What’s Up?! – July 2017

How is it already almost the middle of August?! The month of July seems to have flown by MUCH faster than I’d like, but I guess that means I’m having fun! Here is a look at what went down in July:

Training:

Hello Vermont Track Cat Training Camp!

#trackcatstrong

HUGE hugs to Coach Kelly, with Track Cat Fitness, for challenging me on so many levels, pushing me WAY out of my comfort zone, and making me #trackcatstrong this year! I am forever grateful for her guidance + support this year!

Swim Totals: 16.5 miles
Bike Totals: 487 miles
Run Totals: 98.7 miles

Racing:

I raced the Okoboji Triathlon in the middle of the month and got 2nd in my age group and 11th overall female!

2nd place AG at the Okoboji Triathlon!

Reading:

The Brave Athlete: Calm the F*ck Down and Rise to the Occasion by Simon Marshall PhD and Lesley Paterson is a practical guide to help athletes with their mental training. I love that this book gives you “homework” to do to help you improve your mental performance. It isn’t just a book you read, but if you use this amazing tool correctly, it is also a hands-on approach for you to overcome negative thinking, feelings, and acting that have the potential to sabotage your potential and love for sport. This book has helped keep the fun in triathlon!

Mental Training Homework: Two Brain Hacks to Help Embrace the Suck by Carrie Cheadle is a great read! She gives some great tips for overcoming mental obstacles that you may encounter while training or racing.

Mental Training Homework: Increase Confidence with Simulation Training by Carrie Cheadle is another great read! Simulation training helps you stay in the moment when challenges arise!

Studying:

The Ironman Mont Tremblant race course. Thanks to Mary Eggers for her review of the course and to Patrick for his 3 bullet points for race day!

Enjoying:

Our Northeast adventures! We have enjoyed Stowe, Vermont and Lake Placid, New York. We are officially in Canada and ready to enjoy a few more weeks of adventures with a little Ironman race at the end of our adventures!

Looking Forward To:

Ironman Mont Tremblant race day! I can’t believe we are less than 2 weeks away! How did that happen?!?! Eeekkkk! I’m excited to get to spend time with family in Mont Tremblant before the race and really get a feel for the area!

#Fearless check-in:

My intention for 2017 is to become more fearless! So…how have I been doing with this? I’ve continued to make progress on becoming more fearless. I am also really working on not letting others opinions of me bother me and I think I’ve gotten much better at this…hello #sportsbrasquad and wearing bikinis at the pool for lap swimming. Am I comfortable…not completely, but I’m facing the fear head on and getting more comfortable everyday! Since I’m on summer break, work is on the back burner. I will be back at it soon enough! I have made some BIG gains while training this month thanks to the Vermont Training Camp + many solo workouts that have caused me to stare fear in the face and stretch WAY out of my comfort zone! My fear of heights was also challenged as I went to the top of the Olympic Ski Jump in Lake Placid to look out over the surrounding area. Hello queasy stomach!

Overcoming fears and going to the top of the ski jump to look out over Lake Placid and surrounding areas.

While I’ve made progress on becoming more fearless in different parts of my life, I still have a LOT more progress to make, but don’t we all?! I know I’m a continuous work in progress!

How was your month of July? What were your July highlights? What are you looking forward to?

10 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – July 2017

  1. What an amazing summer you are having…and the best is yet to come! I’m looking forward to following your race progress at IMMT 😀 Enjoy Quebec over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

