2017 Racing Season

Mother Nature (errr…Global Warming) has blessed us with BEAUTIFUL weather this “winter”…weather we typically see in April and May here in Central Iowa. This beautiful weather + back rehabilitation got me thinking about my 2017 racing season. I have had WAY MORE downtime than is typical for me during this rehab process, so…I had plenty of time to plan for my 2017 racing season and register for some races. Thanks to this downtime, my 2017 racing season is taking shape! I have registered for the following races:

  1. Drake 1/2 Marathon (4/29/17)
  2. Hickory Grove Sprint Triathlon (5/21/17)
  3. Liberty Tri 70.3 (6/10/17)
  4. Okoboji Triathlon (7/15/17)
  5. Ironman Mont Tremblant (8/20/17)

I am super pumped about these races! This schedule will provide me with some opportunities to test my race day plan for long distances, but also give me some opportunities to go hard, fast, and have fun at some shorter distances!

I have also registered for a 3 day training camp in Vermont on July 27-30 with Track Cat Fitness! This training camp is 3 weeks before Ironman Mont Tremblant, so we will be extending our vacation to 4 weeks! We will be heading to the New England States before going to Mont Tremblant, Canada…visiting new places, training in new places, and having even more fun!

How is your 2017 season shaping up?

36 thoughts on “2017 Racing Season

  1. -Hot Chocolate Minneapolis 15 k (April)
    -Lifetime Tri Minneapolis (Olympic) – USAT Midwest Regional Championships (July)
    -USAT Olympic National Championships-Omaha (August)
    -USAT Sprint National Championships-Omaha (August)
    -Twin Cities Marathon Weekend “Loony Challenge” 10k/5k/10 Miler (October)

      1. I qualified for Nationals (complete surprise) at the end of last season. Could not pass it up. Figures I might as well do the Sprint Nationals the next day. I signed up for Lifetime Minneapolis as a local warmup race…then they announced it as a regional championship. Lifetime Minneapolis is one of the nicest triathlon courses I have seen and is an annual must do event…

      2. That’s awesome! I loved Nationals when it was in Milwaukee…I qualified in a local Iowa race and was shocked that I did. I hope you have the best experience in Omaha!!

  2. I only have the Canmore Open Water Swim (1500m) on my schedule so far. This season will be more about exploring Alberta & British Columbia on my bike and in the water when I can steal a bit of time away for myself 🙂

    That training camp looks AMAZING! Don’t forget to pack your camera and post a lot of pictures.

  3. Looks like an awesome season!! Super excited for you!! The training camp will be super fun. I say “fun” very loosely!! 🙂 and a start of a 4 week “vacation” leading up to MT!! I can’t believe its March in 3 days!! It is going to go fast!!
    My big races are Victoria 70.3 and IM Copenhagen & AZ. Can.not.wait!!

    1. I think the training camp will be fun! I’m really looking forward to the vacation…seeing new places, training in new environments and creating new adventures! I’m super excited for your race season!!

      1. It isn’t very often that my royal fascination and my endurance sports fascination overlap! Fred had a very impressive time too (not that ALL Ironman finisher times aren’t impressive to me!). I think he was 10hrs-something. There was speculation about him being offered an honorary spot at Kona that year.

  4. Long story short- arthritis. Pretty depressing because that’s never going to go away. Oh well. I’m moving back to Mobile next week.

      1. Yes, unfortunately… It’s actually the same hospital where I worked 14 years ago as a medical technologist.

  5. I love your travel plans after the training camp. That reminds me of your fun travels before Boulder. That will be so awesome! I see that you will be in Lake Placid as well. You will love it there and probably will consider putting IMLP high on your race list after the visit. I can give you the name of the place we stayed there (it was on Main Street) if you are looking for recommendations.

  6. I’m fairly new to the triathlon sport. Last summer I did one sprint triathlon in June and really enjoyed it, so I registered for another a month later. Then I really enjoyed that one so I registered for a third a month later. Realizing how much I love the sport, this year I registered for three triathlons in advance and it feels great to have a schedule to plan training for! I’m also doing one of those events out of state so I’m excited about the travel opportunity too.

    Great blog post by the way. Good luck this summer!

    1. Welcome to triathlon! It is definitely a life long and life changing sport for sure! I wish you all the best in your triathlons this summer! Cheers!

  7. I’m aiming to do my first olympic this year, I’m blogging about it too! I hope you have some time to tour around Mont Tremblant it’s really beautiful! As a Canadian I hope you have a great experience here!

    1. First Olympic triathlon! Wahoo! That’s so exciting! We will be in Mont Tremblant for 2 weeks, so lots of time to tour! We are super excited!

  8. Amazing. Looks like you have some training to do!! I have just started a blog on triathlons. I did my first sprint at the weekend and now I’m addicted!

    1. It’s a lifestyle for us! We really enjoy long distance events! Congratulations on your first race! It’s easy to get addicted to these things! Crossing the finish line is so amazing!

Leave a Reply

