2016 Intentions Check-In #4

Where has time gone?! It is hard to believe that 2016 is already behind us and we are staring 2017 in the face! It seems like just yesterday I was sitting down to write about my intentions for 2016, and now it is time to write my intentions for 2017!

  1. #Believe…I have made progress with this intention, but will ALWAYS have room for growth! When things get tough in training, work, or life, my forearm reminds me to #believe and move forward!img_6848
  2. Break down barriers…I am beyond thrilled that we had HUGE success with the first ladies only nights this summer! We managed to have one ride each in June, July, and August. Thanks so much to Coeur Sports and Kyle’s Bikes for their support to help make this event successful!! Yay for encouraging more women in cycling, helping them gain confidence on their bike and on the roads, and helping them learn basic bike maintenance!! I am definitely looking forward to hosting many more ladies only rides in 2017 and am planning to mix this up even more to get more women out riding!!                 IMG_3720        IMG_4134
  3. Be present…I think I will forever struggle with this one! I have a VERY hard time focusing on the here and now. My mind is always wandering! I am getting better at staying in the present only because I’m becoming more aware of when I’m not staying focused in the present. When I notice my mind wandering, I remind myself to stay in the present. It requires me to be aware of where my mind is at and reign it back in. Unfortunately this doesn’t always happen since I don’t always realize when my mind wanders, but I am definitely getting better at it!
  4. Find Balance…I set out to find balance more with the emotions that I direct at myself than other parts of my life. I started the year participating in the Living Brave Semester with Brene Brown; this course taught me to focus on how I am feeling, why I am feeling a certain way, giving myself permission to be human, and how to forgive myself for being human and making mistakes. While I did a much better job of focusing on this while I was immersed in the class, I am pleased that I’ve been able to keep most of these habits in play even though the class has concluded. Now, it is time to work to find balance between life, training, work, and fun as my training ramps back up for my 2017 goals.

Did you set goals or intentions for yourself for 2016? If so, have you checked in with these goals or intentions lately? What progress did you make toward achieving your goals or intentions in 2016?

4 thoughts on “2016 Intentions Check-In #4

  1. SimplyAmyLynn says:

    In the guided meditation that I do-she tells us that when we find our minds wandering, or we start focusing on things we shouldn’t, gently bring yourself back to the present-don’t feel bad about it and don’t judge yourself too harshly for it. Mindfulness is a practice just like any other sport-it’s always a work in progress 🙂

    • Thank you Amy! I NEED to do more mindfulness practice in 2017! What is the guided meditation app that you use? I should look into this a bit more and really make it a priority!

      • SimplyAmyLynn says:

        I use Daily Calm and am really enjoying it. I’m on a 115 day streak right now. The other popular one is Headspace-they both have free demos. The guy’s voice in Headspace just didn’t work for me, so that is why I chose Calm.

Leave a Reply

