19 weeks ’til #IMMT: confidence

Last week my focus was on building self-confidence. Confidence as an athlete is all about believing in your abilities to achieve your athletic goals. With Coach Kelly’s help, last week I focused on more self-confidence…more believing in my abilities…more believing in me! The week started a bit rocky as I was lacking motivation and I’m not sure why, but it sure turned around quickly! I had many workouts in each discipline that boosted my self-confidence throughout the week!

Swim: 9100 yards

I finally started to see some swim pacing consistency last week! I’ve struggled with pacing in the water probably since I was a baby. I always start off too fast and then end up slowing down and finding a pace that I can swim all day long. It is good to finally get some consistency with my pacing in the water! Pacing in the water is a great way to build my confidence for race day.

Work for it Wednesday started with #swimlove as I continue to #findfaster in the water!

“Celebrate good times…come on!” Some #swimlove Thursday morning!

More #swimlove, that continued to work hard despite being exhausted

Bike: 66.4 miles

I saw HUGE gains last week on the bike! I don’t think I have EVER seen watts above 350 on the bike (even for 1 second), but last week I had multiple bike interval sessions that pushed me WAY out of my comfort zone and on Thursday, I was able to hold 412 watts for 15 seconds. Say what?!?! That’s unheard of!! I’ve had to overcome some mental challenges to get stronger physically, but it is totally worth it!! I’m incredibly proud of myself for digging deep during this bike block and pushing myself to new limits. I’m also incredibly grateful to Coach Kelly for challenging me…she saw potential in me that I hadn’t yet seen in myself and I’m forever grateful to her for helping me achieve this potential! I’m getting more #trackcatstrong + confident everyday!

Thanks to Coeur Sports for pushing me through some tough intervals! “the dream is free. the making it a reality costs extra. make it happen.”

Spinning it out with my fave after work…look hard and you might find the Iron Hippie in this photo 😉

Watts I’ve never seen before + bonus interval (oops!) = CONFIDENCE BOOSTER + SERIOUS #bikelove

When the challenge in front of you is bigger than you’re capable of today, you put your head down, work super hard to try to rise to the challenge, and leave a puddle of sweat the size of the Pacific Ocean on the floor under you!

Run: 17.5 miles

I was blessed to get to run with a friend twice last week! It is so nice to get to share my #runlove with others! I am also super excited to have built confidence on my run! Sunday I had a 10 mile run. The first 5 miles were at a pretty comfortable pace, but then I decided to pick up the pace and see what I had left in my legs (they were already completely EXHAUSTED from the week) to see what pace I could hold for the end of my run. Not only did I negative split the last 5 miles, but I also clocked some pretty speedy times (for me) this late in a run. My last 5 run splits = 9:28, 9:04, 8:56, 8:43, and 8:20. Say what?!?! I finished my 10 mile run on completely EXHAUSTED legs with an 8:20 min/mile pace…I’m still in shock!

My morning running buddy! Hill repeats this morning!

Got to run with my fave off the bike on Saturday. There was more in my legs than I thought!

Grateful to have company for the first 5 miles of my long run! Thanks Robin for joining me!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 50 minutes + 10 minutes of core strength daily

I had some good strength training sessions this week that helped me identify muscle imbalances in my body…guess that means it is time to get to work to overcome these imbalances!

Weekly Totals: 13 hours & 1 minute

Weekly Positives: 

I got educated on everything NBS during a conference call on Monday night! I’m so grateful to Breakthrough Nutrition for keeping me hydrated and recovered this year! If you are looking to try a new sports hydration, give Breakthrough Nutrition a try and use code WELOVESNBS at check out for 10% off your order!

I received snail mail…the best snail mail!!

Snail mail is the best when Coeur Sports and Barnana show up on my doorstep on the same day!

The 2017 Coeur Team was updated to their website! I’m so pumped to be part of this amazing team in 2017! This team of ladies has heart! If you see us at a race, come and get a hi-5 or a hug!

#heartandcourage

I had some quiet time…salt + bubble baths are the best!!

#recoveryisimportant

Snuggles with my baby girl! I’m so lucky to have the best fur babies!

#happyheart

Quote of the Week:

“The quickest way to acquire self-confidence is to do exactly what you are afraid to do.”

10 thoughts on “19 weeks ’til #IMMT: confidence

  1. SimplyAmyLynn says:

    412 watts? That’s madness! Great madness though 🙂 I’m so glad you had a fantastic week-you must be bang on with your nutrition as well for you body to be doing so well when it’s tired. Well done!

    • Thanks Amy! I thought it was madness as well! I have been doing a good job of staying on top of my nutrition and sleep! Both help me recover! 😉

Leave a Reply

