30 weeks ’til #IMMT: Progress

This was an excellent week of progress for me! I LOVE to see things falling together so nicely! Thanks to the guidance and support of Coach Kelly, I’m seeing more progress than I thought I would this early in my training! I hope that means big things to come in August at Ironman Mont Tremblant!

Swim: 8250 yards

I had a swim time trial on Wednesday this week. It was only 200 yards, but I saw a 2 second improvement over my 200 yard TT from about 6 weeks ago. This may not seem like much, but I was super happy with this! Now if I can translate it to long distance swimming, I will see HUGE improvements in my swim times at Ironman Mont Tremblant! Hello Progress! I’m glad we’ve met! 😉

Striving for progress, not perfection in the pool this week with a 2 second increase in my 200 yard time trial! :)
Striving for progress, not perfection in the pool this week with a 2 second increase in my 200 yard time trial! 🙂

Bike: 76.8 miles

I put some hard work in on the bike this week! I love to push myself and see what I am truly capable of from time to time! When you do the work and trust the process, you reap the rewards! I am looking forward to reaping the rewards of my hard work on race day in August!

Doing the work and trusting the process means hay in the barn so I can start a HUGE fire on race day!
Doing the work and trusting the process means hay in the barn so I can start a HUGE fire on race day!

Run: 14.8 miles

I also had a run time trial this week…5K at the track on Saturday. After spending MANY hours at the track rehabbing an injury a few years ago, I have had a mental block at the track since. I’m happy to be making progress with this mental block AND my 5K time! I went into my 5K time trial with a goal of running a sub 8:00/mile pace and a secret goal of breaking 24 minutes. I’m giddy to report that I surpassed my secret goal! I finished in 23:53 with negative splits! My 1st mile was 7:46/mile, my 2nd mile was 7:41/mile, my 3rd mile was 7:40/mile, and my last 0.1 of a mile was 7:28/mile…I was so happy with myself that I smiled and laughed during my 1.25 mile cool down! I’m still smiling! Hello progress! I’m glad we are still hanging out together!

So giddy since I crushed my 5K time trial secret goal!
So giddy since I surpassed my 5K time trial secret goal!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 55 minutes + 10 minutes of core strength daily

I had 3 solid strength training sessions + 10 minutes of core work every day this week. I’m so grateful that my body allows me to push it so hard, while remaining injury free. I know this wouldn’t be the case if I didn’t incorporate the strength training into my schedule every week. Strength training keeps me on track and allows me to keep doing what I love while staying injury free! Thank you body!

Strength training in a variety of ways this week!
Strength training in a variety of ways this week!

Weekly Totals: 12 hours & 42 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“Strive for progress, not perfection.”

How was your week? What were your highlights from the week? What progress have you made on your goals/training lately?

16 thoughts on “30 weeks ’til #IMMT: Progress

  1. Wow @ the 5K time trial! Woot woot! That’s awesome! And the pose you’re holding on the bosu ball! I’d fall flat on my face for sure! Your progress is looking great!

  2. What an awesome week for you! Great job on your time trials-you should be really proud of the work you’re putting in. I finally feel like I’m back in a decent routine after Christmas break and the two weeks of sickness that followed, so hopefully I can keep this consistency up! Have a great week 🙂

    1. Thanks Amy! It was a super fantabulous week and I’m very proud of my efforts and progress both physically and mentally! Wishing you a fantastic week!

  3. Awesome progress!! You only have to do a 200 for a swim TT…lucky!! My highlight was my big swim on Saturday! I have a bike TT on Wednesday. I think that it will be interesting to see how it goes!! Nice job on that 5K!! Killin’ it!!

    1. Thanks Leslie! I’m sure I’ll have longer TT swims coming up, but I’ll take the 200 for now! Your big swim was awesome! Congratulations! I wish we had a swim group/master’s program here. I can’t wait to hear how your bike TT goes tomorrow!!

      1. Right now we are working on trying to get my swim stroke dialed in, so my longest intervals are 300s and usually by the end my stroke has fallen apart again. I just can’t seem to keep my catch throughout my swim. Crush that bike TT today!

      2. I’ll stick with it…frustrating, but it has to get better! Awesome work! Progress is so incredible…makes all the hard work worth it!! 😊

    1. Thanks Cait! It was a good week! This time of year, the miles come on the trainer, but hopefully we have an early spring and can get out on the open roads! I’m itching for some outdoor bike love!

Leave a Reply

