32 Weeks ’til #IMMT: FTP Challenge BOOM

Crazy to think we are only 32 weeks away from Ironman Mont Tremblant! Time sure flies by when you’re having fun! I’m so grateful I GET to have fun and swim/bike/run my way through each week!

Swim: 9700 yards

This week was lots of swimming, but nothing really stands out as super noteworthy. I have been using the tempo trainer…for someone who didn’t grow up swimming fast, just swimming for fun ALL.DAY.LONG, this tool is evil. It is forcing me to work harder and swim faster than I ever have. I know I’ll eventually learn to love it, but right now I have a love/hate relationship with it.

This swim cap makes me smile!
This swim cap makes me smile!
This little tool is evil! I currently have a love/hate relationship with it that I'm hoping will eventually turn to only love!
This little tool is evil! I currently have a love/hate relationship with it that I’m hoping will eventually turn to only love!

Bike: 63.5 miles

The highlight of the week was CRUSHING my FTP challenge! Thursday morning I had an FTP challenge (Coach Kelly calls them challenges instead of tests…tests are usually pass/fail, while a challenge is something to rise up and conquer). My previous power threshold was 163 watts. My goal for this test was to maintain 180 watts for my 20 minute challenge, which I crushed by maintaining 188 watts! BOOM! After my extensive offseason, I’m bouncing back to where I was before Ironman Wisconsin 2016 (196 watts).

Crushing my FTP challenge = HUGE smiles!
Crushing my FTP challenge = HUGE smiles!
That crazy spike in my cadence during my challenge didn't actually happen...Crazy Garmin!
That crazy spike in my cadence during my challenge didn’t actually happen…Crazy Garmin!

Run: 25.1 miles

I put in MANY miles on the mill this week as it has been a COLD week! The only run I did do outside was for 20 minutes and I ran more miles than what was the outdoor temperature. BRRR!!

Running ninja style when it is 2F outside!
Running ninja style with my Coeur Sports buff when it is 2F outside!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 55 minutes + 10 minutes of core daily

I had some good strength training sessions this week! Lots of functional strength and core, while incorporating lots of variety into each workout.

Recovery:

I spent most of the weekend (when I wasn’t training) taking Epsom salt baths, sitting with my feet up in my CEP compression tights, eating all the food, and sleeping like a baby! When we train hard, it is important to recover just as hard…or harder!

#CEPCompression tights are da bomb!
#CEPCompression tights are da bomb!

Weekly Totals: 14 hours & 38 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“Rise to the challenge of bringing your dreams to life! Do not be discouraged by resistance, be nourished by it. Success is the experience of rising to the level of your true greatness.” ~Steve Maraboli

8 thoughts on “32 Weeks ’til #IMMT: FTP Challenge BOOM

  1. What an impressive week-well done! I was hoping to get back in the pool today, but overnight both my husband and I ended up with the stomach bug that the kids had late last week. I have signed up for two swim clinics with my new Tri Club though! The first on is on Sunday 🙂

    1. Sorry you got the stomach bug! It is going around and I’m seriously hoping to avoid it! Lots of kids have it here at school. I’m excited to hear about your swim clinic! I hope you do a post on it 😉

  2. Great work on your bike challege this week! I love how your coach calls it a challenge. I think I will have to call it that from now on. I did my first EVER challenge this week. 🙂 Excited to see how the training stacks up over the season and to see some big gains!

Leave a Reply

