blank canvas

I mentioned to one of my Coeur Sports tri sisters a while back that I feel like I’m starting over in 2024 because I took 2023 off from Ironman racing + REALLY stepped back from running. Her perspective was exactly what I needed to hear…I have a blank canvas to draw on and I am so excited to intentionally draw + create a magical 2024!

I am currently creating my new groove…figuring out what works for my schedule + this perimenopausal body. Lifting heavy sh!t has become a must and something that will continue to be a weekly priority. My focus for 2024 is to be intentional…to do things on purpose + with purpose and be deliberate in where I am putting my time, energy, and focus.

I have big, bold goals for 2024 that I am SO FREAKING PUMPED about! ⚡️ I have created one podium finish at an Ironman branded race (Ironman 70.3 Muncie in 2022). The amount of pride and joy that came with standing on that podium is something I have been dreaming about experiencing again! I am going to give my best effort day in and day out as I intentionally work toward standing on more podiums in 2024!

My race schedule for 2024 is pretty much dialed in and it has lit a massive fire inside me! 🔥 The goal is to always give my best effort and push myself to stand on as many podiums as possible. This is what’s on tap for 2024:

  • St. Paddy’s Day 1/2 Marathon – March 16
  • Drake 1/2 Marathon – April 21
  • Women’s 1/2 Marathon – May 5
  • Tri Clear Lake Olympic distance – May 25
  • Pigman Olympic distance Triathlon – June 2
  • Ironman 70.3 Des Moines – June 9
  • Okoboji Triathlon – July 20
  • Ironman 70.3 Louisville – August 18
  • Ironman Chattanooga – September 29 (my A race with a podium finish as my big, bold goal for 2024 ⚡️)
  • Hillbilly Hike 1/2 Marathon – November 2

I am dialing in my mental focus by setting intentional thoughts to focus on each week while training. Some sessions it’s really easy to keep the mental focus on those intentional thoughts and other sessions it is a bit more challenging. I write these intentional thoughts on “love notes” to myself to see while training so that they are front and center.

Writing myself “love notes” to have by my while I workout.

2024 get ready, ’cause I’m comin’ for ya! ⚡️

4 thoughts on “blank canvas

  1. Looks like you are going to have a great season! I love your attitude and perspective!!

    I too have started focusing on LHS and making it a priority (as well as trying to incorporate a couple of short, hard interval sessions a week). How are you incorporating this into your “normal” training? Trying to navigate this new time in life and love getting insight from others on what they are doing different/better/etc…

    1. I’m not sure how it is working just yet, but I am currently doing a LHS on MWF which are swim days (I also try to get a longer run in on W) and a kettlebell circuit (more tabatta style on T) with shorter, harder interval sessions on TR (velo workouts with an easy ROTB on T and a spicy ROTB on R). I also try to do a shorter, harder bike interval on Sunday before a mid length run with tempo work. Not sure if this helps (or if it is working as it has only been a few weeks), but its what I’m doing right now. What are you doing different/better/etc.???

      1. Can I text you? I am open to sharing, but I think it would be awesome to have some ongoing dialog (if you are open) to our approach. Maybe we can check in with each other now and again to share since I think we are both experimenting with this a bit. I believe I have your #.

Leave a comment