New Ink

After the Indianapolis Marathon, I decided I needed permanent motivation.  What better way than new ink?!?!?!?!  I don’t have many tattoos…as a matter of fact, this one made number 3 (one of which I don’t really count because it was a stupid decision I made when I was 18 and doesn’t have any meaning to it).  I had put a lot of thought into this tattoo…what the design would look like, where I wanted it, when I would get it, why I was getting it, etc.  After thinking and planning for nearly 6 months, I decided the off season was a perfect time to get new ink.

When I am riding my bike in areo position, there will be a constant reminder staring me in the face…a reminder to be strong, confident, persevere and have mental fortitude.

The African symbol means strength, confidence and perseverance.
The African symbol means strength, confidence and perseverance.
2 thoughts on “New Ink

  1. Ohmygosh! I lovelovelove your tattoo! And, the symbolism and meaning behind it… so, so awesome. I’ve been on the fence about getting a tattoo forever (I don’t have any) and keep coming back to a couple phrases. Perhaps this winter 🙂

    1. Thanks Erin!! The 2nd tattoo I got was my M dot. When I told the Iron Hippie (my husband) I was getting it, he questioned me. “Why would you want to do that? A tattoo is permanent.” I said, “I’m permanently an Ironman and no one can take that away from me.” The funny part…he decided to get one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

