2 weeks ’til #IMLou – Taper Time

It’s TAPER TIME!! I’m so glad to have made it to this point!! With the completion of last week’s workouts comes the taper for Ironman Louisville and I’m ready for it!! The hay is in the barn and I’m looking forward to lighting it on fire in 2 weeks!!

Swim: 10,300 yards

V is for victory!! I nailed my swim session with my second 1200 yard split being 4 sec/100 yards faster than my first 1200 yard split!!
Playing around in the pool after putting in some work!!
It’s Flippin’ Friday!! Doing somersaults in the water after swimming Friday morning!

Bike: 101 (trainer) miles

Alternating between Z2 and Z3 was a struggle, but I did it!!
5 hours on the trainer for the last time this year!! 🙂
After crushing my 90 minute run/1 hour bike intervals/1 hour run back to back to back Sunday, the hay is in the barn!! I’m #IMLou race ready!! It’s time to TAPER!!

Run: 32.5 miles

8 morning miles with Basil (2 of those with my fave too)!! #basillovesrunning
+ 9 afternoon miles = 17 strong miles Wednesday!!
After crushing my 90 minute run/1 hour bike intervals/1 hour run back to back to back Sunday, the hay is in the barn!! I’m #IMLou race ready!! It’s time to TAPER!! (Run #1)
After crushing my 90 minute run/1 hour bike intervals/1 hour run back to back to back Sunday, the hay is in the barn!! I’m #IMLou race ready!! It’s time to TAPER!! (Run #2)

Strength Training: 10 minutes of core strength almost daily  

Weekly Totals: 16 hours & 47 minutes

Quote of the Week:

“Bring on the taper!! It’s TAPER TIME!!” ~ME 🙂

Attitude of Gratitude:

Grateful to have Dr. Chris keeping me on track at Team Chiropractic with only 3 weeks left until #IMLou!!
These two…love them and our nightly dog parties in our bed!!
Thank you to Kyle at Kyle’s Bikes for putting a new chain on Mojo and giving her your race day blessing!!
Grateful for the OneBrainWellness Self Defense clinic to learn how to defend myself against an attacker!!

How was your week? What were you grateful for last week?! Do you enjoy the taper?!

9 thoughts on “2 weeks ’til #IMLou – Taper Time

  1. Happy Taper!! You made it 🙂 I hope you get lots of rest in the coming weeks for the race and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the best race day weather possible! I miss the training cycles and am not quite sure what my fitness goals will be (if any!) for next year.

    1. It’s been a crazy ride this time around Lee, but I’m grateful to have fewer hours of training with all of the crazy going on!! 😉

Leave a comment