27 weeks ’til #IMMT: jumping back in

After needing some recovery time due to illness, this week was about jumping back into a routine and training.

Swim: 400 yards

I made it back to the pool for the first time in almost 3 weeks this week! I was nervous about plunging back into the water. While I was making progress in the pool, I felt that my form still needed LOTS of work. How bad will this be after such a long swim hiatus? Thursday’s swim went better than expected, which set me up mentally for success on Saturday, where I set a new 100 yard PR time in the pool of 1:32/100 yards! This is a 6 second improvement on my 100 yard PR time! BOOM!

First swim in almost 3 weeks...I still have it!
First swim in almost 3 weeks…I still have it!
New 100 yard PR!
New 100 yard PR!

Bike: 48.9 miles

I had two rides this week. Wednesday’s ride was more challenging that it should have been because I’m an IDIOT! I forgot to shift my bike into the small ring in the front…BRAIN FART! Sunday’s ride went much better! I spent a lot of time in Z2/3, but then got to do some 10 second bursts into Z5 during the last 45 minutes of the ride.

Spin ups!
Spin ups!
Every second counts when you go down the rabbit hole! "Alice: How long is forever? White Rabbit: Sometimes just one second!" ~Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Every second counts when you go down the rabbit hole! “Alice: How long is forever? White Rabbit: Sometimes just one second!” ~Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Run: 9.72 miles

On Monday I had a test run to see how I was feeling after being sick for a week. Thankfully I felt GREAT! This meat Friday morning I was blessed to GET to run with the Iron Hippie! It was such a PERFECT way to start our day! We ran, we chatted, we had laughed, we soaked in some fresh air, and we turned blue. Tee hee!!

Easy morning run for the first time in over a week!
Easy morning run for the first time in over a week!
Running when it is cold out can sometimes turn you blue!
Running when it is cold out can sometimes turn you blue!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 55 minutes + 10 minutes of core work everyday

I had some good strength sessions this week giving me LOTS of variety in my training!

It takes a lot of strength, determination, grit, resilience, perseverance, and self confidence when you have big dreams! Chase your dreams peeps!
It takes a lot of strength, determination, grit, resilience, perseverance, and self confidence when you have big dreams! Chase your dreams peeps!

Weekly Positives:

I was finally feeling like myself again and ready to get back into my routine + workouts! HUGE POSITIVE + UPLIFTING

Friday was full of positives! One of my 8th grade students gave me the gift of this amazing paper clip!

As an 8th grade science teacher, I was blessed to have a student give this to me as a gift on Friday!
As an 8th grade science teacher, I was blessed to have a student give this to me as a gift on Friday!

I had a much needed massage on Friday. When I went to pay, I was so blessed to only have to pay $5 for my massage because of the kindness + generosity of our dear neighbor + friend. She had purchased a gift card for my massage and left it with my massage therapist for the next time I had a massage. I’m so blessed, lucky, happy, and grateful to be surrounded by such amazing people!

A much needed massage!
A much needed massage!

My dark chocolate spoke to me! This was the perfect message + reminder to enjoy life, have fun, and love the nice weather we’ve been experiencing!

My chocolate knew it was almost 60 degrees outside!
My chocolate knew it was almost 60 degrees outside!

Saturday I got to share my passion…EXERCISE…with my massage therapist! He wanted some exercises to do with his new TRX strap, so I jumped on this opportunity! I LOVE sharing my passion with others 🙂

So many amazing things to be grateful for everyday! Somedays we may have to look a little harder for the positives, but they are there, so I challenge you to find at LEAST ONE everyday!

Weekly Totals: 8 hours & 38 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“You cannot always wait for the perfect time, sometimes you must dare to jump.” ~Unknown

How was your week? What positive things did you experience?

4 thoughts on “27 weeks ’til #IMMT: jumping back in

  1. I’m so glad you had such a positive week and are feeling so much better! Don’t feel too bad about making your bike ride harder…I left my bike in the big ring for the first 2 years I had it. Sweet C and I have made pretty much every mistake that is possible to make 🙂

  2. Awesome week getting back into it!!! Nice 100 PR!! Staying positive is so mental too! Going into a work out positive you will more than likely do well. If you go into negatively then don’t think it the work out is going to go well! Glad you are feeling better!

    1. Thanks Leslie! Staying positive is so key! I am focusing on the positives in all aspects of my life…especially since I managed to injure my back on Saturday doing laundry. Focusing on the positives though!

Leave a Reply

