16 weeks ’til #IMMT: lesson learned

Last week was an easy week in preparation for my 1/2 marathon on Saturday.

Swim: 4950 yards

I had 2 swims last week where I spent some time working on my flip turns. They are far more complicated than I think they should be! My goal is to get them mostly under control this month so I can use them more frequently when we get outside in the 50 meter pool!

Going in for the flip…and I missed the wall. Guess I have more practicing to do!
Flippin’ Friday night!

Bike: 27.1 miles

I had some good bike rides last week, but nothing with a lot of intensity as I was preparing for the Drake 1/2 Marathon on Saturday. I even had a scheduled run off the bike this week! First brick of the season! 🙂

Why the big grin?! 15 minutes of Z3 work today was above my threshold watts going into Ironman Wisconsin 7 months ago and it felt easy!! Thanks to Coach Kelly for helping me get stronger on the bike this year!!
#workforitwednesday + #bikelove with my fave!
First scheduled brick of the season done and dusted!!

Run: 15.9 miles

I had a short run off the bike on Thursday to shake out the legs before Saturday’s race. My race didn’t go quite as planned, but I’m still very happy with my official finish time of 1:51:43 on a VERY hilly course! Lesson learned: I think my pre-race massage on Wednesday was too close to my race. My legs felt like lead…even during my shake out run for about 10 minutes on my way to the race start. Unfortunately that lead feeling didn’t go away once the race started. I started off at a pace that I wanted to maintain for the entire race, but at about mile 6, the wheels fell off. I kept talking out loud to my legs hoping they would start to feel light as feathers, but they just wouldn’t listen to all the self talk in the world! I kept pushing as hard as I could throughout the entire race and finished about 3 minutes faster than last year…positive! The rain also held off until after we were done…another positive! While it wasn’t the race I was hoping for, there are still positives and lessons learned for the future. I have already scheduled my pre-race massage for my 70.3 a full week out from the race…lesson learned! 😉

Not quite the race I was hoping for, but I pushed as hard as I could all the way through! Grateful the rain held off until after I finished! Another Drake 1/2 is in the books!

Strength Training: 1 hour & 15 minutes + 10 minutes of core daily

I had a couple of good strength training sessions this week. I really want to get back to yoga, but my left knee is still deeply bruised from my fall a couple of weeks ago. It isn’t ready for me to kneel on it yet!

Weekly Totals: 7 hours & 4 minutes

Weekly Positives:

We had some special deliveries this week from Sound Probiotics and Barnana…SO awesome to have these amazing sponsors supporting us this year!

Special delivery from Sound Probiotics to keep our guts healthy!
Someone is eyeing all of our Barnana goodness that arrived this week!

I had a pre-race massage this week and Nick really worked out some tension from my tight muscles! While it was a little too close to my race, it was a lesson learned and I’ve scheduled my next pre-race massage to hopefully avoid the same outcome!

Pre-race massage at Vitality Massage!

I ended the week with puppy snuggles with my favorite girl! She makes the best pillow!

Sunday snuggles with my girl!

Quote of the Week:

“Never regret anything that has happened in your life, it cannot be changed, undone, or forgotten. So take it as a lesson learned and move on.” ~Author Unknown

6 thoughts on “16 weeks ’til #IMMT: lesson learned

    1. Thanks Leslie! I was disappointed for about 10 seconds, but then was happy I was able to do what I did with the day I was given! All the positives gives me focus as the end of the school year draws near! 😉

  1. Congratulations on a great time. I understand that it was not what you wanted, but lots to be proud of. Hilly course, better time from last year, heavy legs….

    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

