14 Week’s ’til #IMMT: fun in the pain

Last week was full of fun, but there was also some pain involved!

Swim: 11,200 yards

I had 4 swims last week, making this week my largest swim week in 2017! I’m still working on my flip turns, but have a LONG way to go for consistent results…sometimes I push off the wall, sometimes I miss, and I’m almost always off center and rotated when I flip! I’m not going to give up though…just keep swimming + practicing!

Soaring into the new week with 3800 yards of #swimlove on this #motivationalmonday
Starting #workforitwednesday off with a splash!
Friday night #swimlove is my fave!
Finishing off the week with 3600 yards of #swimlove and staring at this line!

Bike: 104 miles

I gained a LOT of self confidence last week on the bike! On Tuesday morning, I had some intervals that pushed me WAY out of my comfort zone…since I am pushing higher watts at my FTP, I have to work SO MUCH HARDER! It will definitely be worth it on race day! Saturday’s long solo ride, was my first ever long solo ride. I was nervous about going out by myself on the open roads, but I chose safe roads, and had a great ride despite my stomach acting up! I synced my phone up with the Iron Hippie’s phone before I left, so he was tracking my every move…safety first!

Overcoming self doubt + working WAY out of my comfort zone = HUGE confidence booster on this #timetrialtuesday
Some #bikelove on this #workforitwednesday
First long solo ride on Saturday! HUGE confidence builder!
What goes down, must come up!

Run: 23.1 miles

Last week the temperatures started to feel more like late spring, early summer here in central Iowa. This made for some heat acclimation this week! Little by little, I will acclimate to the hot, humid summers that engulf us here in the Midwest!

Oh…and a smokin’ fast brick run with the sunrise Tuesday morning made me giddy!
Hill repeats with the sunrise is a perfect way to start the day! #rememberingTRJ
Brick run to follow Saturday’s long ride!
Sunday run day! #courageovercomfort

Strength Training: 1 hour & 50 minutes + 10 minutes of core strength daily

I had good variety in my strength training this last week. Tuesday’s strength session left me with some DOMS that stuck around longer than normal, but Nick with Vitality Massage got me back on track just in time for the weekend’s longer workouts!

Weekly Totals: 16 hours & 17 minutes

Weekly Positives:

I decided to throw my comfort to the wind this weekend and run in just a sports bra and shorts. This is a HUGE step for me as I am very self conscious, but am working to become more self confident!

Nick worked all the kinks out of my legs Friday night and then I headed to the pool to see if some active recovery would help me bounce back from my massage quicker.

Working out the kinks!

We have two of our favorite fur friends staying with us this week, which means 4 big dogs with LOTS of lovin’!!

Puppy play time!

I love my evening snuggles with Basil! She is so calming and relaxing!

Snuggles with my favorite girl!

Quote of the Week:

“Have fun in the pain!” ~Kelly Roberts

6 thoughts on “14 Week’s ’til #IMMT: fun in the pain

  1. Reading about your week inspires me to get moving! Well done on your solo ride. Being out by myself on the road is one of my favourite things, but I’m pushing out of my comfort zone by joining some group rides soon-I know I’ll learn a lot from more experienced riders. Have a great week 😀

    1. Thanks Amy! When I’m used to having others around, even if it only my husband, it was scary to be out there solo, but so awesome at the same time! I hope you have a blast with the group rides! Have a fantabulous week!

  2. Awesome week!! You have never done a solo ride before?? I love them (most of the time) you don’t have to wait for anyone, you can stop when you want but the time doesn’t go by as fast! 😉 Looks like you did 2 runs in just a sports bra? Way to go…keep it up!

    1. I’ve done solo rides before, but never longer than 2 hours. This was a first! It was nice being on my own time! I did do 2 runs just in sports bras…thank you! It took a lot of courage to go out the door, but I’m going to keep pushing myself in that area!

Leave a Reply

