a stronger athlete, but she has also challenged me in other aspects of my life as well (probably without even knowing it). By coming up with my focus word for 2017, I was inspired to step COMPLETELY out of my comfort zone and climb to new heights…literally! When you are afraid of heights, this is a HUGE deal!

I did make it all the way to the top and then didn't want to let go...but I did! #fearless
I did make it all the way to the top and then didn’t want to let go…but I did! #fearless

How was your month of December? What were your highlights? Who’s ready for 2017?!

8 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – December 2016

  1. Great job-repelling down the wall is always tougher, I think. I went rock climbing in Banff once and I was fine until I had to make myself repel over a small cliff…it took about 10 mins of freaking out before I could let go. Happy New Year!

  2. Its hard to believe it is December..excuse me January!!! Not sure how that happened!! 🙂 Great month of training to set you up for a great new year of training and new goals!!!
    I had a great month of training! Super fun holiday season. Looking forward to the new year!

Leave a comment