13 weeks ’til #IMMT: scratch

Last week was properly coined “scratch” since the whole week seemed to fall apart and not go as planned. During the first part of the week, we spent the majority of our waking hours at work, or cleaning up dog poop because of an anxious dog. Thankfully our vet prescribed some meds to help with this and by Thursday the diarrhea was under control and we were able to do a load of laundry that wasn’t dog blankets covered in poop! This caused for lack of sleep and missing workouts. By Wednesday evening I was ready to do my long run, only to have that put on hold thanks to Mother Nature’s bad attitude! Hello tornado watch and severe thunderstorms! We had 70+ mph hour winds that blew over dumpsters and semi trucks…so much for that long run. By Friday, the exhaustion had really set in. So much so, that the Iron Hippie fell asleep standing up in the check-out line at the store and the cashier started chuckling. When I looked over at him, I chuckled too and then woke him up! I finally felt that I had some energy to workout by Saturday and was looking forward to my first triathlon of the year on Sunday morning, but Mother Nature (combined with my common sense) had other plans. We woke up to windchill temperatures in the low 40s, with the predicted windchill temperature of 36F and 20+ mph winds at the start of the race. WHAT?! It was May 21…I opted for scratching this race. I don’t have enough warm gear to keep a soaking wet me warm on the bike in those conditions nor did I want to risk getting sick at a sprint triathlon when I have a 70.3 race in 3 weeks. So, I crawled back in my warm bed for 3 more hours of sleep and dreamed that I was watching the live stream (not that it exists) of this sprint triathlon with TJ Tollakson (he was officially registered for this event) sliding across the snow covered grass at the finish line in 1st place. Ha! Ha! 🙂 After seeing posts from friends who were volunteering at the event, I’m glad we scratched this race. The windchill was 35F at the start and lots of people had problems with the temperatures on the bike.

Swim: 1000 yards

Saturday I managed to go to the pool and do a short swim. Since I thought I was racing the next day, I didn’t want to overdo anything and make up for lost time from earlier in the week. It was the only swimming I did this week, but it was better than nothing.

Today I pressed the “reset” button and dove back into training after a challenging week.

Bike: 14.1 miles

Instead of racing on Sunday, Coach Kelly gave me the option of a longer Z2 ride, or a “mock” sprint triathlon. Since I was feeling so defeated by the week, I opted for the “mock” sprint triathlon, which included a 1 hour ride with a 20 minute power test + a 5K TT run. Knowing that I was mentally not in a solid place, I should have gone with the longer Z2 ride, but I didn’t. This was definitely the worst power test I’ve ever done. Not because of the numbers, but because of my lack of consistency, my inability to stay strong, and my inability to stay focused. I struggled BIG time with this entire workout (not just the bike as you’ll see in a bit) and this only further defeated me for the week. Thankfully my mother always reminds me, “That which doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” I know she is right and I know the tough times are what make us stronger! Onward and upward!

Finding strength amongst the challenges.

Run: 10.1 miles

I ran twice this week…Saturday and Sunday. On Saturday, it felt good to just go pound the pavement. I was trying to keep it easy as I was anticipating a triathlon on Sunday morning. Since I didn’t do the sprint triathlon Sunday morning, the “mock” sprint had a 5K TT run off the bike. This was a struggle. I mentally wasn’t in it and forced myself to not look at my Garmin every 10 seconds hoping to be done! I couldn’t find focus, I couldn’t find consistency, and I couldn’t find any kind of rhythm. I was a mess! During the last 0.1 mile, I was sobbing because I was so frustrated and annoyed with where I was mentally and the exhaustion from the week really let me come undone.

Happy to be pounding the pavement on Saturday!
Some days you have it, and some days you don’t. Today was a “don’t” kind of day for me. Turning the page!

Strength Training: 45 minutes + 10 minutes of core every day

Weekly Totals: 4 hours & 42 minutes

Weekly Positives: 

We had all kinds of puppy snuggles last week! Love all of these girls SO MUCH!

Lots of puppy love!

Coach Kelly was SUPER supportive of my crazy, stressful week. We talked on Tuesday to talk race strategy for my upcoming 70.3 and for the sprint triathlon that I was supposed to do on Sunday. She also changed my plan for me and gave me choices to try to get me back on track after so many scratches this week. I am forever grateful to have her in my tribe! #trackcatstrong

I had date night with the Iron Hippie Friday night (before he fell asleep in the check out line)…sushi was our meal of choice!

YUM!

Quote of the Week: 

“A scratched workout doesn’t mean I’m giving up on my goals and dreams.”

12 thoughts on “13 weeks ’til #IMMT: scratch

  1. Yikes-what a rough week! The weather sounds worse than the ups and downs we get here in Calgary…and we get some strange weather. You will definitely get your mojo back-just try to shake that week off as quickly as possible. I believe in you!!

    1. Thanks Amy! We have had a cool spring, but Sunday was ridiculous! I am leaving last week behind and focusing on the future! Onwards and upwards!!

  2. I completely understand the week you had!! Mine was bad too and it was all I could do to get through with an ounce of my sanity. It has continued into this week too which is never fun either! But we will survive!!!!! Hang in there!!!

    1. I’m bummed yours is carrying over into this week! I hope things get better for you soon!! We will survive and be stronger for the struggles we overcame!!

  3. You’re such a resilient person, so you’ll bounce back quickly from a week like this. Keep looking forward, my friend!

  4. What a crazy week! This just proves that no matter how hard we work and how determined we are, ultimately we are human. Way to keep it in perspective!

Leave a Reply

