What’s Up?! – October 2017

October has come and gone and I’m so ready for November! Here’s a snapshot of what I’ve been up to:

Training:

My training this month was a bit hit or miss. I did get some good training sessions in and am very grateful to Coach Hansen for taking some time to help me work on my swim stroke.

All you need is love…and a good run!
Early Friday morning brick! 45 minute run + 45 minute bike + 45 minute run!
Swim stroke refinement thanks to Coach Hansen!
Running with girlfriends is always fun…even when Mother Nature has decided that winter would show up a few months early!

Swim: 3.98 miles
Bike: 79.9 miles
Run: 61.4 miles

Work:

I’m not sugar coating things…this school year has been tough. This has been the most stressful year of teaching I’ve had in my 14 years. I’m grateful that the first quarter is behind us! Only 3 more to go!

Trying to multitask by grading and riding my bike at the same time! 70+ hours of grading, on top of teaching, in just over a week was so exhausting!

Family:

We went home and saw family at the beginning of October. It was so nice to get to spend time with family, get snuggles, and get some lake lovin’!

You’re never too old to sit on your mama’s lap!
One of my nieces is making me a bracelet.
One of my nieces is snuggling with Basil.
Watching Iowa State beat Oklahoma!
The dogs love swimming in the lake!
Snuggles with 3 of my most favorite ladies!
Dreaming of warmer days and lots of swimming (by both of us)!

Reading:

Just not now…really struck home with me! I have had a lot of the “just not now” moments this month and am reminding myself that these moments won’t last. Thankfully!

Lauren Parker Update: Resilience Personified…Wow, just wow! Lauren was in a bicycle accident just weeks before she was to race Ironman Australia, which caused her to break her back, leaving her with a 1% chance of ever walking again. She is full of determination, drive, and commitment!

Run the World: My 3,500-Mile Journey Through Running Cultures Around the Globe by Becky Wade…Becky was the recipient of the Watson Fellowship in 2012. After a successful college running career, she packed four pairs of running shoes and took off on a one year journey to learn from diverse running communities around the world.

Listening to:

IronWomen Podcasts…I have listened to so many of these amazing + inspirational podcasts lately that I can’t pick just one! You should do as I have and listen to them all!

Find Your Awesome Podcasts…I have listened to most of these and am very grateful to Kelsey for the inspiration + awesomeness!

What to do after triathlon season ends by Lost in Transition…I love that they refer to the “off season” as the “out season.” Just because we aren’t racing, doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be training. The “out season” refers to being out of the racing season, but still training. Lana talks about things we can do in the out season to prepare us for the coming season.

Organizing:

A recovery clinic for women! Thanks so much to Ignite Yoga, Coeur Sports, and Dr. Chris Feil with Team Chiropractic for co-sponsoring this amazing event of education, practice, and community!

Planning for:

Some winter challenges + the 2018 season! I’m SO excited for a few challenges I have in November, a swim challenge I am going to do in December and my race plan in 2018!

How was your month of October?! What are you looking forward to?!

6 thoughts on “What’s Up?! – October 2017

  1. I’m so sorry that your school year isn’t going great so far-being a teacher is a very challenging job and it takes special people to do it! Hopefully November will bring less stress and more fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

