Currently // February 2016

Training

Last week was a HUGE recovery week for me because of my work schedule, but the rest of February has been super successful and full of #SBRlove:) I am so grateful for Al Painter with Integrate Performance Fitness for his assessment and guidance in strengthening my hips and glutes to help me be injury-free.

Glute and hip strength is a MUST for me right now!!
Glute and hip strength is a MUST for me right now!!

I am so grateful that I have been able to run injury-free more this month thanks to the hip and glute strength that I’ve been doing more of! I really enjoy my quiet time pounding the pavement (or occasional treadmill), especially when it involves spending time with my faves.

Some serious #runlove with my 2 faves!! Bonus = running in SHORTS in Iowa...see the snow on the ground ;)
Some serious #runlove with my 2 faves!! Bonus = running in SHORTS in Iowa…see the snow on the ground 😉

I have been incorporating more hot yoga into my schedule. Not only does it make my heart happy, but it is also great to stretch the body and mind for full recovery!!

IMG_7600

Reading

I was incredibly inspired by Kara LaPoint’s blog post on Fitspiration this month!! “Embracing YOUR body, maximizing and celebrating your own strengths, letting go of the “imperfections,” and making the most of the incredible body you already have.” WOW!! Let’s do this instead of worrying about the body image that society thinks we should have. If you have a wife, girlfriend, mother, daughter, sister, aunt, cousin, or any woman that you love and care for, Kara’s post is a MUST read!! After all, STRONG GIRLS = STRONG WORLD 🙂

We are a family of STRONG GIRLS!!
We are a family of STRONG GIRLS!!

Leo Babauta talks about the importance of celebrating our mistakes in this blog post. After all, this is how we learn and grow. “So if you value learning, if you value growing and improving, then you should value mistakes.”

Goals are what motivate me to work hard to reach my dreams. Elizabeth Waterstraat posted about goals, breaking them down into meaningful steps, and figuring out what commitments (or struggles as I put them) that we are willing to have in our lives as we work hard to meet these goals we’ve set for ourselves. If you set goals for yourself, this is a must read!

Learning

In Brene Brown’s Living Brave Semester, I am learning:

  1. to differentiate between shame, guilt, humiliation, and embarrassment
  2. to recognize how shame, scarcity, and comparison show up in our lives and how they affect engagement, trust, and connection
  3. to recognize the armor I use to protect myself against feelings of shame
  4. to cultivate shame resilience skills
  5. to explore the actual gaps between my aspirational values and practiced values and develop strategies for staying aligned with my values through daily practices
  6. to develop my own manifesto to set intentions around my values and the daily practices that support those values

Loving

I’m super jazzed to be part of the amazing team of Coeur Sports women who #enCOEURage and empower women in sport!! I LOVE what the Coeur Sports company stands for and the community of women who represent the brand!! Thanks to Triathlete Magazine for sharing the Coeur story:

Coeur Sports
Coeur is French for ‘heart’ and the root of the word ‘courage,’ two elements near and dear to the founder, Kebby Holden: “As an athlete, we know that athletic performance is about so much more than genetic talent: It’s also about heart. Heart is about digging deep and being mentally tough. Heart is what gets you to the finish line when all the body wants to do is lay down. Heart is at the center of the community and the friendships you find in sport. Heart is what makes you give back to the community that has given you so much.”

The daylight hours are growing longer and longer everyday and I’m LOVING it!! With Daylight Savings in just two weeks, these are sure signs that spring is just around the corner 🙂

Quote of the Week

“Without mistakes there are no lessons. Without lessons there is no progress. Without progress there is no achievement.”

10 thoughts on “Currently // February 2016

    1. Thanks lady! Things are going well and I’m so grateful for the injury-free running 😊 I can’t wait for some warmer weather to get outside more with our training!!

  1. So glad to hear you are running pain-free again. Do you plan on upping the mileage, or are you just easing back into things for now? When does Ironman training “officially” begin for you?

    1. Thanks Kristen!! Our longest run has been 10 miles, which I’ve done twice. So far, so good! We’ll up the mileage in the next couple of months. Ironman training officially starts in about 3 weeks (I think…) 😉 When does your Ironman “officially” start?

  2. Two thumbs up for running pain free. The glute/hip exercises and yoga are a must for me as well. Glad February has been good to you! I am so ready for spring too! Really something to look forward to!

    1. I agree Lee!! Glute/hip exercises and yoga are what is keeping me running right now 🙂 I can not wait for the warmer weather, sunshine, and outdoor activities to become much more prevalent 😉 I hope February was good to you and March is starting out well!!

Leave a Reply

