28 weeks ’til #IMMT: a lesson in patience

Patience is not one of my strengths. Every once in a while I get slapped in the face with a reminder that I need to work on having more of this virtue. Last week was one of those weeks. At the end of the previous week, I was sick. This carried over and I missed the first two days of work last week as well. I’m feeling MUCH better, but am still not quite 100%. When I’m told I can’t do something, that’s when I REALLY want to do it! Last week my body was telling me I couldn’t work out, and I REALLY didn’t want to listen to it. My mind was in a completely different place (especially toward the end of the week). I had no choice but to concede…especially if I want to be healthy enough to get back to pushing my limits while training! Last week was definitely a lesson in patience!

Swim: Zero

Bike: 29.2 miles

I was finally feeling well enough that Coach Kelly told me to try an EASY (zone 1) 45 minute ride on Friday or Saturday. Due to some scheduling conflicts on Friday, I waited until Saturday morning. It was SUPER easy, but also very boring! Mentally I really wanted to push it, but knew that I needed to take it easy to ensure I didn’t have any setbacks. After a successful ride, I was told I could ride on Sunday for 90 minutes in zone 2. Yay! I can go a little bit harder!

Zone 1 ride = SMILES
Zone 1 ride = SMILES
Zone 2 ride for me while the Iron Hippie gutted out some intervals
Zone 2 ride for me while the Iron Hippie gutted out some intervals

Run: Zilch

Strength Training: 45 minutes + 10 minutes of core 3 days this week

I had some good variety in strength training late in the week to test my body and how it was recovering.

Weekly Totals: 3 hours

Quote of the Week:

“Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy.” ~Saadi

4 thoughts on “28 weeks ’til #IMMT: a lesson in patience

  1. Good job on not pushing it too hard when you were sick. It’s fabulous that your coach understands the need to rest during times like that as well. Exercising patience now will make your body very happy in the long run.

    1. Thanks Amy! It is nice to have such a supportive coach! Patience for being sick is not a strength of mine, but I know it will pay dividends down the road.

  2. Good job on listening to your body and getting the rest and recovery needed. It is definitely no fun, but the smart choice sometimes!

Leave a Reply

