2 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

It is crazy that we are so close to race day!! This week has been all about acclimating to altitude and enjoying taper workouts.

“Not everyone will understand your journey. That’s fine. It’s not their journey to make sense of. It’s yours.” ~Zero Dean

Monday and Tuesday we were still in Red Feather Lakes, CO (elevation 8600 feet) and enjoying the peace and quiet in the mountains. Wednesday we ventured to Estes Park, where we will be for one more week. You can check out our Red Feather Lakes adventures here.

Swim: 2500 yards

Our only swim this week was on Wednesday at Mulberry Pool in Fort Collins. I was a bit nervous before the swim, because I was uncertain how my body would respond to the altitude difference from what we had experienced in Iowa, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised!!

Super happy with my swim workout at the Mulberry Pool in Fort Collins.
Super happy with my swim workout at the Mulberry Pool in Fort Collins.

Bike: 67.6 miles

Friday we rode the first loop of the Ironman Boulder bike course (which also is the 2nd loop). I was shocked at how good I felt on the bike at altitude and how much I loved this part of the course. We will be riding the 3rd loop later this week…I hope I love it just as much!!

My absolute FAVORITE bike ride…possibly ever…happened yesterday morning. We rode the Peak to Peak Highway from Raymond to Ward and back to Raymond. It was 2000+ feet of climbing at 7-10% grade for 10 miles to an elevation of 9200 feet and I. Was. In. Love!! I will have a separate post devoted entirely to this ride, so stay tuned. For now…here is a sneak peak at a few photos of this amazing ride. I’ll have more in the Peak to Peak Highway post 😉

On top of the world...or maybe just Colorado at elevation 9200+ feet.
On top of the world…or maybe just Colorado at elevation 9200+ feet.
Climbing, climbing and more climbing.
Climbing, climbing and more climbing.

Run: 20 miles

I have enjoyed 3 separate runs at altitude. I was most pleasantly surprised with my 12 mile run in Estes Park. My body felt great…a little winded, but it was manageable. I saw lots of wild life and ran around the lake a few times so I could see this amazing view…

The view from the path around Lake Estes.
The view from the path around Lake Estes.

My run pace was a little slower than back home, but not as bad as I had anticipated. I think this means I’m acclimating nicely to the altitude!!

12 happy miles at 7500+ feet elevation brought a huge smile to my face!!
12 happy miles at 7500+ feet elevation brought a huge smile to my face!!

Strength Training: 2 hours & 20 minutes

I managed to get 2 full body strength training sessions in and one core work session in this week. Now that the race is getting closer, I will be scaling back on the full body strength training and just doing core work this week.

Strength training with the mountains in the background...I may never leave here!!
Strength training with the mountains in the background…I may never leave here!!

Weekly Totals: 11 hours

Weekly Highlights:

I am so pleased with how well I am acclimating to the elevation difference that we’ve experienced. I can’t imagine coming up 4000 feet higher than we are use to for a race and not having time to acclimate. This 3 week trication was definitely the way to go!!

Definitely the Peak to Peak Highway ride…I was in serious #bikelove mode!!

How was your week? Have you ever trained/raced at a much higher altitude? If so, how did you acclimate before your adventures?

12 thoughts on “2 Weeks ’til Ironman Boulder

  1. I adore those views! Very similar to Alberta and I love where I live 🙂 I’m so happy to hear that your body seems to be adjusting well-that will certainly be one less thing you have to worry about.

    ps. Remember when I was thinking of dropping out of the open water swim? After the bad news about my knees, I decided that I can’t dwell on it and must move on. I rented myself a wetsuit, found a friend willing to help stuff me into it and go with me for a practice swim next week before the event. Onward!!

    1. Thanks Amy! I love it here and if my dogs were here, might not return home 😉
      Yay for OWS!! I’m so happy you are doing it!! I want to know how it goes!!

  2. Nice job!!! I have done a few races at elevation!! I have never had time to acclimate! That is why I have never wanted to do an IM at elevation!! 🙂
    Sounds like you are getting acclimated!!! Race day is going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

