21 weeks ’til #IMMT: come back stronger

Such a good week to test my fitness in all three disciplines…swim + bike + run = fun!!

Swim: 5300 yards

Tuesday I had a CSS (critical swim speed) test. I was so excited to beat my goal time for the 200 yard swim (after already completing a 400 yard TT) by just over 3 seconds! Saturday’s swim was super challenging! I created a lot of training stress with myΒ bike workouts last week and it showed in Saturday’s swim. While I wanted to throw my tempo trainer on the deck at the end of the pool and call it quits, I am a fighter. So instead, I kept pushing hard, trying to meet my goal swim times, and I didn’t quit!

That moment when you look up at the clock and realize you’ve beat your goal 200 yard time trial time by just over 3 seconds!

Sometimes you have to fight through the challenging workouts to achieve your dreams. This was one of those workouts!

Bike: 73.5 miles

I had 2 rides this week that took me WAY out of my comfort zone. And. It. Was. AWESOME! There were a few times when it was super tough andΒ my mind ventured to the negative side, but I immediately changed the channel back to positive thoughts. I also had a couple of easier rides as well…one ride was in zone 1 and the second was in zone 2.

Incredibly grateful + lucky to have my sole sister pushing me through high intensity intervals even when she isn’t right beside me!

Bored on my recovery ride, but grateful for an easy spin on the bike!

“A ship in harbor is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.” ~John A. Shedd
Took my ship WAY out of the harbor and into uncharted waters!

Steady zone 2 ride!

Run: 11.1 miles

I had an amazing run on Wednesday followed by a 10K road race on Sunday. On Sunday I did an easy warm up for about 1.4 miles and then decided to see what my body was capable of despite having gone hard this week on the bike. I decided on my way to the race that I was hoping for a sub 52 minute 10K with a secret goal of sub 50 minutes. This wouldn’t quite give me a PR (and even on the same course), but I have been in the middle of a bike block, so running hasn’t been the focus lately. I didn’t quite hit my secret goal, but I’ll definitely take 50:32 on a hilly course!

Grateful to feel like I was running on borrowed legs! Feeling light + fast = #runlove

Ran my way to 3rd on a hilly 10K course with a finish time of 50:32…only 1:41 off my PR (on the same course)! Love, Love, LOVE the new Coeur Sports kit! πŸ™‚ #heartandcourage

My first ever trophy (when I’ve placed on the podium before, I’ve always earned a medal)! Thanks Coach Kelly for pushing me + believing in me! #trackcatstrong

Strength Training: 1 hour & 55 minutes + 10 minutes of core daily

I had some good variety in strength training throughout the week. My highlight though was doing yoga at home for the first time ever! I had some help…er…watchful eyes thanks to the dogs!

Yoga at home for the first time ever…the dogs are sleeping on the couch!

Weekly Totals: 10 hours & 59 minutes

Weekly Positives:

  1. I set a new CSS for my swim!
  2. I pushed myself WAY out of my comfort zone on the bike and met the goals of each workout!
  3. I crushed my 10K without resting for it and was only 1:41 off my 10K PR pace!
  4. My body worked so hard this week and allowed me to push it to new levels!
  5. I did yoga without going to a class! This is progress people!

Quote of the Week:

“How could you think you are weak, when every time you break, you come back stronger than before?” ~r.m. drake

15 thoughts on “21 weeks ’til #IMMT: come back stronger

  1. Lee @ Tri*Inspired*Life says:

    Great week Kecia and way to go on the race! You have alot of positivity to pull from following that week!!

    I do yoga at home most of the time and have found some awesome videos on YouTube. There are so many to choose from to keep it interesting!

    • Thanks Lee! I’d love to have you share some of the better yoga videos you’ve found! I’m looking for good ones, but haven’t found any yet.

    • Thank you Amy! It looks like if I register for an account I should be able to see the video. How much is it a month for your subscription? I may look into that method if you really like it!

      • SimplyAmyLynn says:

        Ahh…I thought that might happen. I’ve been a subscriber for years now at $100 US a year. However, I would recommend signing up for an account (it’s free) and there a lots of free classes from 20-30mins in length to try. There is a huge variety of yoga styles and teachers in the free classes-then you can see if online yoga is for you. My fav teachers are Jackie Casau Mahrou and Celeste Perera. When I first started doing yoga-my boys were all babies, so taking the time to leave the house for yoga just wasn’t an option for me. Plus, I’m not a fan of group stuff πŸ˜‰

      • Thanks so much for the advice! I’ll do the free account and try these instructors you mentioned first before committing to the subscription!

      • SimplyAmyLynn says:

        You’re most welcome! I think I just did the free classes for the better part of a year before I pulled the trigger on a paid account. The Daily Decompression by Jackie is an excellent free class.

  2. Great week I’m trying to get back into training after 3 weeks in Hawaii !
    Paddle boarding & snorkelling are not the best endurance cross training
    But better than nothing and great fun for me

    • Thank you! 3 weeks in Hawaii sounds like a blast…even if you let the endurance training fall by the way side!! I’d love to get a 3 week vaca to Hawaii on the calendar some day!! Welcome back to reality!! I hope it treats you better than you expected!! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Leslie! Getting a coach was the right move for me. I just had to get past a few hurdles first…illness and back injury…to put in the work and reap the rewards of having a coach! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

