9 weeks ’til #IMMT: Balance

Last week was my first full week of summer break and it FLEW by! Here’s a quick look at my week!

Swim: 8093 yards

It has been AWESOME swimming in the 50 meter outdoor pool! I love this pool and am so lucky to get to swim in it all summer!

Jumping back into my happy place!
Thank you SBR Sports Inc for allowing me to enjoy some morning chlorine therapy and leave the chlorine at the pool!
When you finish your swim MUCH stronger + faster than you started, you experience major #swimlove

Bike: 90.5 miles

I had a couple of trainer rides, but also got to spend 70 glorious miles outdoors on two wheels with very little wind on Friday! It was SO AWESOME!

An easy ride to test the legs post race with some Ironman Tri motivation on the wall. “Anything is possible!”
While it may not look like it, I LOVED this ride getting to push it again!
Major #bikelove on the trails today with very little wind for 70 miles!!

Run: 25.5 miles

With a few shorter runs throughout the week, I had a split long run on Sunday that I was so excited about…I crushed my goal pace and and averaged a sub 8:30 minute/mile pace for 14 total miles!

That was a hot, humid, and windy run! I think I’ll just lay here for a while to cool down!
Jumping for joy because the heat index is much lower today and my run was amazing as a result!
Morning miles with my favorite girl!
Morning Run split on Sunday with the afternoon one being even faster on the exact same route!
So giddy with today’s split run! 2×7 miles at sub 8:30 minute/mile pace left a HUGE smile on my face for run #2 today as I crushed my goal!!

Strength Training: 45 minute + 10 minutes of core daily

Weekly Totals: 14 hours & 12 minutes

Weekly Positives:

Post race massage on Monday was not nearly as painful as my massages typically are. Thanks Nick!

Post race massage thanks to Nick at Vitality Massage!

Our twin nieces came and stayed with us for a couple of nights! We had so much fun and didn’t even get it all documented!

Meeting my mother in the middle of no where Iowa to pick up the twins for a couple of nights!
Helping to make dinner!
Cleaning all the fruit!
Playing games!
Helping to prepare breakfast!
Visiting Iowa State University’s campus
Visiting Iowa State University’s campus
Eating Tropical Snow

Quote of the Week:

“Extremes are easy. Strive for balance.” ~Colin Wright

8 thoughts on “9 weeks ’til #IMMT: Balance

  1. Wow-your summer is off to a banging start! I’m terrible at maintaining balance…it seems I’m always fighting with myself to stop focusing on one activity. Even a book! Once I start a new one I have trouble putting the thing down until I’ve finished it. Have a great week!

    1. Thanks Amy! I read every night before bed, so I know I’ll get to read again soon. No need to rush through it all, just soak it all in. 😉

  2. Summer is starting off on a good note!! Keep up the hard work!! 9 weeks still….??!! 🙂 I’ve got a 100+ ride on Saturday. Nervous but excited! There is a 50 meter pool that has always been so far away but now it is a little closer than it was before…so I’m going to try it out next week. I hope I love it( I can’t imagine I won’t) enough to get me out of bed in the morning! 😉

    1. I also have a 100 mile ride Saturday! I’m nervous and excited as well. It is supposed to be ridiculously windy here, so I’ll start early and try to ride into the wind as much as possible before it really picks up. I’m excited you have a 50 meter pool nearby! I love ours! I wish it was open year round! Have a great ride Saturday!

      1. It was super hot on our ride!! So we started early as well!!
        We went to the 50 meter pool on Monday…it was amazing. Getting there is ok but fighting traffic on the way home is a bummer. We are going a bit earlier tomorrow!! Leaving a 5! Gulp!! At least its Friday!!! 🙂

      2. I’m glad you survived the heat on your ride!

        I think swimming in the 50 meter pool would be worth the early morning wake up call! Happy Friday!! 😊

Leave a Reply

