4 weeks ’til #IMMT: Hot + Humid + Hell

Last week was HOT + HUMID + STICKY + GROSS! I think we got a taste of what hell is like!

Yep…Last week was VERY hot + humid! Good thing we leave soon for some cooler temps in the New England states and Canada!
Ha Ha! This doesn’t show the heat index, which was even higher…

Swim:

Monday morning meters!
Pushing myself to new limits in the pool Tuesday morning left me with a HUGE smile on my face!

Bike:

Pushing myself to new limits on this #timetrialtuesday of #triweek
We rode inside on Thursday because of an excessive heat advisory! Looking forward to cooler temps in the Northeast!
Last long ride (107+ miles) in Iowa done before leaving for the NE! With an excessive heat advisory Saturday, there were a few times I felt like I was in hell, but I kept on going!

Run:

“Never give up, and be confident in what you do. There may be tough times, but the difficulties which you face will make you more determined to achieve your objectives and to win against all the odds.” ~Marta
Wednesday’s 18 mile run was a sufferfest, but I was determined to #nevergiveup and was SO happy to be done!
Run off the bike in the excessive heat advisory on Saturday was tough, but I finished strong!
Helping my fave get some birthday miles in Sunday morning! Happy Birthday to the Iron Hippie!

Strength Training: 10 minutes of core strength daily

Weekly Totals: 17 hours & 8 minutes

Weekly Positives:

With a really tight calf comes dry needling. Thanks to Dr. Chris at Team Chiropractic for keeping me healthy and getting me in to see him right away!
Thank you Kyle for getting Mojo ready for my last big push to Ironman Mont Tremblant! You are the BEST! Kyle’s Bikes all the way!
Basil says, “#winningtakesguts I’m so glad Sound Probiotics keeps you healthy mama!”
So grateful to have Nick with Vitality Massage as part of my tribe!

Quote of the Week:

“If you’re going through hell, keep going!” ~Winston Churchill

11 thoughts on “4 weeks ’til #IMMT: Hot + Humid + Hell

  1. Way to go finish out the Iowa training! I totally understand the heat issue with 100 degrees this past weekend here in Raleigh. Weekend training started crazy early! I look forward to reading about your adventures on the road!

    1. Thanks Lee! It was a tough week, but should be cooler in the NE! Yes, when it is this hot, training starts super early. We had a heat index of 113*F on the day I ran my 18 miles. I hope you’re surviving this awful heat!

  2. 4 weeks away? Are you kidding?? I can’t believe you kept pushing through all that heat and humidity…I would’ve quit and hid in the basement all week! You’re very lucky to have a bike shop you love-I had a mechanic here I loved, but he moved away a couple of years ago and no one else I’ve tried since has been as great or friendly as him.

    1. It’s crazy that race week is so close! Unfortunately the heat + humidity are part of living in Iowa in the summers. We are super lucky to have such an awesome bike mechanic here! I hope you find one again Amy!

  3. Well hopefully it won’t be that hot on race day!! Awesome week and congrats on surviving the elements!!! Dang!! Here is to cooler temps and going on vacation!!!
    (Did you know there are more pigs than people in Iowa? I just learned that!!) 😉

    1. I sure hope it is much cooler on race day!! Thanks Leslie!! I’m not at all surprised that there are more pigs in Iowa!! When I go on my long rides, I pass LOTS of stinky farms, but they say “That’s the smell of money!” 😉

Leave a Reply

