18 weeks ’til #IMMT: get back up

Last week took a downhill turn on Wednesday morning when I tripped on some concrete while running. It wasn’t really the week I was hoping for, but I’m choosing to focus on the positives of the week.

Swim: 3600 yards

I only had one swim last week. After my spill Wednesday morning, I didn’t want to get in the water Thursday morning and risk infection in my knees. I was looking forward to my Sunday swim, when I realized it was Easter Sunday and the gym was closed…bummed, but it gave my knees an extra day to heal before submerging myself for some chlorine therapy. I’m grateful for the swim I did have and looking forward to LOTS of chlorine therapy this week!

#findfaster with every stroke…even when the arms don’t want to turn over, I keep pushing!

Bike: 57 miles

One of the hardest bike workouts I had two weeks ago reappeared on my schedule this last week…AGAIN. It was a workout that filled me with doubt both times, but I CRUSHED it both times! I have become SO much stronger on the bike and have really learned to embrace courage over comfort. This week, I get to see just how much stronger I’ve become!

#tearsofjoy for finding a gear in my legs I didn’t think I had on this #timetrialtuesday
Easy recovery ride with my skinned knees
Putting more hay in the barn to make an explosion on race day!

Run: 11.8 miles

Wednesday morning I ran with the Iron Hippie and my favorite girl. Unfortunately I tripped on some raised concrete while running and went down HARD about 1.5 miles into my run, but I still managed to finish my 5 mile run at a pretty speedy pace! My only other run was Sunday with an hour run off the bike. After a pretty tough bike ride, I still managed to find some speed in my legs. My bike fitness is definitely translating nicely to my run as well! I’m excited to test this at my upcoming 1/2 marathon in a couple of weeks!

Sometimes you fall, but when you get up and keep moving, you get closer to achieving your dreams!
Some days you have it and some days you fight for every step! Fight for your dreams!

Strength Training: 30 minutes + 10 minutes of core most days (I did miss a couple of days this week)

I only completed one strength training session this week. Thanks to my tore up and bruised knees, I had a couple more rest days than planned this week, but that allowed me to recover properly and set me up nicely for what’s to come!

Weekly Totals: 8 hours

Weekly Positives:

Chatting with Coach Kelly! I am grateful that she takes time to chat with me on the phone. I’m excited that she has given me something to work on in the pool…FLIP TURNS! I’m nervous, scared, and super excited! Time to overcome some fears and play a little more in the water! I’m always striving to be #trackcatstrong as I work on #courageovercomfort!

Nick with Vitality Massage complimented me during my massage! He can tell I’m getting stronger because my muscles are more dense! I’m excited to see just how strong I’ve gotten…FTP test is coming up this week!

“I can tell you are getting stronger. Your muscles are much more dense.” So grateful my massage therapist knows my muscles so well and complimented my strength too!

Quote of the Week:

“It’s OK if you fall down and lose your spark. Just make sure that when you get back up, you rise as the whole damn fire.” ~Colette Werden

8 thoughts on “18 weeks ’til #IMMT: get back up

  1. I’m so sorry you took a tumble! Good for you for getting back up and adjusting your week to let your knees heal. Big *fist pump* on your bike progress-have a great week!

    1. Sometimes we fall, but getting back up is key! Thanks Amy! I can’t wait to see how all of my hard work on the bike translates to my bike test this weekend and running this season! πŸ™‚

  2. Hey Lady! I was thinking of you when discussing the IMMT run course with some friends (one who did IMMT last year and one doing it this year)… I guess the section on Petit Train du Nord is very mentally challenging. I’ll try to get some more advice from the girls on how to handle that section… but in the meantime, maybe pick the most boring, awful running route you can think of and practice some good positive self talk and zen-ing out! (Sorry for the news, but wanted to make sure you’re prepared!!) Can’t wait for you and IronHippie to come out here though!!

    1. Thanks for the heads up! I’ll share this with Tim and we can start picking the most boring, awful running routes we can find! Do you know how long this section of the run is? I’m so excited to come and visit and can’t wait to finally meet you in person! Cheers on the new abode as well! πŸ˜‰

  3. Another good week even though you had a bit of a road block!! Nice job keeping the positive attitude!! What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger! πŸ˜‰
    Keep it up with the flip turns…practice practice practice…and once you get pretty good then you will wonder why you didn’t learn sooner!! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Leslie! “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” is SO true! My mama has said it to me as long as I can remember! 😊
      I’ll definitely keep working on the flip turns! It is probably like bilateral breathing….I taught myself that a couple of years ago. Why I didn’t do it sooner, is beyond me! πŸ˜‰

      1. I’m meeting with a local swim coach tomorrow. I’m hoping I come out of this session better at flip turns without drowning! 😜

Leave a Reply

