My #FaveWorkout – Week 8

This week, I’ve had more workouts to choose from for my #faveworkout, which made it a bit more difficult to choose a favorite! I had some amazing #swimlove, #bikelove and #runlove this week…so which workout did I choose?

I chose some #swimlove…It was a short swim (1900 yards) which included a 500 yard time trial (TT):

Warm-up:
200 swim
100 kick
300 drills
Main Set:
3×200 (100 easy, 50 fast, 50 moderate) (20 sec rest between)
Rest 40 sec
500 TT (swim as fast as you can without letting form totally fall apart)
Cool-down:
100 kick
100 any stroke

My TT was not exceptional, but it was the best I could do today (9:11.77). After a killer bike workout this morning, my legs did not want to cooperate. Thankfully the mind took over and told my body to “shut up and just move.” So why was this my favorite workout?

  1. I was able to push through, even when I didn’t think I had anything left and finish strong. I negative split my TT by 6 seconds…WHOOP WHOOP!!
  2. Overall, it was not a long swim, so I didn’t have to push through for a long period of time.
  3. The pool was completely empty…not a person in sight. I had complete pick of wherever I wanted to swim and the best part was I had the pool to myself for the whole 1900 yard swim…Can you say AWESOME?!?!?!

IMG_1122

What was your favorite workout this week?

17 thoughts on “My #FaveWorkout – Week 8

  1. I am happy to say that I got back in the pool for the first time in a very long time (let’s not discuss the details of HOW LONG!!!…), but I got in on Tuesday and knocked out 1600 yards. Certainly not a long workout, but just what I needed to get my mind and my body re-engaged to the pool. The first step back can be the hardest…right?!?!?!?

    It is always a bonus when you have the pool to yourself and don’t have to wait or share a lane! Great job pushing through when you thought you were on empty! Those can really be rewarding workouts!!

    1. I’m glad you revisited the water. When you take time off, sometimes the body thanks you for it. The first step back is the hardest, but once you are in the routine, it is like second nature 😉

      I LOVE having the pool to myself, but sometimes I don’t try as hard as when someone is next to me and I am secretly comparing myself to them 😉

  2. I LOVE an empty pool. There is something very relaxing (as relaxing as swimming can be) about being the only person in the water. I should try a TT in the water at some point, just to get a base. My favorite workout this week has been a 75 minute trainer ride with 15 others – it was tough, but we all suffered through it together.

    1. TT in the water helps me to make sure I am moving forward and progressing, so I like to compare numbers every couple of months. I saw your bike workout with others and am super envious that you have such a great network available. We have rides in our basement, but I always seem to lead them. It would be nice to sit back and take instructions from someone else every now and then 😉

  3. I would love an empty pool save for the fact that there’s a lifeguard and then he would have no one else to look at and well, you know how great of a swimmer I am 🙂 Sounds like you had a great workout! My tempo run was the best – the one I didn’t know if I could do or not. Still very proud of that this week!

  4. Awesome job!!! Great work out!! I love an empty pool too!! It is so few and far between when I have the pool to myself!
    My favorite work out was a trainer ride on Saturday. I did 3×9 minute threshold and increased my watts on each of the intervals!! 🙂 (plus I did a quickle run afterwards)

Leave a Reply

