11 weeks ’til #IMMT: “Just one more”

Last week had a theme of “just one more” and was the last week of school with students for the year! Hello summer!

Swim: 6100 yards

Wednesday’s swim = BOOM! I nailed it!

“Just one more” was the theme of this swim and it resulted in a few fist bumps and a little happy dance in the water at the end!

Thursday’s endurance swim was full of quiet + happy!

Rounding out the last day of the school year with students with some #swimlove + quiet time!

Bike: 130 miles

Last week started with a RIDICULOUSLY windy, long, solo bike ride (after doing something very similar the day before, it was tough physically, but even more tough mentally. With sustained winds over 20 mph and gusts close to 30 mph, this was a HUGE confidence builder! Just one more…mile!

Hello wind! Thanks for making my workout so challenging!
“This is HUGE! Congrats. A back to back 4 hour ride is a great prep session for the Ironman build up. I’m so happy it went well and glad you do not back down in the face of adversity. You’ve evolved a lot as an athlete this year. I’m proud of you today. Good work.” ~Coach Kelly

Since I only had to work until noon on Friday, I rode my 2nd longer bike ride of the week Friday afternoon. It was a great day to be outside on two wheels!

60 miles of quiet time with Mojo, Mother Nature, and a few random strangers who wanted to chat while riding on the trail or needed help. #midwesthospitality #bikelove

Run: 29.3 miles

Last week also started with a tough run off the bike. The wind was brutal!

The run off the bike was just as tough thanks to the wind!

Wednesday started with another long run before work! I’m really lovin’ the long run mid week!

13+ morning miles! So grateful to have my favorite girl with me for the first 7 miles!

Saturday was a short EASY run! Hot + humid = Midwest summer is here!

Heat + humidity = race acclimating! Hello summer!

Sunday I had a double run day…this was a first for me! Until now, I’ve never done a longer run that was split into a morning run and an afternoon run. I ran in the morning with my main squeeze, and then ran in the heat of the day. Hello summer! Our morning run = hot + humid! My afternoon run was very hot, but the humidity had dropped and thankfully didn’t feel nearly as oppressive as the morning run especially since I had intervals during this run…just one more!

What a warm + HUMID morning run!
92F afternoon run = good race day acclimatization!

Strength Training: 45 minutes + 10 minutes of core strength daily

Weekly Totals: 16 hours & 12 minutes

Weekly Positives: 

I started the week with a TOUGH brick (thank you Mother Nature) and was so happy to have that workout done! #trackcatstrong

I’m SO glad my back to back long bricks are done! All that wind made it VERY challenging!!

The kids are done with school and I only have one day left! Summer is ALMOST here! Whoop! Whoop! One of my students made our girls some homemade rope toys as a “thank you” and they LOVE them!

Mya loves her homemade rope toy that one of my students made her!
Basil also loves her homemade rope toy that one of my students made her!

I had a massage between my two runs on Sunday! Thanks to Nick at Vitality Massage for taking such good care of us!

Pre-race massage between my Sunday runs. Thanks Nick for taking such good care of us!
Enjoying a quiet outdoor lunch while Tim got his massage!

Quote of the Week: 

“Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.” ~Thomas A. Edison

4 thoughts on “11 weeks ’til #IMMT: “Just one more”

  1. That was such a nice compliment from your coach 🙂 You sure put in some hard work last week-well done!

  2. Love the quote at the end! I’ll be keeping that in mind throughout the summer for sure. Nice work on another strong week! I’m newer to the sport, starting with sprint distance. It’s been fun following your training for the Ironman event. Good luck this summer!

Leave a Reply

