Last Week of 2016: #coeurcenturyswim

It is hard to believe that 2016 is behind us and 2017 has arrived!! CRAZY how time flies!! My last week of 2016 was busy…it always amazes me how I manage to completely fill my free time when I am on break!

Swim: 10,000 yards

The Coeur Sports ambassadors have set the #coeurcenturyswim challenge to complete before the end of 2016. The 100 x 100 yards/meters could be done all in one swim, or broken up over the course of a week. After proposing this idea to Coach Kelly, she thought it would be best to complete this challenge over the course of a week to prevent damage to my rotator cuffs since I am have not built up to this distance gradually over time. Coach put three structured workouts in for me to complete this challenge and by Friday morning, I had completed 100 x 100 yards for the week!

#coeurcenturyswim #1 = 3000 yards
#coeurcenturyswim #1 = 3000 yards
Playing in the water after #coeurcenturyswim #2 = 3500 yards
Playing in the water after #coeurcenturyswim #2 = 3500 yards
#coeurcenturyswim #3 = 3500 yards
#coeurcenturyswim #3 = 3500 yards

Bike: 70.6 miles

This week I had some z5 bike interval workouts and some easy recovery rides. I’m looking forward to a power test next week to see what kind of progress I’ve been making 😉 #courageovercomfort is definitely where it’s at to get stronger on the bike!

Recovery ride while reading "Surfacing" by Siri Lindley...this is a MUST read!!
Recovery ride while reading “Surfacing” by Siri Lindley…this is a MUST read!!
1 minute z5 intervals!!
1 minute z5 intervals!!
3 minute z5 intervals!!
3 minute z5 intervals!!
Sprinting out of 2016 on New Year's Eve!
Sprinting out of 2016 on New Year’s Eve in my new Island Vibe Coeur Sports tri kit!

Run: 18.8 miles

I had some short easy runs, a track workout with 800 repeats, and a longer progression run this week. It was nice to get outside for every single run this week!! I was very grateful for warmer temperatures 😉

800 repeats while I work on my mental game at the track!
800 repeats while I work on my mental game at the track!
Running with my favorite girl for a short, easy run!
Running with my favorite girl for a short, easy run!
20 minute run off the bike with my favorite girl!
20 minute run off the bike with my favorite girl!
Running into 2017 with my favorite girl!
Running into 2017 with my favorite girl!

Strength Training: 1 hour + 55 minutes

I had some great strength training sessions throughout the week! Strength training is a MUST for me to remain injury-free and healthy! I’m grateful that Mya decided to help me during one of my strength sessions!

Mya is such a good helper!
Mya is such a good helper!

Other:

I had to have a cyst at the base of my finger drained of fluid on Wednesday. Have you ever tried to swim with numb fingers?! Such a WEIRD feeling!!

Nice bruise post drainage!
Nice bruise post drainage!

I decided on my “power word” for 2017…

#fearless is my word for 2017 in all areas of my life...Thanks to Coach Kelly for this amazing reminder!!
#fearless is my word for 2017 in all areas of my life…Thanks to Coach Kelly for making this amazing reminder for me!!

I often hold myself back in multiple avenues of my life and it is time to become more #fearless in 2017!! What better way to start working toward being #fearless than to go to a climbing facility. Most people wouldn’t consider a climbing wall a challenge, but when you have a fear of heights, climbing the wall and then having to let go and trust the automatic belay takes a lot of courage!! I actually went rock climbing twice this week!!

I did make it all the way to the top and then didn't want to let go...but I did! #fearless
I did make it all the way to the top and then didn’t want to let go…but I did! Working on becoming #fearless

Weekly Totals: 14 hours & 9 minutes + 10 minutes of core each day

Quote of the Week:

“Everything you want is on the other side of fear.” ~Jack Canfield

10 thoughts on “Last Week of 2016: #coeurcenturyswim

  1. I admire your dedication and consistency! I need to work on that if I want to be as successful 🙂 Fearless is a great power word for the season.

    1. Thanks Amy! Once in a routine, consistency comes naturally because of dedication. It does take time to find the balance! Fearless is going to take me on so many more amazing adventures in 2017!

  2. You did the century swim the smart way, instead of like I did, where I waited until the last minute and then tried to cram it all in one day (and failed). Oh well, it was still a lot of fun and I loved hearing/seeing about everyone’s attempts at making it happen!

    Here’s to another great year of training and racing and heart and courage!

    1. Thanks Caitlin! I knew I wanted to get it in, but also knew I didn’t want to burn out my rotator cuffs because I wasn’t up to doing the distance all at once. Cheers to 2017 full of fun + heart and courage!

      1. My arms have been jello from the rock climbing! I don’t need to make them worse from swimming longer than I’m ready for!

Leave a Reply

